Retelling

Thao Le (Currently Closed to Unsolicited Queries) @ThaoLe8 · Feb 8

Any Latinx writers out there ever want to do a retelling of Zorro? Like a gender bent one or a modern one or a fantasy one or something? I would love to see it! #mswl

Tara Gilbert 🔮✨ @Literary_Tara · Feb 4

Can I get retellings of public domain books by POC authors? I'd love to see more of that in my box. ❤ #mswl

Melanie Iglesias @msmelread · Jan 26

#LitAgents, my #MSWL (Adult):
‣ Upmarket contemporary fic: Womxn; mental health; “Late” (30s+) coming-of-age; LGBTQIA+
‣ Grounded speculative fic: “ ” w/ elements of SFF/magical realism; Modern retellings (fairy tales; myths & legends; folklore; classics); CliFi (not preachy);

Rachel Brooks @RachMBrooks · Jan 24

Natascha Morris @SoCalledYALife

In the @bookendslit #MSWL doggie pile! I want more graphic novels! I just read LILY THE THIEF and it was so good and I need more. twitter.com/jmcgowanbks/st…

I'm next in line on the @bookendslit #MSWL train chuggin' along 🚂 I'd love to find a novel in the vein of NATALIE TAN'S BOOK OF LUCK AND FORTUNE where food, community, and culture intertwine. Also, I'm a fan of AYESHA AT LAST, so a fresh retelling like this might catch my eye!

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · Jan 23

*YA contemp. in the vein of I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN or EMERGENCY CONTACT
*literary suspense
*sister stories, a boarding school novel, anything with folklore/mythology/retellings
#MSWL

Heather Cashman @HeatherCashman · Jan 8

#MSWL a #MG or #YA retelling of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.

maria vicente @msmariavicente · Jan 3

The query inbox at @PSLiterary opens on Monday, and I’m so excited to add new clients to my list in 2020.

Representation info and my updated #mswl is at the link below. Let me know if you have any questions.

mariavicente.com/representation

Tara Gilbert 🔮✨ @Literary_Tara · 31 Dec 2019

Where is my retelling of Anne of Green Gables where Diana and Anne kiss? #MSWL

Laurel Symonds @LaurelSymonds · 24 Dec 2019

This time every year I wonder why we don't have a YA retelling of the Christmas story (Mary, Joseph, etc): the characters are the right age, the conflict is strong and, depending on your beliefs, it could be read as miracle or magic a la GRAVE MERCY. Hard to pull off, but...#MSWL

Alice S-H @alibelle · 16 Dec 2019

As promised, here's my #MSWL for January. As ever I am particularly keen to hear from voices that have historically been unheard in the industry. Looking forward to coming back to lots of fabulous queries!

chrysa_keenon @Chrysa_Keenon · 2 Dec 2019

#WritingCommunity Where are my Joan of Arc retellings? WHERE. Is anyone writing one? Published one? Should I make an #mswl tweet for it? Please I just want to read one

Tara Gilbert 🔮✨ @Literary_Tara · 17 Nov 2019

A couple things I REALLY want to read right now.

Historical YA with no magic, especially if its gothic/southern gothic.

Romantic Comedies, but with a new twist or perspective. Example: diverse backgrounds, gender-bending, or a retelling of Shakespeare/fairtales/myths. #mswl

Nora Long @NoraLong10 · 25 Oct 2019

Hey, exciting news! My #mswl page is officially up and running (and perhaps unnecessarily detailed), so hit me with your best shot, query people :)
manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/nora…

Maggie Cooper @frecklywench · 24 Sep 2019

hit me up with your very smartest feminist retellings, your structurally fearless literary fiction, and anything you’d comp to the brilliant Sarah Waters, Lesley Nneka Arimah, Curtis Sittenfeld, or Carmen Maria Machado! #MSWL