YA

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · 4h

Fantasy is a tough one right now for me. I think I'm more game for fantastical elements in MG/YA rather than "capital F Fantasy." Weave something speculative into something ordinary. Riff. Innovate. Iterate. #MSWL

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · 4h

I'd be interested in seeing MG or YA that explores step-families in an interesting, nuanced way. I have step-parents, step-siblings, a former step-parent, former step-siblings, a new "step-mom" i.e. dad's third wife. It's rich. #MSWL

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · 6h

I've been toying with adding more witches for both MG and YA, but not standard New England/Salem brand stuff and not cutesy like we see in MG a lot. It has to offer something fresh to the trope. #MSWL

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · 6h

On the whole, I'm looking for page-turning, escapist, transporting MG and YA fiction. Light on trauma. Big on feelings—humor, romance, friendship, family connections. #MSWL

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · 7h

*YA contemp. in the vein of I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN or EMERGENCY CONTACT
*literary suspense
*sister stories, a boarding school novel, anything with folklore/mythology/retellings
#MSWL

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · 7h

Time for a 2020 #MSWL refresh!

Would love to see:

*more, generally by Korean authors in both YA & adult
*strong literary/upmarket fiction from a diverse POV (think Celeste Ng, Jean Kwok, Kamila Shamsie, etc.)
*YA thriller in the vein of SADIE

Kim Lionetti @BookEndsKim · 7h

Inbox status: I've responded to all queries sent before today and all submissions sent before December 1st. I'm HUNGRY people! Especially for #ownvoices, romcoms (YA and adult), and women's fiction. #amagenting #mswl

Shari Maurer @sharimaurer · 1d

Good morning! I added a few more genres to my #MSWL through the StringerLit query form. Would love some humor/satire/offbeat/quirky (we need that in the world!) and I added thrillers, upmarket. Send me your funny PB and more MG/YA. stringerlit.com

Kate Sederstrom @sederstka · 1d

Give me a YA or MG with themes of leadership -- how a kid makes decisions for others when they're in a position of authority, no matter the scale #MSWL

Tara is open to queries. 🔮✨ @Literary_Tara · 6d

Oooo and I want books that make me laugh so hard I cry. Especially MG books and romance books.

Give me quiet books too that make you smile at the end (or cry). Especially in YA and Adult spaces. #mswl

Tara is open to queries. 🔮✨ @Literary_Tara · 6d

Hi #amquerying, I have an urgent #mswl that needs to be addressed...
😉
I am seriously lacking anything and everything in the contemporary fiction space. Romance, Realistic (nonissue books), WF, RomCom, high concept book! I need them in MG, YA, and Adult categories.

Erin Clyburn @erin_clyburn · 6d

I am still thinking about how THE PERFECTION & BLACK SWAN so creepily captured what it's like to take a passion too seriously. (I was a ballet dancer for 18 years, & BLACK SWAN was shockingly familiar.) I'd love a YA/adult horror novel about a dark obsession with the arts. #MSWL

Kelsy @kelsythompson · Jan 16

Kelsy @kelsythompson

Hey #WritingCommunity, if I missed your #iswgpit and you think your project might be a good fit, or if you're simply in the #amquerying trenches: here are some things on my #MSWL (a thread)

- unique character-driven #YA contemporary with a voice that grabs you and won't let go
- #ownvoices and underrepresented narratives (I'm still looking for that #ya refugee/immigration story!)
- feminist, #LGBTQ , and sex-positive narratives
- shorter (~50k) contemporary #mg