Speculative Fiction

Eric Smith @ericsmithrocks · May 5

Eric Smith @ericsmithrocks

Honestly one of the best novels I’ve ever read. Pick up @pengshepherd’s book! twitter.com/pengshepherd/s…

I talk a lot about how my favorite kind of literary fiction blends genres, pulling the speculative or a bit of magic into it.

And this one is a perfect, stunning example of that.

More books like @pengshepherd’s in my query box, please. #MSWL

Peter Knapp @petejknapp · Apr 21

I’d also LOVE a cool, cinematic spec novel or contained sci-fi. Something catchy, like “TITANIC but in a newly opened underwater resort” or FAST & FURIOUS meets I don’t know what... Basically, I love when the concept has a *wow* factor. #mswl

Hali Baumstein @halibaumstein · Apr 12

I'd also love to find mind-bendy, genre twisting stories that feel in the vein of my recent Netflix obsessions Black Mirror, Russian Doll, The OA, and Dark. That obviously includes a huge range, but they're all contemporary-rooted stories with speculative elements woven in. #MSWL

Susan Hawk @susanhawk · Apr 4

Contemporary MG novels with a speculative element, or touch of magic – very much up my alley. #MSWL

Marisa DiNovis @dinovisms · Mar 18

Genre-bending, standalone YA spec fic that puts me in the mind of Jane, Unlimited—a book I read over a year ago and still think about on a weekly basis. Bonus points for a sweeping yet claustrophobic setting like Tu Reviens! #mswl

Andrea Somberg @andreasomberg · Feb 12

I would love to see some smart horror or speculative fiction that veers toward the literary #MSWL

Steven Salpeter @StiSal · Feb 8

(And for the search engines: that’s, yes; please send me adult or YA second-world fantasy with Jewish elements, or YA Jewish magical realism, Jewish Speculative fiction, literary Jewish fantasy novels, et cetera #mswl)

ellen @ellencormier · Feb 7

Autostraddle @autostraddle

Natasha Lyonne’s #RussianDoll is the darkest, funniest, most comforting show of 2019 so far. bit.ly/2RMqNi7 pic.twitter.com/w7z05HLpC3

YES! THIS! Also, I really want to work on some speculative fiction that's as sharp, funny, and layered as #RussianDoll. Something that uses the speculative element to say something, not just as a cool hook #mswl

Allie Levick @AllieLevick · Jan 23

That speculative book about a woman taking her power back? Using her power to effect change? Send it to me. #MSWL

Kat Enright @katenright · Jan 23

I am hungry for a good middle grade! For me, it’s all about the voice. Now, I do tend to lean spec, but I am open to a great heartfelt contemporary. #MSWL

Nicole Payne @tnicolepayne · Jan 14

Where’s all the adult speculative fiction and romance?! #mswl

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop · Jan 8

THE WANGS VS. THE WORLD; smart, female-driven speculative fiction (mobs a plus); gritty YA in the vein of SADIE or THE WALLS AROUND US #MSWL