Family

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 6d

I am actively digging through my inbox looking for: #MSWL
▪️Humorous PBs
▪️PB/MG NF about science or history topics
▪️Adult mystery/suspense in the vein of Oyinkan Braithwaite, Steph Cha, Alex North, Tana French
▪️Upmarket family stories
▪️Horror: Psychological! Ghosts!

Beth Marshea- Closed to Queries @busybethm · Feb 12

If anyone wants to send me more Found Family books in nearly any genre (that I rep), I would be so happy. #mswl

Eric Smith @ericsmithrocks · Feb 12

I can't tell you how often I think about films like Birdbox and A Quiet Place, and how badly I want to read more novels about parents fighting for their kids and found families in apocalyptic settings.

I mean, I also DON'T want to read them, but also I do.

Send me those! #MSWL

Kristy Hunter @KristySHunter · Feb 10

For #adult, I’m particularly hungry for commercial #WF. Give me a strong hook & upmarket writing. I’m open to MANY different genres here, but my sweet spot are stories that deal with family and/or long held secrets #MSWL

Rebecca Kuss @reebsthereader · Feb 10

i would LOVE to see stories about immigrant communities - especially ones with a multi-generational family angle in the vein of mitali perkins' YOU BRING THE DISTANT NEAR #mswl

Rebecca Podos @RebeccaPodos · Feb 3

Rereading my eternal fave NATALIE TAN’S BOOK OF LUCK AND FORTUNE reminds me how badly I want an Adult Romance/Contemporary steeped in family, food, culture, and a little bit of magic #MSWL

Melanie Iglesias @msmelread · Jan 26

#MSWL cont’d
‣ Puerto Rican 💕 (and Latinx/other cultures): Boricua LITTLE WOMEN (sisterhood/found family/different life paths); b&a Hurricane Maria; diaspora; brujería; santería; El Chupacabra; multigenerational

Meggnog 🎄 ~ Closed to Queries Until 1/6/20 @Megan_Manzano · Jan 25

Give me YA stories about competitive sports, found families, and momma bear coaches like in #Cheer

Huge #MSWL right now!

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · Jan 23

I'd be interested in seeing MG or YA that explores step-families in an interesting, nuanced way. I have step-parents, step-siblings, a former step-parent, former step-siblings, a new "step-mom" i.e. dad's third wife. It's rich. #MSWL

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · Jan 23

On the whole, I'm looking for page-turning, escapist, transporting MG and YA fiction. Light on trauma. Big on feelings—humor, romance, friendship, family connections. #MSWL

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Jan 22

“I really love literary fiction that takes you into small worlds and communities where I'm an outsider. A glimpse inside a complex family, or a workplace.” @ericsmithrocks #MSWL ericsmithrocks.com/mswl

Kayla Lightner @LightnerKayla · Jan 15

Kayla Lightner @LightnerKayla

Ok, so...screw it. This is part #MSWL, part “the Manuscript that got away”. In 2018 someone sent a fantasy ms to one of our associates about a female protag. who was competing against her 4 older brothers to be named her dictator father’s successor (1/3)

It had everything I love: an unapologetically ruthless female protag; messy royal family drama; non-Eurocentric inspired mythology. But because I wasn’t an agent at the time, I couldn’t offer rep. I STILL THINK ABOUT IT TO THIS DAY(2/3)

Erin Siu @erinssiu · Jan 14

New year, new me💁🏻‍♀️my #MSWL is finally live! Check it out if you'd like to know what I'm looking for. 📚 manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/erin…

ellen @ellencormier · Jan 14

Classic-feeling, oh-so-charming MG family stories (à la The Penderwicks) but about found or otherwise non-traditional families #mswl

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · Jan 10

We’re sharing our 2020 Must Haves graphics over at @bookendslit. Here’s mine. I’d love to see a query from you! #MSWL