Carolina Ortiz
@pushthepanorama
Editor
🇨🇱❤️💜💙 Editor @ Harper Children's | @PocPub Co-Director | @LatinxinPub Mentorship Co-Director | Lover of bookstores y tequila| She/Her| Avi @emcormar
39 MSWL
5 AskAgent
Caitlin White
@caitforestell
Literary Agent
editor | associate agent @emeraldcitylit | formerly news @hellogiggles , books @bustle | BOS to YOW | big fan of shark movies and em dashes (she/her) 🫀
32 MSWL

I am open to #MG but fair warning, I am quite picky in this category. Voice for MG is very difficult (congrats to those who are great at it! *ahem* @vickithewriter) and it's almost always the reason I pass. #MSWL #amquerying

Caitlin White
@caitforestell
Literary Agent
editor | associate agent @emeraldcitylit | formerly news @hellogiggles , books @bustle | BOS to YOW | big fan of shark movies and em dashes (she/her) 🫀
32 MSWL

Caitlin White @caitforestell

To writers who submitted before I closed last time: I still have a handful of outstanding full manuscripts that I am reading, and I will be getting back to everyone soon! Thank you for your patience and understanding through a busy fall and holiday season.

And to help #amquerying writers, here's some of my #mswl in a thread.

ALWAYS looking to partner with and support writers of color, writers who live with disabilities (me too!), neurodiverse writers, and otherwise underserved and underrepresented authors in #YA and #MG.

Caitlin White
@caitforestell
Literary Agent
editor | associate agent @emeraldcitylit | formerly news @hellogiggles , books @bustle | BOS to YOW | big fan of shark movies and em dashes (she/her) 🫀
32 MSWL

Hello #amquerying and #amwriting writers! I am open to queries again starting right now! I only accept #YA and #MG fiction at this time. You can submit to me here with your query letter and first 10 pages: QueryManager.com/caitlinwhite

If you need any help, please DM me!
A thread!

Maggie Sadler
@msadler_writing
Literary Agent
storyteller | editor | literary agent apprentice | wilderness urchin | otherwise charming
4 MSWL

I also have a secret soft spot for any MG equestrian-oriented adventure filled to the brim with nostalgia, beautiful settings, and diverse characters! 🦄

Maggie Sadler
@msadler_writing
Literary Agent
storyteller | editor | literary agent apprentice | wilderness urchin | otherwise charming
4 MSWL

In MG I'm hoping to find:
🌱Adventures of self-discovery
🌱Complex themes like cultural identity, family struggles, gender issues, or climate change
🌱Focused world-building
🌱Unconventional settings
🌱Endearing and introverted protagonists
🌱Subtle, graceful writing
#MSWL

Sarah Nicolas aka Sarah N Fisk
@Sarah_Nicolas
Literary Agent
Agent at @TheTobiasAgency as Sarah N. Fisk. YA Author as Sarah Nicolas. @qqqpodcast host, event planner, writer @bookriot , founding member @disabilityinpub .
16 MSWL
41 AskAgent

An interviewer asked me if a writer were to write something directly for me, what would it be. The first thing that came to mind was a MG or YA queer cozy paranormal mystery. #mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

That's it for now!

For YA submissions, send a query letter + first 3 chapters to Flux at: submissions@northstareditions.com

For MG submissions, send a query letter + first 3 chapters to Jolly Fish Press at: submit@jollyfishpress.com

Can't wait to read your stories! #mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

-Immersive YA high fantasy and sci-fi with well-defined rules (be it unique magic systems or technology)

-YA inspired by or reimagining folklore or mythology

-Humorous, voice-y MG, as well as MG that recognizes the harder truths of the world while being ultimately hopeful
#mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

Generally, I’m looking for YA contemporary, thriller, mystery, horror, historical fiction, high fantasy, and sci-fi stories.

In MG, I’m looking for contemporary, action/adventure, mystery, fantasy, and sci-fi stories. #mswl

Meg Gaertner
@MEGaertner
Editor
Senior acquiring editor @fluxbooks and @jollyfishpress . Fantasy/sci-fi writer. Swing dancer. Music lover. Philosophizer. Cats. Tweets are my own. she/her
14 MSWL

Heads up, writers and agents: @JollyFishPress and @fluxbooks are now OPEN TO SUBMISSIONS!!!

I'm so excited to dive in to your submissions and find my next favorite YA and MG! Here’s what’s on my #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

And finally, there's definitely crossover in the subject matter that interests me in graphic novels vs. novels! If you have an MG or YA novel that fits my GN wishlist, have your agent send it! If you have a GN for any age that fits my novel wishlist, same! #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

NOVEL GUIDELINES: I am open only to MG and YA novels. Sadly not open to nonfiction, picture book, chapter book, or adult novel submissions (though, send me all your YA readalikes to One Last Stop, Gideon the Ninth, and A Darker Shade of Magic!) #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Middle grade stories about (non-speaking) animals, human-animal bonds, nature, & high-stakes survival
▫️Think: A Wolf Called Wander, today’s My Side of the Mountain #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Contemporary middle grade stories that take a “light and bright” approach to social change, solidarity, and self-discovery
▫️Think: Front Desk, From the Desk of Zoe Washington, George #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

GRAPHIC NOVEL GUIDELINES: I'm open to GNs for ages 5+ (inc. adult!). Sadly it's hard for me to consider scripts w/o artists attached at this time. Art should be energetic, expressive, inventive, accessible, & commercial—full-color for MG & younger, at least 2-color for YA #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Campy, fun, & funny stories for middle graders & teens that fully commit to the bit while maintaining a strong heart at their core
▫️Think: Lumberjanes, Cucumber Quest
🌟Early reader GNs w/ unforgettable characters, particularly human protagonists, & a strong sales hook #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Grounded MG fantasy w real-world settings
▫️Think: the Stranger Things of graphic novels (but not necessarily horror!)
🌟Stories with creative, fresh ties to holidays/seasonal moments, esp cultural holidays & those outside of Xmas, V Day, & Halloween
▫️Think: Pumpkinheads #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

(GNs) 🌟Middle grade humor with a big heart—I’d particularly like to explore careers outside of policing that nonetheless lend themselves to multiple adventures over the course of a series
▫️Think: Dog Man, InvestiGators #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor at @DisneyBooks ; formerly @01FirstSecond & more ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ she/her
114 MSWL
6 Tips

New year, new #MSWL! And my big 2022 news is that, in addition to being @DisneyBooks's resident graphic novel expert (send me all your future comics bestsellers!), I am opening to YA and MG novel submissions for the first time in ~5 years.

Here's what I'm looking for (thread)