torie doherty munro
@toriedm
Literary Agent
junior agent at Writers House//critics rave: sometimes, I think you forget you're a person!
5 MSWL

has there ever been a really great YA retelling of Swan Lake? #mswl

Mara is editing with the chupacabras
@little_mswriter
Assistant Editor
🇵🇷Puertorriqueña. Assistant Editor @stmartinspress | @wednesdaybooks . That witch from the Caribbean. MFA in Creative Writing. Opinions mine. (she/her)
61 MSWL
Thao Le
@AgentThao
Literary Agent
*hiatus* Literary Agent posting client updates and news! Check website for more info & how to submit (pls don't email/dm queries). Icon by Caleb.
281 MSWL
15 AskAgent
22 Tips

Any Latinx writers out there ever want to do a retelling of Zorro? Like a gender bent one or a modern one or a fantasy one or something? I would love to see it! #mswl

Sarah Guan @🏡
@Sarah_Guan
Editor
Works in the book trade: Hugo Award-nominated editor of adult & YA speculative fiction @erewhonbooks . @Stanford 🎓, New Yorker, Earth citizen. (she/her)
152 MSWL
5 AskAgent
2 Tips
Tara Gilbert ✨semi-hiatus
@Literary_Tara
Literary Agent
Associate Literary Agent @jdlitagency | 🌈she/them | ✨Magical | opinions my own | Gemini/Cancer ☼ Pisces ☽ Capricorn ↑
226 MSWL
46 AskAgent
25 Tips

Can I get retellings of public domain books by POC authors? I'd love to see more of that in my box. ❤ #mswl

Melanie Iglesias
@msmelread
Editor
Editor at @AtriaBooks , Geek Rican 🤓🇵🇷, occasional archer. Fluent in Spanglish. Thoughts are my own.
5 MSWL

#LitAgents, my #MSWL (Adult):
‣ Upmarket contemporary fic: Womxn; mental health; “Late” (30s+) coming-of-age; LGBTQIA+
‣ Grounded speculative fic: “ ” w/ elements of SFF/magical realism; Modern retellings (fairy tales; myths & legends; folklore; classics); CliFi (not preachy);

Rachel Brooks
@RachMBrooks
Literary Agent
Agent at BookEnds Literary Agency @bookendslit . Cat mom. She/her. Query form: QueryManager.com/RachelBrooks
16 MSWL
20 AskAgent
114 Tips

Natascha Morris @SoCalledYALife

In the @bookendslit #MSWL doggie pile! I want more graphic novels! I just read LILY THE THIEF and it was so good and I need more. twitter.com/jmcgowanbks/st…

I'm next in line on the @bookendslit #MSWL train chuggin' along 🚂 I'd love to find a novel in the vein of NATALIE TAN'S BOOK OF LUCK AND FORTUNE where food, community, and culture intertwine. Also, I'm a fan of AYESHA AT LAST, so a fresh retelling like this might catch my eye!

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, cat mom; fast talker; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
28 MSWL
8 Tips

*YA contemp. in the vein of I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN or EMERGENCY CONTACT
*literary suspense
*sister stories, a boarding school novel, anything with folklore/mythology/retellings
#MSWL

Karyn Fischer
@KMRFischer
Literary Agent
Literary agent of YA and MG novels. Former indie bookseller. Wife & toddler mama. Identical twin. Lover of books, tea, wine, & pups.
3 MSWL
Heather Cashman
@HeatherCashman
Literary Agent
all things wordy generally nerdy literary agent, agent mentor @StormLiterary motorcycling | kayaking | writing
39 MSWL
4 AskAgent
15 Tips
Maria Vicente
@agentvicente
Literary Agent
senior literary agent, @psliterary • contact: maria@psliterary .com • 🏳️‍🌈 she/they
171 MSWL
323 AskAgent
330 Queries
107 Tips

The query inbox at @PSLiterary opens on Monday, and I’m so excited to add new clients to my list in 2020.

Representation info and my updated #mswl is at the link below. Let me know if you have any questions.

mariavicente.com/representation

Tara Gilbert ✨semi-hiatus
@Literary_Tara
Literary Agent
Associate Literary Agent @jdlitagency | 🌈she/them | ✨Magical | opinions my own | Gemini/Cancer ☼ Pisces ☽ Capricorn ↑
226 MSWL
46 AskAgent
25 Tips

Where is my retelling of Anne of Green Gables where Diana and Anne kiss? #MSWL

Laurel Symonds
@LaurelSymonds
Literary Agent
Literary agent at The Bent Agency (closed to queries). I tweet about books and desserts in equal measure. My dog is the best office assistant ever. She/her
29 MSWL
1 Tips

This time every year I wonder why we don't have a YA retelling of the Christmas story (Mary, Joseph, etc): the characters are the right age, the conflict is strong and, depending on your beliefs, it could be read as miracle or magic a la GRAVE MERCY. Hard to pull off, but...#MSWL

Alice S-H isn’t here rn
@alibelle
Literary Agent
Founder & Literary Agent at @ASHliterary . Dogs & books, mostly. Never knowingly out-lipsticked. Views my own. She/her. It's Alice, never Ali. No DM queries.
60 MSWL
21 AskAgent

As promised, here's my #MSWL for January. As ever I am particularly keen to hear from voices that have historically been unheard in the industry. Looking forward to coming back to lots of fabulous queries!

Kelly says PREORDER TIDES OF MUTINY NOW!
@LitAgentKelly
Literary Agent
Literary Agent at @reesagency . Twitter Valkyrie. Philadelphian. Pisces. She/her. Multitasks #LikeABoss . Gandalf of #TheFellowship . Tweets are my own.✌🏻
244 MSWL
217 AskAgent
40 Queries
115 Tips
Tara Gilbert ✨semi-hiatus
@Literary_Tara
Literary Agent
Associate Literary Agent @jdlitagency | 🌈she/them | ✨Magical | opinions my own | Gemini/Cancer ☼ Pisces ☽ Capricorn ↑
226 MSWL
46 AskAgent
25 Tips

A couple things I REALLY want to read right now.

Historical YA with no magic, especially if its gothic/southern gothic.

Romantic Comedies, but with a new twist or perspective. Example: diverse backgrounds, gender-bending, or a retelling of Shakespeare/fairtales/myths. #mswl

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
book reader, vegetable eater, smithie, editor at dial byr, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL
Maggie Cooper
@frecklywench
Literary Agent
agent @aevitascreative (query me w/ your 🏳️‍🌈🤓📚!) // writer, book gal, scone-lover // @mfagreensboro , @clarionucsd , @grubwriters // she/her // opinions mine
9 MSWL

hit me up with your very smartest feminist retellings, your structurally fearless literary fiction, and anything you’d comp to the brilliant Sarah Waters, Lesley Nneka Arimah, Curtis Sittenfeld, or Carmen Maria Machado! #MSWL

Annie Bomke
@ABLiterary
Literary Agent
Literary agent, pizza lover, dance fiend, park enthusiast, and that's just the beginning. There are no limits to what I can do. (She/her.)
144 MSWL
24 AskAgent
42 Queries
25 Tips

Oooh, and retellings too! Shakespearean, myths, other books, etc. #MSWL