Charlotte Ellis
@cellisharlequin
Editor
Editor for @MillsandBoon Modern/@HarlequinBooks Presents ❤️📚
3 MSWL
Charlotte Ellis
@cellisharlequin
Editor
Editor for @MillsandBoon Modern/@HarlequinBooks Presents ❤️📚
3 MSWL

📅 I’m participating in #DVPit next week! I’ll be looking for contemporary category romances that are suitable for Harlequin Presents. Think glamorous international escapes, captivating emotional drama and high-stakes seduction! #MSWL More info. on the thread below… ⬇️

Roz Foster
@RozFoster
Literary Agent
Literary agent. Frances Goldin Literary Agency. Fiction: email query & first 15 pages to rf@goldinlit.com Nonfiction: email query and proposal.
7 MSWL
1 Queries
7 Tips

Seeking literary fiction in these classic genres: dark speculative/sci-fi (near-future), crime, thriller. Unique hooks & new views. Linguistic & storytelling mastery, high personal stakes, psychological depth. ❤️Kazuo Ishiguro, Katie Kitamura, Ted Chiang, Naomi Alderman #MSWL

BookEnds Literary
@bookendslit
Literary Agency
A literary agency repping bestselling, award-winning, & int'l published authors and illustrators for children & adults. Empowering creators to achieve dreams.
63 MSWL
53 AskAgent
127 Tips

BookFriends! It's #MSWL time!

From @EmilyKaitlinnn:

"My kingdom for a middle grade with magical, high-stakes world building in the vein of THE OWL HOUSE and YA assassin or spy stories like THE GALLAGHER GIRLS series"

Alyssa Jennette is closed to queries!
@AlyssaJennette
Literary Agent
I ask a lot of questions. Painfully earnest. Art school grad (MICA '10). Literary agent at @StonesongNYC . Silence is not peace.
196 MSWL
165 Queries
5 Tips

You know what is more fresh and interesting and high-stakes to me than stories about leaving earth for space? Saving and preserving earth for future generations. #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Middle grade stories about (non-speaking) animals, human-animal bonds, nature, & high-stakes survival
▫️Think: A Wolf Called Wander, today’s My Side of the Mountain #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟High-stakes competition w/ a radical, subversive bent & meaningful consequences for the characters
▫️Think: the Squid Game of YA (but note that sobs don't have to be violenct, & I am definitely not looking for violence that’s used for shock value or voyeuristic pleasure) #MSWL

Roz Foster
@RozFoster
Literary Agent
Literary agent. Frances Goldin Literary Agency. Fiction: email query & first 15 pages to rf@goldinlit.com Nonfiction: email query and proposal.
7 MSWL
1 Queries
7 Tips

Seeking literary & commercial crime/mystery, thriller & speculative/scifi. Unique hooks & new, diverse views in these classic genres. Linguistic & storytelling mastery, high personal stakes, psychological depth.❤️Tana French, Hervé Le Tellier, Octavia Butler, Kazuo Ishiguro #MSWL

Peter Knapp
@petejknapp
Literary Agent
Lit agent with @parkandfine representing kid lit with enthusiasm! petejknapp.com
280 MSWL
118 AskAgent
228 Queries
5 Tips

We also love high-concept, high-stakes middle grade fantasy like AMARI & THE NIGHT BROTHERS, ARU SHAH, NEVERMOOR, and TRISTAN STRONG. #MSWL

Ernie Chiara
@erniechiara
Literary Agent
Associate Agent at @FuseLiterary ⟡ Seeking underrepresented Adult, YA, and select MG voices in Fantasy, Sci-Fi, and Horror ⟡ SFWA ⟡ Founder @TBRstack ⟡ he/him
52 MSWL

✨Dark academia w/ high personal stakes and rich settings
✨Asian-inspired SF/tech-fantasy crossover in the vein of Xiran Jay Zhao.
✨Fantasy inspired by South Asian and Middle Eastern cultures and mythologies
#MSWL

samantha s. fabien
@samanthashnh
Literary Agent
✞ 🇭🇹 Literary Agent @RootLiterary . Pan🌈. I’m the ultimate hype woman™️ for great people & great books—she/her✨📚🌗
55 MSWL
1 AskAgent

In speculative fiction (light sci-fi, horror, fantasy), I need worlds that I can settle into easily.

