Becca Podos
@RebeccaPodos
Literary Agent
Reps YA/Romance/SFF at Rees Literary Agency. Author, occasionally. FOOLS IN LOVE out *now* and FROM DUST, A FLAME out 2/22/22. Rep @ericsmithrocks She/they
107 MSWL

Otherwise in YA, I'm looking for:

—Contemp fiction with a fresh POV, gorgeous prose, and a strong hook

—Fantasy featuring diverse characters, mythologies, and beasties, from Baba Yaga to the Bái Zé; any creature that lives outside the mainstream and in the shadows

Naomi Davis, Literary Agent (they/them/she/her)
@NaomisLitPix
Literary Agent
Eternally optimistic Literary Agent at @Bookendslit Nonbinary/GenderQueer 🏳️‍🌈 ND; I laugh & love relentlessly. Repped by the phenomenal @4triciaskinner
203 MSWL
214 AskAgent
177 Tips

Kritika H. Rao (she/her) @KritikaHRao

Woke up and realized I didn't because it's not that kind of epic fantasy, no swords here, and felt a lot better until it hit me this is debut year and panicked for other reasons 🙃

I love VERY DIFFERENT fantasy. The more genre-bending the better. Kritika's books blend epic fantasy (no swords!) with a touch of sci fi, STRONG sense of place, & strong contemporary relevance. If you're wondering what I mean by "very different fantasy" on #MSWL - add this TBR!

MJ Johnston
@FictionalMJ
Editor
Editor at Sourcebooks. Adult Fiction. Can be frequently heard saying "yes, I read books for a living" and "yes, I know guac is extra.” (she/her)
17 MSWL

Need an upbeat novel or contemporary mystery with the specific vibe of the Catskills episodes of Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, adult simon says and Susie traipsing around with a plunger included #mswl

Michelle Richter📚
@Michrichter1
Literary Agent
@FuseLiterary Senior Agent. Murder=my fave. @PacePublishing alum. @SINCNational member. She/her. Query Manager link: QueryMe.Online/MichelleRichter
51 MSWL
9 AskAgent
1575 Queries
72 Tips

Swoony friends/rivals to lovers contemp. romance brings me joy. Think Emily Henry, Farah Heron, Beth O'Leary, Denise Williams. #MSWL

Juliana McBride
@juliananotabot
Literary Agent
Believer in transcendent stories, magic, and finder of husband’s lost keys.
1 MSWL
Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
56 MSWL
25 AskAgent

My white whale (I have been asking for years!) is an atmospheric traditional contemporary mystery in the vein of Louise Penny and Suzanne Chazin. Bonus points if the author and characters are both marginalized! #MSWL

Eric, Book Publisher
@eric5310pub
Editor
Publisher at @5310publishing spreading happiness every day through books. I'm changing the world, one fiction book at a time! ☺️ Tag me if you have book recs!
14 MSWL
8 Tips

(🧵4/7) ❤️ #Romance: Any can apply, but here are the subgenres/themes we want the most:
-Historical romance, contemporary, and romantic suspense novels.
-We also accept romantic comedies, LGBTQ+, young adult/new adult romance, etc.
If you don't see your genre, please apply. #MSWL

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

Generally, I’m looking for YA contemporary, thriller, mystery, horror, historical fiction, high fantasy, and sci-fi stories.

In MG, I’m looking for contemporary, action/adventure, mystery, fantasy, and sci-fi stories. #mswl

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Upmarket contemporary YA romance with substance, centering characters of traditionally marginalized identities
▫️Think: Furia, Felix Ever After, The Music of What Happens #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Contemporary middle grade stories that take a “light and bright” approach to social change, solidarity, and self-discovery
▫️Think: Front Desk, From the Desk of Zoe Washington, George #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

That's the stuff that never changes! And here are the specifics about what I'm particularly looking for right now.

