Adult

Melanie Castillo @wellmelsbells · 24 Sep 2019

Just putting this out there: Beautifully-written, well-researched, and expansive adult fiction that straddles the line between commercial and literary. A recent example is Madeline Miller’s CIRCE, but Barbara Kingsolver’s THE POISONWOOD BIBLE is a tried-and-true favorite. #MSWL

alli hellegers @allidhellegers · 24 Sep 2019

#MSWL I'm looking for strong YA/adult crossover titles with voice, sense of place, and a unique POV. Keep momentum going. Also, please something with a unique format or story structure that will be appeal to reluctant readers.

Bridget Smith @bredalot · 24 Sep 2019

In adult, I am particularly looking for SFF! I'm currently excited about fun voicey space books, epic fantasy set in original and well-defined worlds, and fantasy that turns a familiar trope on its head. #mswl

Eva Scalzo 🇵🇷 @evascalzo · 24 Sep 2019

I know summer is over (sob!) but I'm still looking for that summer vacation love story. It could take place at the beach or lake or in an exotic city, but I want something where there are real stakes involved with what happens when summer ends. (YA/Adult)

#MSWL

Eva Scalzo 🇵🇷 @evascalzo · 24 Sep 2019

I'd also love to see some #Caribbean/#Latinx post-Hurricane Irma/Maria stories, stories that tackle the issues head-on but in a hopeful way, with a romance or personal growth for the main characters. Also YA or Adult.

#MSWL

Eva Scalzo 🇵🇷 @evascalzo · 24 Sep 2019

Ok, now the good stuff:

Give me all the #Latinx stories. But a specific one I'd really like to see is one set in PR during the governor protests in OSJ, I'm thinking enemies-to-lovers. Could be YA or Adult.

#MSWL

Melanie Castillo @wellmelsbells · 24 Sep 2019

Also on the adult side! I'd love to see upmarket fiction with elements of mystery/suspense in the vein of Celeste Ng’s EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU and Angie Kim’s MIRACLE CREEK. #MSWL

Bridget Smith @bredalot · 24 Sep 2019

Jumping into #mswl late! In general, I am open to a wide range of MG, YA, and adult fiction, and I'm currently taking queries! More info about my general interests here, and if you're not sure, always feel free to query: awfulagent.com/agents/bridget…

Lydia Dawn Sharp @lydia_sharp · 24 Sep 2019

for ANYTHING adult romance, please submit to my attention here:
entangledpublishing.submittable.com/submit/19016/a…
thank you--can't wait to read your book! ❤️
#MSWL

Jess Dallow @jldallow · 24 Sep 2019

Replying to @jldallow

#YA/#Adult: Male and female friendship that is strictly platonic. I love LGBTQ characters, but I'd like them to be straight to show that men & women can just be friends. Ex: Alex and Meredith (Grey’s), Delilah and Gary (A Million Little Things), Olivia and Nick (SVU) #MSWL

Jess Dallow @jldallow · 24 Sep 2019

Replying to @jldallow

#adult Going back to the Quinceanera post that I retweeted earlier, I'd also love to see this done with a bat mitzvah. Having a bat mitzvah at 12/13 is very different than having one at 30. But, I just want my fun Jewish stories. #hotmitzvah #MSWL

Patrice Caldwell @whimsicallyours · 24 Sep 2019

Kiki Nguyen @kianangu

For the love of God, I NEED YA thrillers, mysteries and Adult Domestic Suspense outside of the suburbs. I don’t GIVE A FUCK about this setting anymore. OVER IT!!

Whereas I love the suburbs (& small towns) so send to me. Maybe cause I grew up in the south in suburbs + country, but SO MUCH goes down in the suburbs and small towns.

Yes, I'm trash for stuff like Big Little Lies.

YA + Adult #mswl

Jess Dallow @jldallow · 24 Sep 2019

Replying to @jldallow

#Adult: SERIAL KILLERS. I mention this one a lot. I'd love to see a female serial killer, but I'm not picky. Cat and mouse games. The psychology of a killer. The seemingly normal life that they lead. #MSWL

Kristin Temple 🎈 @_kristintemple · 24 Sep 2019

Stabby girls and sunshine boys. I don't care what genre. I don't care if it's adult or YA. Just more of that dynamic pls thank you #MSWL

Lydia Dawn Sharp @lydia_sharp · 24 Sep 2019

back with a few more #mswl tweets - this time for adult fiction and romance - a thread!
reminder - I'm an EDITOR not an agent - I edit for Entangled Publishing and we do ~mostly~ romance novels with only one imprint as an exception - PLEASE READ THE SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

Kaitlyn Johnson @RedPenKaitlyn · 24 Sep 2019

Oo! And what about a YA (Or adult, really) where it's f/f and they're forced to work on a painting together to win scholarship money or startup money. But they hate each other and then end up having a paint fight 😍 enemies to lovers! #MSWL

Jessica Sinsheimer @jsinsheim · 24 Sep 2019

I love novels (MG, YA, adult any genre) that are mostly in our world but have a single magical component that changes everything. #MSWL