Lauren Spieller
@laurenspieller
Literary Agent
Twitter Valkyrie | Literary Agent @TriadaUS | Author of YOUR DESTINATION IS ON THE LEFT + SHE'S THE WORST. I love dogs like it's my job. She/Her.
519 MSWL
51 AskAgent
2 Queries
79 Tips

I’m finally watching Big Little Lies and I would love to find a book that has a similarly threatening coastal vibes #mswl

Feather Flores 🌸
@featherfully
Editorial Assistant
editing, acquiring, & making trouble @ChronicleKids • art by @anushnush • she/ her 🌈✨
10 MSWL

Feather Flores 🌸 @featherfully

PLEASE read this thread. Every publishing professional I know *needs* to read this thread. 👇🏼 twitter.com/laviecestmoi/s…

Also, if you are a BIPOC creator and you see yourself & your stories in this thread (heck, I know I do): I WANT THEM. I will always want them. And I will fight for them. #MSWL

FlanneryLiteraryAssociate☃️❄️
@FlanneryLitera1
Literary Agent
Associate Lit Agent. I go by Dan. PB/MG/YA Please follow submission guidelines. Thanks 🏳️‍🌈 A book can inspire a child. A child can inspire the world.
18 MSWL
2 AskAgent
16 Tips
FlanneryLiteraryAssociate☃️❄️
@FlanneryLitera1
Literary Agent
Associate Lit Agent. I go by Dan. PB/MG/YA Please follow submission guidelines. Thanks 🏳️‍🌈 A book can inspire a child. A child can inspire the world.
18 MSWL
2 AskAgent
16 Tips
FlanneryLiteraryAssociate☃️❄️
@FlanneryLitera1
Literary Agent
Associate Lit Agent. I go by Dan. PB/MG/YA Please follow submission guidelines. Thanks 🏳️‍🌈 A book can inspire a child. A child can inspire the world.
18 MSWL
2 AskAgent
16 Tips

My anxiety is high bc #MSWL tweet. Remember Flannery Literary is open to all children's literature queries. Don't try to fit your MS to match. If it doesn't match, that's ok. Query us your polished MS. If you say your MS matches when it doesn't
#WritingCommunity #amquerying

McCorkle_Editor
@McCorkle_Editor
Editor
AQ editor w/ City Owl, Editorial Director of Mystic Owl, romance in: SF/F genres, freelance editor. Love is love. enigmaticeditor.blogspot.com
71 MSWL
71 Tips

Big cat #shifters? Bear shifters? Bring them on. On my #MSWL: Outstanding, hot #PNR for the Mystic Owl line: cityowlpress.com/queries/#mysti… Emphasis on the romance! #querytip

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

10) Surprise me! No, really. I'm looking to acquire widely this year and I want the thing I did not already know I was looking for. Send it my way! ✨

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

9) I am always a sucker for stories with what one agent friend spot-on named "a gimmick": epistolary novels, frame stories, timeline shenanigans, mixed formats, text messages, etc. Yes, I am that girl who wrote her college thesis on frame stories.

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

8) Yes, I do graphic novels! In addition to cozy fantasy, looking for MG fantasy/adventure more broadly and for moody, literary-feeling YA coming-of-age stories (the queerer the better).

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

7) An outrageously, wryly funny historical romp or rom-com.

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

6) Competitions, tournaments, puzzles, and mysteries! Give me those sweet aha! moments and high stakes.

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

(I would straight-up sell my soul for a YA in the vein of Song of Achilles or Circe. Just sayin'.)

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

5) Savvy, inventive retellings, from Baba Yaga to the Thousand and One Nights to Oscar Wilde, and beyond

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

4.3) Cozy MG fantasy that feels both literary and commercial. Think Studio Ghibli, Halloweentown, a touch of Anne Ursu. (I am also extremely looking for this in graphic novels!)

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

4.2) Historical or contemporary fantasy with a sharp, fresh, feminist twist on old folklore. Looking for my Holly Black or YA Alix Harrow 🙏

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

4.1) Commercial MG fantasy/adventure that could launch a 5-book series. I am ready to pick some fights with editor friends at RR Presents and Scholastic! 👀

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

4) Who's the next big thing in YA or MG fantasy? I want to help them get there, and I want them in my inbox. ❤️ Specifically:

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

3) High-concept YA contemporary or contemporary-with-a-twist, especially if it comes with an irreverent, self-referentially funny voice. Sarcastic or endearingly self-deprecating humor to the front of the line. I love a protagonist who feels like a co-conspirator.

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. 🎮🏒📚🌈
191 MSWL
34 AskAgent

2) Whoever brings me a queer YA read-alike to Casey McQuiston's Red, White, & Royal Blue and/or One Last Stop will win my heart forever (and more to the point, a lot of money 😇)