MG

Ashley Wyrick @ashley_wyrick · Jan 5

On the hunt again with another #mswl tweet. YA or MG with an unreliable MC.

Ann Leslie Tuttle @AnnLeslieTuttle · Jan 5

#MSWL. Also love Middle Grade stories addressing need for kindness, showing characters overcoming physical and mental obstacles and showing inclusion. Love messages against bullying, being courageous and taking risks.
Welcome stories set in school, magic worlds and at home.

Ann Leslie Tuttle @AnnLeslieTuttle · Jan 5

#MSWL. Just finished Louisiana’s Way Home, and it typifies some of what I’m seeking in Middle Grade. I love the voice, Southern setting, eccentric characters, secrets & a fearless girl finding her way.

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

9/ #MSWL: Middle-grade and YA graphic novels about identity, particularly coming-of-age stories that explore relationships and friendships with emotional depth. Books like This One Summer, Real Friends, and American Born Chinese.

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

8/ #MSWL: High-stakes MG and YA contemp that feature breakers of tradition and characters who forge their own paths, as well as novels about identity and overcoming adversity. Wonderful books like I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, Dear Martin, and The Stars Beneath Our Feet

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

6/ #MSWL: I'm ALWAYS on the hunt for affecting, beautifully-written middle grade contemporary in the vein of Kate DiCamillo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Katherine Applegate. Stories that feel like coming of age experiences (I refuse to let YA monopolize this term!).

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

4/ #MSWL: I would love to find more MG fantasy that combines commercial, high concept plotting with gorgeous prose. Books packed with action, adventure, heart, & friendship that tow the line between literary and commercial. Wildly original worldbuilding, always!

Michael Bourret @MichaelBourret · Jan 3

Time for a 2019 #MSWL. I am very much looking for MG and chapter books. Much as I love YA, I have a lot of it!

Lydia Silver @LydiaRSilver · Jan 3

Opening up our @DA_Childrens submissions for 2019! If you're working on an #ownvoices #MG adventure with an unusual mythology, a diverse #YA that's as funny as Louise Rennison, some ground-breaking children's #nonfiction #PB or ANYTHING ELSE #kidlit send it my way #MSWL

Kelsy @kelsythompson · Jan 2

One of my #NewYearsResolution2019 is to acquire an engaging contemporary #middlegrade novel, especially one featuring diverse or LGBTQIA+ characters, #girlsinstem, or an #ownvoices narrative. Anyone wanna help me make this happen? #MSWL

Jim McCarthy @JimMcCarthy528 · Jan 2

And that’s just a few ideas off the top of my head. I’m always looking for MG, YA, and adult, and I’d love to find something that knocks me out! Happy new year! #MSWL

Peter Knapp @petejknapp · Jan 2

whoops, thread broken! # 10: Big middle grade series, such as ARU SHAH AND THE END OF TIME, THE CANDYMAKERS, MYSTERIOUS BENEDICT SOCIETY, etc! #mswl

Peter Knapp @petejknapp · Jan 2

#mswl 2019: I'm often looking for the thing I didn't realize I wanted, so please, if you have a new MG or YA you're querying, try me! I'd love the opportunity to consider your work. I aim to reply to all queries within 10 weeks of receiving them. (12/13)

Peter Knapp @petejknapp · Jan 2

#mswl 2019: anything with a "cool" factor. I love big, cinematic stories or stories that have huge emotional range: books with high emotional intensity and those sentences that slam into the reader and take their breath away. (11/13)

Peter Knapp @petejknapp · Jan 2

#mswl 2019: Smart middle grade mysteries like THE LONDON EYE MYSTERY or WHEN YOU REACH ME, or with a ghostly bent like Karen Strong's upcoming JUST SOUTH OF HOME. (9/13)