Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · Jan 23

Fantasy is a tough one right now for me. I think I'm more game for fantastical elements in MG/YA rather than "capital F Fantasy." Weave something speculative into something ordinary. Riff. Innovate. Iterate. #MSWL

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · Jan 23

I'd be interested in seeing MG or YA that explores step-families in an interesting, nuanced way. I have step-parents, step-siblings, a former step-parent, former step-siblings, a new "step-mom" i.e. dad's third wife. It's rich. #MSWL

Elaine Spencer @ElaineSpencer · Jan 23

When you stumble across an ad for @norsemeat upcoming releases from @familiustalk in the latest @publisherswkly! Having a baby? This one is for you! And now I’m off to find more charming gift nonfiction to add to my list #mswl ift.tt/2NUl7n7

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · Jan 23

I really have more room for PBs, MGs and perhaps some graphic novels on my list. I'm generally hungry for more illustrated work. Author/illustrators only for the PBs. I like a whimsical, quirky book. Not too over-the-top. Has to have an emotional core. #MSWL

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · Jan 23

I've been toying with adding more witches for both MG and YA, but not standard New England/Salem brand stuff and not cutesy like we see in MG a lot. It has to offer something fresh to the trope. #MSWL

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · Jan 23

All things being equal, I'm *not* looking for murdery/thriller YA books right now. I have two incredible clients writing in that category, and my list is small. #MSWL

Elana Roth Parker @ElanaRoth · Jan 23

On the whole, I'm looking for page-turning, escapist, transporting MG and YA fiction. Light on trauma. Big on feelings—humor, romance, friendship, family connections. #MSWL

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · Jan 23

Basically: teach me something I don't know. Give me a point of view I haven't pondered before. Give me chills. Make me cry. (How's that for uplifting to start the year?) #MSWL

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · Jan 23

For nonfiction:
*cultural criticism a la Jia Tolentino (strong platform a must)
*historical nonfiction like SAY NOTHING or MIDNIGHT IN CHERNOBYL
*pop science/psychology
#MSWL

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · Jan 23

*YA contemp. in the vein of I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN or EMERGENCY CONTACT
*literary suspense
*sister stories, a boarding school novel, anything with folklore/mythology/retellings
#MSWL

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · Jan 23

Time for a 2020 #MSWL refresh!

Would love to see:

*more, generally by Korean authors in both YA & adult
*strong literary/upmarket fiction from a diverse POV (think Celeste Ng, Jean Kwok, Kamila Shamsie, etc.)
*YA thriller in the vein of SADIE

Kim Lionetti @BookEndsKim · Jan 23

Inbox status: I've responded to all queries sent before today and all submissions sent before December 1st. I'm HUNGRY people! Especially for #ownvoices, romcoms (YA and adult), and women's fiction. #amagenting #mswl

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Jan 23

“For me, literary fiction lives and dies in its characters and writing, send me your complex, diverse characters grappling with what it means to be human something in the vein of Tom Rachman’s THE IMPERFECTIONISTS.” @maureen_moretti #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/