Upmarket

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Oct 2

“I’d love to read some vibrant, Broadway/West End musical fiction. Give me glamour and behind-the-scenes action. Interesting, dramatic, but contemporary and upmarket.” @readbystephanie #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Sep 28

“I’m in the mood for some 1920s/1950s upmarket fiction with vivid historical settings.” @readbystephanie #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

Stephanie Winter @readbystephanie · Sep 24

In upmarket fiction, I’m looking for precise angles:
> Period pieces with women breaking into lively professions (think TV or comedy a la I Love Lucy).
> Women in S.T.E.M
> Anything geeky but accessible
> Gender fluid, masc. of centre, and non-binary protagonists. #MSWL

Amy Cloughley @AmyCloughley · Sep 24

But I also look for a “lean forward” plot. Whether a domestic mystery, family saga, upmarket fiction, or light-hearted romcom, send me your novels with that page-turning quality that keep me reading late into the night. #mswl

Amy Cloughley @AmyCloughley · Sep 24

Amy Cloughley @AmyCloughley

Dropping into #mswl with a thread about what I'm looking for now.

I would love to see an immersive 1900s historical novel that takes the reader into the life of a familiar historical figure. Can be commercial, upmarket or literary e.g. The Swans of Fifth Avenue or Euphoria. #mswl

Melanie Castillo @wellmelsbells · Sep 24

Also on the adult side! I'd love to see upmarket fiction with elements of mystery/suspense in the vein of Celeste Ng’s EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU and Angie Kim’s MIRACLE CREEK. #MSWL

Jessica Sinsheimer @jsinsheim · Sep 24

I'd love to see a women's/upmarket/rom com novel like Brittany Runs A Marathon, but with another (at first, seemingly impossible) goal. #MSWL

Jessica Sinsheimer @jsinsheim · Sep 24

I'm truly interested in the intersection of upmarket sentences and scary content, whether that's for MG, YA or adult...I am here for this. #MSWL

Devon Halliday @devonrhalliday · Sep 24

Upmarket and literary fiction focused on nuanced relationships between distinct characters. These can be set in any time and place, but I’m especially excited to see #ownvoices stories that introduce the reader to an unfamiliar and under-represented perspective.
#mswl

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · Sep 24

I'd also like some upmarket fiction that revolves around an event that changes a group of people. #MSWL

Amber Oliver @Amber_Oliver007 · Sep 24

An upmarket novel featuring a black girl band (or other poc band) or singer, rapper, etc. think ON THE COME UP, but for adults. #MSWL

Amber Oliver @Amber_Oliver007 · Sep 24

Would also love an upmarket workplace novel with poc characters set in a large city (New York! Chicago! Miami! etc.) #MSWL

Katie Greenstreet @ktgreenst · Sep 24

Sympathetic psychopaths, cult-y fiction, campus novels of all stripes, books tied to an unfamiliar professional world (ballet/restaurants/sports), upmarket #metoo novels, political conversation starters (a la American Marriage or The Mothers), a romcom with a fresh hook... #mswl

Lauren Spieller @laurenspieller · Sep 15

I’m officially open to queries again! 🎉 I am especially eager to find MG, Adult thrillers, + upmarket Adult SFF. However, you can find my full wishlist (and submission guidelines) on the Triada website, MSWL website, or #mswl hashtag. I look forward to hearing from you! 📚

Sharon Pelletier @sharongracepjs · Sep 5

Sharon Pelletier @sharongracepjs

#PitMad legions: if I <3 you today, please send query w/tweet and the first 50 pages to spelletier at dystel dot com. Good luck out there! pic.twitter.com/uY8iKlujcj

and because I'm not sure how much time I'll have today to browse the feed, right now I'm especially hungry for: upmarket WF, book club fiction, and truly fresh suspense fiction.
Diverse voices extra welcome.
Not for me: SF/F, paranormal, kids/YA
#pitmad #mswl

Erin Clyburn @erin_clyburn · Aug 29

-I consume thriller audiobooks like candy. Would love to see upmarket thrillers, particularly starring kickass women solving mysteries.

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Aug 20

“I’d love to read some vibrant, Broadway/West End musical fiction. Give me glamour and behind-the-scenes action. Interesting, dramatic, but contemporary and upmarket.” @readbystephanie #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Aug 15

“I’m in the mood for some 1920s/1950s upmarket fiction with vivid historical settings.” @readbystephanie #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/