Peter Knapp
@petejknapp
Literary Agent
Lit agent with @parkandfine representing kid lit with enthusiasm! petejknapp.com
270 MSWL
118 AskAgent
228 Queries
5 Tips

I'm eager for fun middle grade series, humorous or not -- but definitely heartfelt. Sweeping worlds, sweeping adventures, kids wrapped up with gods and monsters and magic. Bonus points for fun animal (or magical-creature) sidekick characters! #MSWL

Elizabeth Lee
@EleeReads
Editor
☁️ Editor at Penguin Workshop (@penguinkids/@penguinteen) ☁️ @BarnardCollege alumna ☁️ Opera singer & stress baker ☁️ Author as @elshenwrites #WNDB #POCinPub
18 MSWL

MIDDLE GRADE:
- contemporary, joyful, humorous slice-of-life stories about marginalized characters and their middle school problems
- commercial light fantasy adventures with extraordinary heart
- sister stories, competitor-turned-friend narratives, first crushes

#mswl

Cate Hart
@CateHart
Literary Agent
Literary Agent at Harvey Klinger. YA author. Kid wrangler. Galactic Princess. Addicted to the Foo Fighters. Need More Cowbell!
87 MSWL
31 Queries
13 Tips

High on my #MSWL list:
Contemporary Southern Gothic
Creepy Historical Gothic
Give me haunted manors, haunted woods, haunted histories
Add a dash of magic, even better!!
Fantasy RomCom
More YA urban fantasy
MG adventure and mystery and puzzles to solve
GN for MG and YA

Kiki
@kianangu
Literary Agent
YA/Adult Fiction Agent at DMLA. Half-hour Comedy Writer. Hobbit degenerate. She/her. I smile a lot/make inappropriate jokes 🌈🦄 Deliverer (Death Stranding).
149 MSWL
25 AskAgent
21 Tips

I would reaaaally love goofy, comedic adult fantasy in my inbox! I was just rewatching The Hobbit and I just love the quirky character dynamics within that epic adventure. Please! Sweep me away while making me laugh at dorks! #mswl

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

Found families in space! I want SF adventure stories with an excellent spaceship crew dynamic in the vein of MASS EFFECT, FORTUNA, and A LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET. Paired with a quick pace and a dynamic voice, I never tire of these stories. Bonus points for aliens. #MSWL

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

Give me a fantasy adventure like KINGS OF THE WYLD that feels like a D&D game. I want a new twist on classic fantasy races and monsters! Big quest energy! Lots of party banter! A wisecracking, charismatic rogue with a heart of gold (not required, but always appreciated)! #MSWL

Erin Clyburn
@erin_clyburn
Literary Agent
Associate Literary Agent @JDLitAgency // Copy Editor @foodandwine // Southerner // hiking & horror movies // she/her
138 MSWL
6 AskAgent
18 Tips

Thought of another one for the #MSWL: I'm always looking for memoir/narrative nonfic about extreme sports, athletes, & adventure (think ALONE ON THE WALL, BORN TO RUN). Brought to you by me going nuts over the Olympic trials (Sha'Carri Richardson!!!).

Ali Herring
@HerringAli
Literary Agent
Asst. Literary Agent, Spencerhill Associates. Twin mom+1. Eclectic in life & books. I 💙 Jane Austen & SFF in equal doses. Uses ‘ya'll.’ Proud Atlantan.
167 MSWL
1 AskAgent
11 Queries
30 Tips

Bonus #MSWL. I adore adventurous space opera of all kinds. (Ex Beth Revis Across the Universe or Passengers) but really want a focus on adventure and discovering new worlds.

Joanna Moult
@JoannaMoult
Literary Agent
Co-founder of Skylark Literary, a specialist children's & YA literary agency & creative consultancy. Trying not to drink too much tea.
7 MSWL
40 AskAgent
Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
87 MSWL
6 Tips

• Queer friendship, love, and adventure stories, especially featuring the less-represented members of the queer family: trans, non-binary, asexual, intersex, queer, and bisexual characters
#MSWL 14/?

