James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

If you’re writing anything like THE HAUNTING OF BLY MANOR or HILL HOUSE (or any other adult horror) please keep me in mind! #MSWL

Mike (Michaela) Whatnall
@mwhatnall
Literary Assistant
Literary agency assistant @DGandBtweets . Irrepressible book enthusiast. they/them
1 MSWL

I’m so excited to share my #MSWL, which just went live! If you’re interested, please take a look to find out what kinds of projects I’m on the look-out for! manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/mich…

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I'm dying (ha) to read a crime novel that I can't put down right now. Something along the lines of Attica Locke, Steph Cha, Oyinkan Braithwaite, and Liz Moore. I'd love to see more marginalized characters/writers in the crime space in general #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I'd love a good book in my inbox set around a courtroom drama. Something beautifully written and suspenseful like Miracle Creek, or Take it Back, or Nineteen Minutes, or Defending Jacob. I like courtroom dramas, okay #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

#QueryUpdate-- I'm all caught up on all queries, and reading/enjoying my last three submissions. I've updated my #MSWL on our website, and would love to see your query if you have something that fits. Just go here: querymanager.com/query/jmcgowan

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I am actively digging through my inbox looking for: #MSWL
▪️Humorous PBs
▪️PB/MG NF about science or history topics
▪️Adult mystery/suspense in the vein of Oyinkan Braithwaite, Steph Cha, Alex North, Tana French
▪️Upmarket family stories
▪️Horror: Psychological! Ghosts!

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips
James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips
James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I'm all caught up on queries and working my way through all January submissions. Eager to find my next new project!
Looking for:
PB fiction & non-fiction
MG non-fiction & humorous fiction
Adult Mystery, Thriller, Literary & Upmarket #MSWL #QueryUpdate

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I finally watched The Post (2017) and holy hot damn that was a hell of a movie. I want a historical novel on my list as tense and informative and relevant as that was. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I’m actively seeking submissions in:
Literary/Upmarket fiction
Mystery, Crime, Thriller
Humorous middle grade fiction
Middle grade non-fiction
All picture books (fiction & non-fiction)
#MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

We’re sharing our 2020 Must Haves graphics over at @bookendslit. Here’s mine. I’d love to see a query from you! #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

Ashley Congdon @AshleyCCongdon

@jamerrson What themes, topics, styles, etc. excite you right now for picture books? #askagent
Replying to @AshleyCCongdon

Is it fair to say everything? If I had to choose, non-fiction is most exciting to me right now, and I’m especially looking for some climate/environment related stuff. But I always love funny pbs. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

Some favorites: Margaret Finnegan's WE COULD BE HEROES, GHOST, ONE AND ONLY IVAN.

Next up on my TBR: THE TRUTH AS TOLD BY Mason Buttle
#MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

On the contemporary fiction, if it feels like Jason Reynolds could have wrote it, I'd love to see it. Realistic stories that don't shy away from hard topics. With characters we all can love.#MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I'm recently open to middle grade, and I'm primarily looking for funny projects, along the lines of THE BAD GUYS, LIONS & LIARS #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I'd love to find more PB NF-- things like THE SEA BOOK or SEA BEAR. I like little known history and people, or climate/science geared topics. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I gravitate towards humorous, sarcastic, clever books like Jory John. I love punny and clever, and ordinary things turned on their heads and made hilarious. Think THE GREAT INDOORS. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

James McGowan @jamerrson

It's #MSWL day! (pt. 2) (Children's Fiction)

My door will always be open to picture books, running the gamut.
Fiction, non-fiction, funny, heartwarming, STEM, arts, anything. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Assistant
Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com
68 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I also love mysteries and thrillers that gravitate towards dark horror elements, like THE WHISPER MAN. One of my top reads so far this year. #MSWL