Contemporary

Tara is open to queries. 🔮✨ @Literary_Tara · 2d

Hi #amquerying, I have an urgent #mswl that needs to be addressed...
😉
I am seriously lacking anything and everything in the contemporary fiction space. Romance, Realistic (nonissue books), WF, RomCom, high concept book! I need them in MG, YA, and Adult categories.

Kelsy @kelsythompson · 3d

Kelsy @kelsythompson

Hey #WritingCommunity, if I missed your #iswgpit and you think your project might be a good fit, or if you're simply in the #amquerying trenches: here are some things on my #MSWL (a thread)

- unique character-driven #YA contemporary with a voice that grabs you and won't let go
- #ownvoices and underrepresented narratives (I'm still looking for that #ya refugee/immigration story!)
- feminist, #LGBTQ , and sex-positive narratives
- shorter (~50k) contemporary #mg

Ronald Gerber @Daysleeper95 · 3d

Knives Out was one of my favs this past year, and I would love to see more books like that: murder mystery/detective stories or really any classic subgenre with a contemporary, socially conscious twist. #MSWL

Mary C. Moore @Mary_C_Moore · 4d

Contemporary Pride and Prejudice set in Mexico City. #MSWL

Mary C. Moore @Mary_C_Moore · 4d

YA contemporary: Geek girls having adventures/life experiences #MSWL

*No taking off glasses and suddenly pretty, I love 'She's All That' as much as the last millennial, but let's throw that trope back into the 90s. GEEK GIRL PRIDE

Mary C. Moore @Mary_C_Moore · 4d

Western, set in Northern California. Any genre: historical, scifi, fantasy, contemporary, etc. Diversity a must. #MSWL

Mary C. Moore @Mary_C_Moore · 4d

Romcom (or just rom) mystery in a kooky setting or strange land. Think a contemporary twist on Mary Stewart and Victoria Holt. #MSWL

Mary C. Moore @Mary_C_Moore · 4d

Contemporary intersectional Latinx voices.
Magical Realism.
Immigrant stories.
Romance.
Historical.
#MSWL

(Si tenias español en tu ms, me encantaría verlo.)

Mary C. Moore @Mary_C_Moore · 4d

Contemporary MG with hints of magic a la TWO GIRLS, A CLOCK, AND A CROOKED HOUSE or ALL THE IMPOSSIBLE THINGS. #MSWL

Lynnette Novak @Lynnette_Novak · 4d

If I missed your #IWSGPit pitch, paste query & 1st 5 pages in email. Adult: Horror, thriller, cont. romance, rom-com, & mystery. YA: thriller, SFF, horror, mystery, & cont. MG: SFF, mystery, cont., & horror. #diversity #MSWL #ownvoices querylynnette (@) theseymouragency (.)com

Erin Siu @erinssiu · 5d

New year, new me💁🏻‍♀️my #MSWL is finally live! Check it out if you'd like to know what I'm looking for. 📚 manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/erin…

Stacey Donaghy @DonaghyLiterary · 6d

I re-open to queries today and am really looking forward to seeing your Adult and YA projects in the areas of contemporary,romance,psychological thrillers, diverse and #ownvoices ( for full list visit website). #writers #amwriting #amediting

Kianna Shore @KiannaShore · Jan 10

I find a mixture of genres THRILLING. So something like historical crime I would LOVE. In fact, universe, PLEASE send me more #historical fiction. I’d also love to see some contemporary thrillers and mysteries - a sort of YA Gone Girl (fingers crossed!).

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Jan 9

“Graphic Novels: contemporary young adult and middle grade, graphic memoirs, graphic nonfiction.” @msmariavicente #MSWL mariavicente.com/representation

Linda Epstein @LindaEpstein · Jan 8

Honestly, I'd really like a realistic contemporary YA romcom or romance featuring BIPOC characters! Hit me up with something akin to Jenny Han or Sandhya Menon's books. #MSWL

Happy HollZABÉs ⛄️🌲❄️ @ZREllor · Jan 7

#MSWL I'm REALLY eager to find some MG with a funny voice! Fantasy, contemporary, whatever--just make me laugh!!!

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

Contemporary, heartfelt coming-of-age MG in the vein of THE REMARKABLE JOURNEY OF COYOTE SUNRISE, SONG FOR A WHALE and THE LINE TENDER. #mswl

Peter Knapp @petejknapp · Jan 7

I’d love to find graphic novels in 2020, too. On the contemporary side, favs include ROLLER GIRL, BEST FRIENDS, AWKWARD. #mswl