Laurel Symonds
@LaurelSymonds
Literary Agent
Literary agent at @ktliterary (closed to queries). I tweet about books and desserts in equal measure. My dog is the best office assistant ever. She/her
39 MSWL
1 Tips

- Feel good stories that center female friendship + group dynamics a la Babysitters Club or teen-versions of League of Their Own + Call the Midwife
- Witches
(6/7 #MSWL)

Laurel Symonds
@LaurelSymonds
Literary Agent
Literary agent at @ktliterary (closed to queries). I tweet about books and desserts in equal measure. My dog is the best office assistant ever. She/her
39 MSWL
1 Tips

- YA historical/ +fantasy/ +romance that doesn’t take itself too seriously a la My Lady Jane, Gentleman’s Guide, Bridgerton, The Great
- Native and rural voices, especially from the Pacific Northwest or Inland Northwest
(5/7 #MSWL)

Laurel Symonds
@LaurelSymonds
Literary Agent
Literary agent at @ktliterary (closed to queries). I tweet about books and desserts in equal measure. My dog is the best office assistant ever. She/her
39 MSWL
1 Tips

Here’s some specific #MSWL items:
- Contemporary MG in the vein of Kelly Yang, Corey Ann Haydu, Tae Keller
- Tweens + teens making messy decisions like in Babysitters Club + Never Have I Ever
- Contemporary MG + YA graphic novels (my list is already full of speculative)
(4/7)

Laurel Symonds
@LaurelSymonds
Literary Agent
Literary agent at @ktliterary (closed to queries). I tweet about books and desserts in equal measure. My dog is the best office assistant ever. She/her
39 MSWL
1 Tips

The categories I’m looking for, in order of priority, are:
- YA and MG graphic novels from author-illustrators (one person)
- MG and YA prose novels
- Nonfiction for kids and teens
- Chapter books and picture books from author-illustrators (one person)
(3/7 #MSWL)

Laurel Symonds
@LaurelSymonds
Literary Agent
Literary agent at @ktliterary (closed to queries). I tweet about books and desserts in equal measure. My dog is the best office assistant ever. She/her
39 MSWL
1 Tips
Silé Edwards
@sileloquies
Literary Agent
It’s Sil•Ay, like Fillet but without the Mignon. Chronically Unserious. LBF Trailblazer ‘21 | Lit Agent @nurnberg_agency | Trustee @ArtsEmergency ✨ (she/her)
2 MSWL

My more professional actual agents page is here if anyone is interested. New year, same old me because I like what I like #mswl: andrewnurnberg.com/team-member/si…

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

Oh, and here are some of my books, in case that helps

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

And I’m always happy to see the unexpected. I definitely wasn’t looking for Kafkaesque steampunk, but then Senlin Ascends came along and blew my mind! #MSWL
Here endeth the thread

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

Other random things I’m drawn to: academia (dark or light); sentient spaceships; a spiky heroine giving all the snark; stories within stories; enemies to lovers; magical libraries; heists; good old-fashioned yearning; multiverses; ethereal forests; dragons… #MSWL

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

I’d love to see some fantasy with magical realist influences... lyrical, magical, strange. I fell hard for The Inheritence of Orquidea Divina so I’d be delighted to get anything along those lines. See also: fantasy with Miyazaki vibes - whimsical and weird #MSWL

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

I have a soft spot for witches - gothic or cosy, historical or contemporary, I don’t mind. Bonus points for fresh interpretations and anything outside Western tradition #MSWL

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

I’m a total sucker for found family in any setting. Epic fantasy, space opera, I don’t mind. Just give me
those heartfelt 'with-you-to-the-end-no-matter-what vibes' #MSWL

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

I want to see tales inspired by myth and folklore (from any part of the world) with the rich, lush storytelling of master-wordsmith Alix E. Harrow. Please and thank you #mswl

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

Nettle and Bone is another recent favourite. I want more of this please: heartfelt, heart-warming fantasy with characters you would die for by the end. (Bonus points for a Bonedog. IYKYK) #MSWL

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

Give me some pacy dynamic space opera! Especially if it has a sense of fun and/or a rag-tag bunch of space rogues - I need me some of those Firefly vibes! (Under Fortunate Stars was a recent fave) #MSWL

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

I’m also drawn to character-driven fantasy with a singular narrative voice. Bonus points for the fast pace, political scheming, queer rep and original worldbuilding of one of my all-time faves, Melissa Caruso #MSWL

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

Please send me your non-western epic fantasy from under-represented voices. Think The Boneshard Daughter, The Rage of Dragons, The Jasmine Throne… big worlds, high stakes, multi-POV.
Female stories especially appreciated #MSWL

Emily Byron
@emilycbyron
Editor
Commissioning editor of science fiction and fantasy @OrbitBooks UK. Usually found shouting about books. Views are my own. (She/her)
12 MSWL

Calling all agents of SFF! I’ve been meaning to do one of these since I got back from maternity leave, so here goes…
#MSWL thread

P.S. Literary Agency
@PSLiterary
Literary Agency
Representing a diverse list of internationally published, award-winning, bestselling and debut creators.
2358 MSWL
71 AskAgent
3 Queries
179 Tips

"Seeking stories about characters assuming another identity—or another's identity."
@ceciliaclyra #MSWL

psliterary.com/submissions/

Analieze Cervantes 🍂 is CLOSING on 12/16 🎄
@author_analieze
Literary Agent
Writer💕| Associate Agent @HKLiterary : A, YA, MG, PB & Illustrators | Former @Disneyland Cast Member🐭💚| analiezecervantes.com
34 MSWL
1 Tips

Hello Everyone!! 🥂🥳

I am now OPEN to Queries for 2023! Here is my #MSWL: manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/anal…

Please submit by using the link in my bio 😊

P.S. I do NOT accept emailed submissions. Thank you!