Speculative Fiction

Hali Baumstein @halibaumstein · Apr 12

I'd also love to find mind-bendy, genre twisting stories that feel in the vein of my recent Netflix obsessions Black Mirror, Russian Doll, The OA, and Dark. That obviously includes a huge range, but they're all contemporary-rooted stories with speculative elements woven in. #MSWL

Susan Hawk @susanhawk · Apr 4

Contemporary MG novels with a speculative element, or touch of magic – very much up my alley. #MSWL

Marisa DiNovis @dinovisms · Mar 18

Genre-bending, standalone YA spec fic that puts me in the mind of Jane, Unlimited—a book I read over a year ago and still think about on a weekly basis. Bonus points for a sweeping yet claustrophobic setting like Tu Reviens! #mswl

Andrea Somberg @andreasomberg · Feb 12

I would love to see some smart horror or speculative fiction that veers toward the literary #MSWL

Steven Salpeter @StiSal · Feb 8

(And for the search engines: that’s, yes; please send me adult or YA second-world fantasy with Jewish elements, or YA Jewish magical realism, Jewish Speculative fiction, literary Jewish fantasy novels, et cetera #mswl)

ellen @ellencormier · Feb 7

Autostraddle @autostraddle

Natasha Lyonne’s #RussianDoll is the darkest, funniest, most comforting show of 2019 so far. bit.ly/2RMqNi7 pic.twitter.com/w7z05HLpC3

YES! THIS! Also, I really want to work on some speculative fiction that's as sharp, funny, and layered as #RussianDoll. Something that uses the speculative element to say something, not just as a cool hook #mswl

Allie Levick @AllieLevick · Jan 23

That speculative book about a woman taking her power back? Using her power to effect change? Send it to me. #MSWL

Kat Enright @katenright · Jan 23

I am hungry for a good middle grade! For me, it’s all about the voice. Now, I do tend to lean spec, but I am open to a great heartfelt contemporary. #MSWL

Nicole Payne @tnicolepayne · Jan 14

Where’s all the adult speculative fiction and romance?! #mswl

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · Jan 8

THE WANGS VS. THE WORLD; smart, female-driven speculative fiction (mobs a plus); gritty YA in the vein of SADIE or THE WALLS AROUND US #MSWL

Melanie Fried @Melanie_Fried · 8 Dec 2018

#mswl: historical (1900s), romcom, immigrant stories, diverse voices, high society, light suspense or speculative hook, campus setting, southern, complex female friendships, family dramas, gothic, nostalgia. Upmarket with commercial hook. Agented only.

Jennifer A. Grimaldi @JA_Grimaldi · 3 Dec 2018

DYING (ha) for more YA horror in my inbox, especially speculative/family-centric/this-monster-is-a-metaphor in the vein of THE BABADOOK or HAUNTING OF HILL HOUSE #mswl

JenniferMarchSoloway @marchsoloway · 29 Nov 2018

I love the idea that magic could be lurking in our world, if only we knew where to look. Have such a story (PB, MG, YA, adult speculative/horror)? Please send it my way! #MSWL