Myth

Ali Herring @HerringAli · Mar 31

Also give me some contemporary fantasy rooted in myth, lore and legends 1- #MSWL. I also specifically would love a Korean author to send me a YA contemporary fantasy w/the story of Jacheongbi as foundation! 2- #MSWL.

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Mar 26

“Picture Books: the Wheel of the Year, cultural traditions/history, tales of mythology and lore, object-based nonfiction (no biographies), ghosts.” @msmariavicente #MSWL mariavicente.com/representation

Rach Crawford @RachAC · Mar 21

Whoever is doing a Madeleine Miller style treatment of the Cassandra myth I want that in my inbox. It's I can think about as we, place-by-place, scream at our community to stop. going. out. #MSWL

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Mar 6

“Middle Grade: luscious fantasy based on myths/traditions from non-Western culture.” @msmariavicente #MSWL mariavicente.com/representation

Melanie Iglesias @msmelread · Jan 26

#LitAgents, my #MSWL (Adult):
‣ Upmarket contemporary fic: Womxn; mental health; “Late” (30s+) coming-of-age; LGBTQIA+
‣ Grounded speculative fic: “ ” w/ elements of SFF/magical realism; Modern retellings (fairy tales; myths & legends; folklore; classics); CliFi (not preachy);

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · Jan 23

*YA contemp. in the vein of I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN or EMERGENCY CONTACT
*literary suspense
*sister stories, a boarding school novel, anything with folklore/mythology/retellings
#MSWL

Kayla Lightner @LightnerKayla · Jan 15

Kayla Lightner @LightnerKayla

Ok, so...screw it. This is part #MSWL, part “the Manuscript that got away”. In 2018 someone sent a fantasy ms to one of our associates about a female protag. who was competing against her 4 older brothers to be named her dictator father’s successor (1/3)

It had everything I love: an unapologetically ruthless female protag; messy royal family drama; non-Eurocentric inspired mythology. But because I wasn’t an agent at the time, I couldn’t offer rep. I STILL THINK ABOUT IT TO THIS DAY(2/3)

beth phelan (closed to unsolicited queries) @beth_phelan · Jan 2

Happy 2020! I’m back open to queries!! Send me...

#MG:

LOL fantasy, contemporary tackling big topics, queer madcap ensemble adventures!

#YA:

Weird crimes/myths, underdog fantasy, dark paranormal, experimental shit!

#querytip #mswl #subtip #amquerying

Savannah Brooks @slbrooks91 · Jan 1

Been slowly making my way through the Rick Riordan presents lineup, and sweet peaches (see what I did there?), these books are so good. I’m very much so looking for an MG action/adventure global mythology standalone or series. VERY MUCH SO. #MSWL

MistleTia 🎄 (Closed to Queries) @TiatheTiger · 26 Dec 2019

I finally updated my #MSWL page on my website: tiarosemele.com/mswl/

I'm still closed to queries, but take a look and if your book fits, query me after January 13th! :)

Jinglebelle 🎄(Away) @alibelle · 16 Dec 2019

As promised, here's my #MSWL for January. As ever I am particularly keen to hear from voices that have historically been unheard in the industry. Looking forward to coming back to lots of fabulous queries!

Savannah Brooks @slbrooks91 · 13 Dec 2019

Lauren Spieller 📖 @laurenspieller

OKAY TWITTER. What's the new YA genre trend going to be? Let's decide now so we can all start drafting our dystopian-vampire-werewolf-super hero-space novellas and get 2020 off to a banging start.

I know mythology tends to skew MG, but I’d LOVE to see more global mythology and folklore—especially in genres outside of action/adventure. I know y’all have some spooky folklore ripe for horror. And rom coms with minor deities? Guided journies through loss? Yes. All of it. #MSWL

Tara Gilbert 🔮✨ @Literary_Tara · 17 Nov 2019

A couple things I REALLY want to read right now.

Historical YA with no magic, especially if its gothic/southern gothic.

Romantic Comedies, but with a new twist or perspective. Example: diverse backgrounds, gender-bending, or a retelling of Shakespeare/fairtales/myths. #mswl

Nora Long @NoraLong10 · 25 Oct 2019

Hey, exciting news! My #mswl page is officially up and running (and perhaps unnecessarily detailed), so hit me with your best shot, query people :)
manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/nora…

Erik Hane @erikhane · 25 Oct 2019

I hadn't updated my actual #MSWL page since starting the new agency, but I did so today--if you're interested, you can find a more detailed discussion of what I'm looking for in submitted projects this coming year here:
manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/erik…