IN GRAPHIC NOVELS
🌟Young adult contemp romance w/ substance, especially centering characters w/ marginalized identities
▫️Think: Heartstopper, Pumpkinheads #MSWL

Amber Oliver
@Amber_Oliver007
Editor
Editor @tinyrepbooks @duttonbooks . Bronx bred. Weirdo. Writer. Rep: Rachel Kim @3artsent . Thoughts=my own. IG: bamtastic07
23 MSWL

Kinda vague, but I always want smart, original, voicey, atmospheric fiction about art, music, fashion, dance, that brings in contemporary issues

Amber Oliver
@Amber_Oliver007
Editor
Editor @tinyrepbooks @duttonbooks . Bronx bred. Weirdo. Writer. Rep: Rachel Kim @3artsent . Thoughts=my own. IG: bamtastic07
23 MSWL

Speaking of wishlists, I am also looking for more family stories, sibling stories, stories about inheritance and legacies (but it has to have a contemporary component)

Kim
@kim_lindman
Literary Agent
associate literary agent + social media @StonesongNYC this account's for lurkin' and workin' opinions mine ⛏
48 MSWL
6 Tips

novels with contemporary settings need to contain at least one of the following elements: mystery, suspense, thriller, horror, or any kind of speculative something

Saint (S.T.) Gibson IS OPEN TO QUERIES
@s_t_gibson
Literary Agent
Author of A DOWRY OF BLOOD + agent at Speilburg Literary, Goodreads Choice Award Finalist, she/her. Rep: @Literary_Tara .✨ 💌 saint.substack.com
22 MSWL

IN FANTASY

✨ Atmospheric, character-driven contemporary fantasy like THE RAVEN CYCLE
✨ High fantasy with intricate religious, magical, and sexual worldbuilding like KUSHIEL'S DART
✨ Fantasy romance in the vein of Grace Draven and Naomi Novik
✨ Gothics of all subgenres

Saint (S.T.) Gibson IS OPEN TO QUERIES
@s_t_gibson
Literary Agent
Author of A DOWRY OF BLOOD + agent at Speilburg Literary, Goodreads Choice Award Finalist, she/her. Rep: @Literary_Tara .✨ 💌 saint.substack.com
22 MSWL

IN ROMANCE

❤️‍🔥Queer and polyamorous love stories of all kinds
❤️‍🔥Inclusive historicals that feel like KJ Charles or Cat Sebastian
❤️‍🔥Witty contemporary romances in the vein of Talia Hibbert
❤️‍🔥Moody erotic romances a la Sierra Simone or Tiffany Reisz

Page Turner Literary Agency
@PageTurnerLit
Literary Agent
Page Turner Literary reps authors & illustrators who work in children’s literature. A book can inspire a child. A child can inspire the world. 🏳️‍🌈 (he/him)
4 MSWL

#GN horror, contemporary, HF, retelling, mythology
#CB/early readers anything goes for fiction. For NF STEM, Bios of little know historical figures

I love books that show all the brilliant colors of my community 🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍⚧️ and underrepresented voices

(2/2)

#queries #MSWL

Page Turner Literary Agency
@PageTurnerLit
Literary Agent
Page Turner Literary reps authors & illustrators who work in children’s literature. A book can inspire a child. A child can inspire the world. 🏳️‍🌈 (he/him)
4 MSWL

I open to #queries on Jan 17-Feb 17. Here's my #MSWL
#PB anything goes for fiction. For NF STEM
#MG for fiction horror, contemporary, adventure, HF. For NF field/nature guides
#YA horror, contemporary, retellings, HF, romance. For NF cookbooks, STEM, Inspirational
(1/2)

Abby Saul
@BookySaul
Literary Agent
agent at The Lark Group (@LarkWords), reader of books, hiker of trails | she/her
66 MSWL
8 Queries
70 Tips

I'm so excited to open back up to queries next week (1/18!)! My online #mswl continues to be a great place to find out what I like, and I'm definitely looking for thrillers that make me go 😱, historicals that make me go😭🥰, and contemporary fiction that makes me go 🧐😍

Carolina Ortiz
@pushthepanorama
Editor
🇨🇱❤️💜💙 Editor @ Harper Children's | @PocPub Co-Director | @LatinxinPub Mentorship Co-Director | Lover of bookstores y tequila| She/Her| Avi @emcormar
39 MSWL
5 AskAgent

Contemporary💫 Give me your stories that focus on being 1st/2nd gen stories, multigeneration BIPOC family, returning to the homeland, and/or international settings with local protags