Eric, Book Publisher
@eric5310pub
Editor
Publisher at @5310publishing spreading happiness every day through books. I'm changing the world, one fiction book at a time! ☺️ Tag me if you have book recs!
14 MSWL
8 Tips

We are accepting manuscript submissions!! 🔥 We publish adult, young adult (16+), and new adult fiction. 😍 This is what we are currently looking for: (thread) #MSWL

Any subgenre can apply, but those are the subgenres/themes we really want to publish in 2022/2023. (Thread 1/7)

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

That's it for now!

For YA submissions, send a query letter + first 3 chapters to Flux at: submissions@northstareditions.com

For MG submissions, send a query letter + first 3 chapters to Jolly Fish Press at: submit@jollyfishpress.com

Can't wait to read your stories! #mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

-Immersive YA high fantasy and sci-fi with well-defined rules (be it unique magic systems or technology)

-YA inspired by or reimagining folklore or mythology

-Humorous, voice-y MG, as well as MG that recognizes the harder truths of the world while being ultimately hopeful
#mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

-YA stories featuring LGBTQIA+ and neurodiverse main characters, as well as feminist, post-colonial, intersectional, and environmentally conscious themes.
Diverse ensemble casts welcome.
I also love my found families and strong friendships.
#mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

-Similarly, YA stories with a point. I’m always asking myself, “What is this story trying to say?”

BONUS if that “point” is wrapped up in thrilling plot, sparkling dialogue, an emotional arc, and to-die-for characters.

#mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

More specifically, I’m seeking:

-Engaging, escapist YA that also offers social commentary. Bonus for genre-blending. Do you have a sci-fi thriller that interrogates what it means to be human? A horror fantasy that comments on the immigrant experience? Send it my way!

#mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

Generally, I’m looking for YA contemporary, thriller, mystery, horror, historical fiction, high fantasy, and sci-fi stories.

In MG, I’m looking for contemporary, action/adventure, mystery, fantasy, and sci-fi stories. #mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

Heads up, writers and agents: @JollyFishPress and @fluxbooks are now OPEN TO SUBMISSIONS!!!

I'm so excited to dive in to your submissions and find my next favorite YA and MG! Here’s what’s on my #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

And finally, there's definitely crossover in the subject matter that interests me in graphic novels vs. novels! If you have an MG or YA novel that fits my GN wishlist, have your agent send it! If you have a GN for any age that fits my novel wishlist, same! #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

NOVEL GUIDELINES: I am open only to MG and YA novels. Sadly not open to nonfiction, picture book, chapter book, or adult novel submissions (though, send me all your YA readalikes to One Last Stop, Gideon the Ninth, and A Darker Shade of Magic!) #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Upmarket contemporary YA romance with substance, centering characters of traditionally marginalized identities
▫️Think: Furia, Felix Ever After, The Music of What Happens #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Fantasy set in non-European-inspired settings
▫️Think: Raybearer, Aru Shah and the End of Time
🌟Epic YA romance embedded within a larger story
▫️Think: King of Scars/Rule of Wolves, Raybearer #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟High-stakes competition w/ a radical, subversive bent & meaningful consequences for the characters
▫️Think: the Squid Game of YA (but note that sobs don't have to be violenct, & I am definitely not looking for violence that’s used for shock value or voyeuristic pleasure) #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟YA thrillers, psychological horror, supernatural, & speculative fiction that radically represents & explores queer, female, and BIPOC rage & revenge
▫️ Think: Iron Widow, Sadie, Nimona, or, for a film example, Jennifer’s Body #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

Here's what I'm looking for in NOVELS:
🌟High-concept YA fantasy and speculative fiction, especially that which uses the conventions of its genre to critique, subvert, or illuminate a truth about our world
▫️Think: Raybearer, Graceling, Dread Nation, The Witch King #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

GRAPHIC NOVEL GUIDELINES: I'm open to GNs for ages 5+ (inc. adult!). Sadly it's hard for me to consider scripts w/o artists attached at this time. Art should be energetic, expressive, inventive, accessible, & commercial—full-color for MG & younger, at least 2-color for YA #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

That's the stuff that never changes! And here are the specifics about what I'm particularly looking for right now.

IN GRAPHIC NOVELS
🌟Young adult contemp romance w/ substance, especially centering characters w/ marginalized identities
▫️Think: Heartstopper, Pumpkinheads #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

New year, new #MSWL! And my big 2022 news is that, in addition to being @DisneyBooks's resident graphic novel expert (send me all your future comics bestsellers!), I am opening to YA and MG novel submissions for the first time in ~5 years.

Here's what I'm looking for (thread)

Alex Arnold
@alexyarnold
Editor
Senior Editor of YA, MG, & picture books @quirkbooks
46 MSWL

I'm not your ideal editor for high fantasy worlds, but I do love grounded fantasy, magical realism, retellings, time travel, and speculative twists in both MG & YA

Alex Arnold
@alexyarnold
Editor
Senior Editor of YA, MG, & picture books @quirkbooks
46 MSWL

Voicey YA romcoms, especially if they’re queer, and especially if they’re made more high-concept with a unique structure or unexpected twist