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
87 MSWL
6 Tips

• Authentic, #ownvoices representations of characters with marginalized and intersectional identities, particularly in stories of adventure, romance, friendship, joy, and personal growth
#MSWL 8/?

rebecca kuss
@reebsthereader
Editor
senior editor @ rick riordan presents+disney hyperion. 🇰🇷✡️. she/her #currentlyreading : arsenic and adobo by mia p. manansala
31 MSWL
7 AskAgent

for RRP MG, i want snarky, funny, action-adventure 📚 featuring young BIPOC & deeply rooted in ✨mythology & magic ✨

here too i'd love to see even more intersectional protagonists & stories that subvert the typical RRP formula, like the upcoming SERWA BOATENG! (4/6)

#mswl

Maggie Rosenthal
@RosenthalMaggie
Editor
Reader + eater. Associate editor @ Viking Children's Books. Find me where the snacks are. She/her.
4 MSWL

I'm in the mood for MG! Please send me something spooky, send me something funny, send me something full of adventure, send me something that makes me think. And as always, would love to see subs by marginalized creators across genres. Ready to fall in love with some MG! #MSWL

Alice S-H
@alibelle
Literary Agent
Founder & Literary Agent at @ASHliterary . Dogs & books, mostly. Never knowingly out-lipsticked. Views my own. She/her. It's Alice, never Ali. No DM queries.
59 MSWL
21 AskAgent

I’m really craving joyful and funny stories at the moment. Would love to see more in my queries, particularly from marginalised voices. Romance, friendships, adventure, all with a side of LOL. #mswl

Karen Chaplin
@CapChapReads
Editor
Executive Editor of PB/MG/YA for Quill Tree Books/Harper. Mom to humans/cats/a dog. Aspiring photographer. TV addict. Girl with a sweet tooth.
10 MSWL

#mswl I am looking for middle-grade mystery. Mysteries were one of my fav things to read and watch as a kid. Take me back to The Goonies and Encyclopedia Brown with mystery, adventure, friendship, and an element finding yourself.

A Woman Reading
@AWomanReading
Literary Agent
Founder of @HollowayLiterary . #LiteraryAgent of bestselling authors. IG: @AWomanReading
89 MSWL
5 Tips

#mswl Would also love a mg or ya adventure or mystery set in the OBX. Plus pirates would be great. Own voices A-A male or female protagonists would be ah-may-zing.

Léonicka
@leonicka
Literary Agent
she/her 🇭🇹 | Check out @TheFOLD_ . Literary Agent at @TransLitAgency . CLOSED TO QUERIES. All glory to God ✝️
81 MSWL
42 AskAgent
5 Tips

And finally if you have chapter book or middle grade book that uses humour, adventure, fantasy, sci-fi or any combination thereof to help little kids explore their big feelings like in COCO and OVER THE MOON, please send me your work. #mswl

beth phelan
@beth_phelan
Literary Agent
mg & ya literary agent (closed to unsolicited submissions). she/her. creator of #DVpit (@DVpit_) & @DV_con . abolish police. JKR is a TERF. opinions are my own.
108 MSWL
125 AskAgent
26 Tips

2. Commercial fantasy adventure series, ensemble casts with or without a talking creature or two
3. Monsters!
4. Contemporary family stories
5. LOL high concept, character-strong stories
6. Hooky, character-driven contemporary series

#mswl cont ⬇️

beth phelan
@beth_phelan
Literary Agent
mg & ya literary agent (closed to unsolicited submissions). she/her. creator of #DVpit (@DVpit_) & @DV_con . abolish police. JKR is a TERF. opinions are my own.
108 MSWL
125 AskAgent
26 Tips

More specifically in MG, i love a great, accessible voice and humor across the spectrum, but also more serious literary stories. MORE specifically:

1. Madcap adventures in any genre

#mswl cont ⬇️