Fresh takes on classic tropes, dynamic characters, unique magic systems, atmospheric writing & undeniably high stakes ✨Think: R.F. Kuang, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Rory Power

4/

samantha s. fabien
@samanthashnh
Literary Agent
✞ 🇭🇹 Literary Agent @RootLiterary . Pan🌈. I’m the ultimate hype woman™️ for great people & great books—she/her✨📚🌗
55 MSWL
1 AskAgent

New year, time to share a new #MSWL thread of things I’d love to see this year.

I am actively looking for: Adult, YA & MG.

And I am eager to support commercial and high stakes stories featuring BIPOC, LGBTQIA+, disability, and neurodiversity representation.

(A thread)

1/?

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

Stories about best friends set against the backdrop of competitive, high-stakes, art-based industries: this is what I live for! Think THE BALLERINAS by Rachel Kapelke-Dale and SMILE AND LOOK PRETTY by Amanda Pellegrino.

Claire Friedman
@clairefriedman8
Literary Agent
Lit Agent @inkwellmgmt // claire@inkwellmanagement.com// Doesn't fully understand how to operate the Tweeter
12 MSWL

Grounded fantasy/ genre! I can read books like THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE, ADDIE LARUE, SERPENT & DOVE, or THE TEN THOUSAND DOORS OF JANUARY again and again -- anything with a lush setting, a little (or a lot) of romance, and high stakes has my name all over it.

Nic Caws
@NicolaCaws
Editor
Editor for Harlequin Presents. Here for joy, love and HEAs (and prosecco and cake). Views my own. She/Her
8 MSWL

Presents that balance high stakes and high emotion with a touch of humour (not rom-coms though!)

Emilia Rhodes
@emiliarhodes
Editor
Editorial director at HMH Books for Young Readers and Etch. I tweet a lot about dogs, and think a lot about dessert. All opinions are my own. (she/her)
26 MSWL

On the speculative side of YA, give me a world or a circumstance I’ve never seen before. I love high-stakes, plot-driven fantasy and sci-fi, where the world enhances the story more than is the focus.

Lori Steel is boosted!
@Bookishsort
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @Ravenliterary | AALA | VCFA | SCBWI | KidLit | (she/her) opening to queries in Jan 2022
9 MSWL
3 Tips

Eagerly seeking upper MG with first love, emerging identities, high stakes, and self-reliance. If there's music, dance, cooking and/or rollerskating - all the better! #MSWL #kidlit

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

It goes without saying, but send me big, big epic fantasy! Multiple POVs, innovative magic systems, tense politics, huge stakes – the whole nine yards. Recent faves include THE RUIN OF KINGS, THE UNSPOKEN NAME, THE CITY OF BRASS, THE BLACK PRISM, the list goes on 😉 #MSWL

Charlotte Ellis
@cellisharlequin
Editor
Editor for @MillsandBoon Modern/@HarlequinBooks Presents ❤️📚
3 MSWL

KissPitch @KissPitch

It's almost here! Are you ready?

#KissPitch #FridayKiss #amwriting #romance #womensfiction #writingcommunity #amediting #amquerying pic.twitter.com/8SmzvlfTeE

Can't wait to read your #KissPitch pitches today for Harlequin Presents! I'm looking for stories with glamorous international escapes, captivating emotional drama and high-stakes seduction! As well as new voices that will bring diverse perspectives, characters and stories #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

• Stories about (non-anthropomorphic) animals, human-animal bonds, nature & high-stakes survival
• Select author-driven nonfiction, primarily with a radical, social justice–oriented focus—think prison abolition, open borders, union organizing, anarchy, socialism
#MSWL 16/?