High Stakes

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Jan 21

“I’d love a super feminine adventure story for Middle Grade. Think mystery, high stakes, and difficult situations mixed with bright colors, glitter, and gemstones.” @msmariavicente #MSWL mariavicente.com/representation/

Rebecca Podos @RebeccaPodos · Jan 11

Happy Friday, I have very particular #MSWL's today—Twitter, please deliver 🙏🏼

1. I'd KILL for a San Junipero-ish YA: queer sci-fi with high emotional stakes and a sweet ending
2. Hear me out, a YA Red Tent (midwifery and ancient rituals of womanhood) set IN SPACE

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

8/ #MSWL: High-stakes MG and YA contemp that feature breakers of tradition and characters who forge their own paths, as well as novels about identity and overcoming adversity. Wonderful books like I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, Dear Martin, and The Stars Beneath Our Feet

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

5/ #MSWL: Fast-paced, high-stakes YA fantasy, specifically with unique magic systems and fresh worldbuilding. I'm particularly attracted to lyrical prose, and recent YA favorites include Leigh Bardugo's King of Scars and Laini Taylor's Muse of Nightmares.

Jim McCarthy @JimMcCarthy528 · Jan 2

I am ALWAYS looking for YA fantasy or sci-fi. It’s not even out yet, but Swati Teerdhala’s stunner, The Tiger at Midnight is EXACTLY the kind of high-stakes, thrilling novel that I tumble head over heels for. #MSWL

Naomi Davis The Caffeinated @NaomisLitPix · 31 Dec 2018

OPEN TO ADULT QS. #MSWL - Wild, different adult fantasy. Vivid worlds I've never imagined. Dramatic politics, high stakes in everything from making tea to blowing up the world. (Or perhaps making tea AS A MEANS TO blow up the world, mwuhuhuhuhuhhhh)

Hannah Bowman @hannahnpbowman · 2 Nov 2018

Hannah Bowman @hannahnpbowman

Oh man I loved this book. twitter.com/drunk_austen/s…

Anyway coming from today’s discussion of old favorites: please send me more fun young-woman epic fantasy with beautiful dresses, high stakes, and some enemies-to-lovers, thank you. #mswl

Alyza Liu | 无名氏 @alyzaliu · 18 Oct 2018

who has six arms, three heads, and is dying for an angsty/tender/sweet queer romance in a high-stakes riverdale-esque murder mystery a la omar and ander from elite??

(me, it’s me) #mswl

Laura Maisano @MaisanoLaura · 12 Sep 2018

I'm still aching for my sibling story in the vein of Frozen or Fullmetal Alchemist. Familial love and drama with high stakes! #MSWL

Lydia Sharp ☕❄💙 @lydia_sharp · 12 Sep 2018

still on YA:
*mystery/thrillers w/ atypical narrative structure and/or mixed media formats
*paranormal that feels fresh
*adventure-driven stories
*anything with a high-stakes plot
*fairytale retellings that feel fresh
*smart contemporary that makes me laugh and cry
#MSWL

Melissa Danaczko @mad2034 · 12 Sep 2018

Novels about real-estate or inheritance. Doesn’t have to be for the super wealthy (for instance, I loved The Turner House but also fell hard for Family Trust). These things are always high-stakes for those involved #mswl

Lindsay Leggett @lindsayleggett_ · 12 Sep 2018

For #MSWL day, I'm always looking for:

-Multidimensional, complex characters

-Settings that feel lush and real

-High, unique stakes

-Concepts that make me go "oooooh"

Brent Taylor @btaylorbooks · 12 Sep 2018

Top of my #MSWL is a literary middle grade mystery with high stakes, middle grade and YA graphic novels, author-illustrated picture books, a YA novel told in reverse chronological order.

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · 23 Aug 2018

“I’d love a super feminine adventure story. Think mystery, high stakes, and difficult situations mixed with bright colours, glitter, and gemstones.” @msmariavicente #MSWL mariavicente.com/representation/

Ali Herring @HerringAli · 11 Aug 2018

#MSWL I want an MS set a DEF CON—the huge hacker convention held in Las Vegas. Crazy stuff must go down. High-energy. Thriller-esque. Contemporary or near-future (give me crazy attire, cool world building), YA or Adult. Save the world. Solve a puzzle. But HIGH stakes!!!

Lauren Spieller @laurenspieller · 6 Jul 2018

In YA, I'm craving a high concept contemporary--that means you can pitch in easily b/c it has a HOOK. I love weird jobs, enemies to lovers, unique living situations, and high stakes. #mswl