Jennifer Chen Tran

Literary Agent

Folio Literary Management

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

I will try to update my #MSWL from time to time (read probably every six months or so) but pls feel free to #query me if you think it's a good fit. Thank you so much for thinking of me and good luck! 💖

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

#MSWL: My adult #fiction list will be smaller but think upmarket #BookClub fiction or domestic suspense--something that will keep me up at night. Really enjoyed Angie Kim's Miracle Creek. Has to feel #contemporary, braiding together issues of social import & identity.

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

#MSWL: #ChildrensBooks send me yr #GraphicNovel projects, from high-concept to literary, or middle grade with visual elements. Something with heart & humor. See Remy Lai's Pie in the Sky as a good comp. Also enjoyed Witches of Brooklyn & Pilau of the Woods as GN comps.

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

#MSWL: For #ChildrensBooks I'm only looking for Middle Grade and Young Adult right now. In the NF children's space I want STEAM-focused titles, anything whimsical and transportive, but has to be light on fantasy/ grounded fantasy (no #scifi for me).

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

#MSWL: #Lifestyle titles (see Kate Oliver’s The Modern Caravan), humorous or visually-driven projects, (see @NatalyaLobanova's Everyone is Awful), and #business books that read like memoir (Tony Hsieh's Delivering Happiness is one of my all-time faves).

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

#MSWL: Always on the hunt for prescriptive non-fiction with practical takeaways, #cookbooks with a unique angle or narratives centered on #culinary or #foodie life. Currently loving Mooncakes & Milk Bread by Kristina Cho. Want more southern, Asian-forward, indigenous cookbooks!

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips
Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

Finally posting my #MSWL 1 week after joining @FolioLiterary & @FolioJr! Please RT to yr #writer friends who are actively #querying! My list will be primarily non-fiction focused, both in the adult and children's space. You can always check out my bio on the Folio webpage too.

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

So excited to announce that I’ve joined the super-talented team @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr, working with talented colleagues Steve Troha & Emily van Beek, among many others! A dream come true, but nearly a decade in the making. Will post my updated #MSWL this week. #publishing

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

A lot of ppl don’t know this about me but I’m a huge #foodie. My dad made doughnuts when my brother and I were growing up, my uncle had an ice cream shop, and my aunt runs an amazing Chinese restaurant on Long Island. Send me all your foodie stories! #mswl #amagenting

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

Love the Google Doodle today about Anna May Wong. I’d love to see more #MG books about #poc in the entertainment industry. Holla at me! #mswl

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

Because I have insomnia again, and why not, I’m looking for contemporary YA where the MC is an environmental activist. Specific, I know. Tag your friends. #MSWL

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

And let's not forget Marbles which I also enjoyed immensely. Send your graphic medical projects my way! #mswl

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

I am looking for graphic memoirs that touch on medicine and healing. I loved Pedro and Me so much, and Mom's Cancer. In that vein. #mswl

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

Still looking for a dark family drama like Bloodlines. Bonus points if your MC resembles Kyle Chandler or Ben Mendelsohn. #mswl

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

This is Us killed me. So good. I watched the whole series this weekend. Not too saccharine for me. I ❤️ sibling relationship stories. #mswl

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

I'm still on the hunt for memoir but you have to have a substantial platform, stellar writing, and a helluva arc. #mswl

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

Calling artists/ illustrators! Send me poignant graphic novels/ graphic memoirs. In the vein of American Widow or This One Summer. #mswl

Jennifer Chen Tran
@jenchentran
Literary Agent
Literary Agent @FolioLiterary and @FolioJr . Former art major, publishing attorney, cheese lover, aspiring humorist. @AuthorsGuild member.
19 MSWL
38 AskAgent
38 Tips

Send me YA that has a social media aspect to it, but with high stakes, snappy authentic dialogue, and of course, diverse characters. #mswl