Upmarket

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 6d

I am actively digging through my inbox looking for: #MSWL
▪️Humorous PBs
▪️PB/MG NF about science or history topics
▪️Adult mystery/suspense in the vein of Oyinkan Braithwaite, Steph Cha, Alex North, Tana French
▪️Upmarket family stories
▪️Horror: Psychological! Ghosts!

Kristy Hunter @KristySHunter · Feb 10

For #adult, I’m particularly hungry for commercial #WF. Give me a strong hook & upmarket writing. I’m open to MANY different genres here, but my sweet spot are stories that deal with family and/or long held secrets #MSWL

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Feb 10

“I’d love to read some vibrant, Broadway/West End musical fiction. Give me glamour and behind-the-scenes action. Interesting, dramatic, but contemporary and upmarket.” @readbystephanie #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

Jessica Faust @BookEndsJessica · Feb 7

Replying to @CaroleTBeers

You can see all of our lists on the website: bookendsliterary.com/submissions/ In particular I'm looking for commercial, upmarket & literary fiction, women's fiction, speculative fiction, mystery, suspense, thriller.... #MSWL

Jessica Faust @BookEndsJessica · Feb 5

Not going to lie. I’m having #PitchWars FOMO. In case you’re an author feeling the same I’m here to remind you that I’m open to queries. Speculative fiction, women’s fiction, suspense, upmarket & more #mswl bookendsliterary.com/submissions/

Sam B. Farkas @SamBFarkas · Feb 5

Sam B. Farkas @SamBFarkas

Hi! Since I am now open to queries, I'm going to do a #MSWL thread. I'm open to most categories and genres (see our website for details), but I'm especially eager for the following:

Adult Historical Fiction.

Think Kate Quinn or Alice Hoffman -- upmarket book club fiction that brings history to life.

Favorites: WATER FOR ELEPHANTS by Sara Gruen; THE HUNTRESS by Kate Quinn; THE DOVEKEEPERS by Alice Hoffman; I SHALL BE NEAR TO YOU by Erin Lindsay McCabe #MSWL

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Feb 5

“I’m in the mood for some 1920s/1950s upmarket fiction with vivid historical settings.” @readbystephanie #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

Jessica Faust @BookEndsJessica · Jan 31

Guess who needs more queries. #hungry for suspense, upmarket, women’s fiction, thriller, literary, nonfiction, #ownvoices #mswl bookendsliterary.com

Melanie Iglesias @msmelread · Jan 26

#LitAgents, my #MSWL (Adult):
‣ Upmarket contemporary fic: Womxn; mental health; “Late” (30s+) coming-of-age; LGBTQIA+
‣ Grounded speculative fic: “ ” w/ elements of SFF/magical realism; Modern retellings (fairy tales; myths & legends; folklore; classics); CliFi (not preachy);

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Jan 26

"An upmarket fiction piece about a woman with a cool outdoorsy or animal-related job (think STEM)." @readbystephanie #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · Jan 23

I'm all caught up on queries and working my way through all January submissions. Eager to find my next new project!
Looking for:
PB fiction & non-fiction
MG non-fiction & humorous fiction
Adult Mystery, Thriller, Literary & Upmarket #MSWL #QueryUpdate

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · Jan 23

Time for a 2020 #MSWL refresh!

Would love to see:

*more, generally by Korean authors in both YA & adult
*strong literary/upmarket fiction from a diverse POV (think Celeste Ng, Jean Kwok, Kamila Shamsie, etc.)
*YA thriller in the vein of SADIE

Sarah Grill @SarahGrill1 · Jan 22

In all seriousness, very proud to be a part of @StMartinsPress. Agents, please send me your gut-punching book club fiction, upmarket thrillers and mysteries, investigative journalism, pop culture, and true crime!! #mswl #publishing #amediting

Shari Maurer @sharimaurer · Jan 22

Good morning! I added a few more genres to my #MSWL through the StringerLit query form. Would love some humor/satire/offbeat/quirky (we need that in the world!) and I added thrillers, upmarket. Send me your funny PB and more MG/YA. stringerlit.com

Kaitlin Olson @KaitlinJOlson · Jan 16

I should probably do a proper #mswl soon, but I’ve seen a large uptick in pitches/MSs for genre romance in my inbox, which is NOT a good fit for my list. Rom-coms, upmarket women’s fiction—yes, please! But I’m not the right person for contemporary romance.