High Stakes

Laura Maisano @MaisanoLaura · 12 Sep 2018

I'm still aching for my sibling story in the vein of Frozen or Fullmetal Alchemist. Familial love and drama with high stakes! #MSWL

Melissa Danaczko @mad2034 · 12 Sep 2018

Novels about real-estate or inheritance. Doesn’t have to be for the super wealthy (for instance, I loved The Turner House but also fell hard for Family Trust). These things are always high-stakes for those involved #mswl

Lindsay Mo Leggett @lindsayleggett_ · 12 Sep 2018

For #MSWL day, I'm always looking for:

-Multidimensional, complex characters

-Settings that feel lush and real

-High, unique stakes

-Concepts that make me go "oooooh"

Brent Taylor @btaylorbooks · 12 Sep 2018

Top of my #MSWL is a literary middle grade mystery with high stakes, middle grade and YA graphic novels, author-illustrated picture books, a YA novel told in reverse chronological order.

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · 23 Aug 2018

“I’d love a super feminine adventure story. Think mystery, high stakes, and difficult situations mixed with bright colours, glitter, and gemstones.” @msmariavicente #MSWL mariavicente.com/representation/

Ali Herring @HerringAli · 11 Aug 2018

#MSWL I want an MS set a DEF CON—the huge hacker convention held in Las Vegas. Crazy stuff must go down. High-energy. Thriller-esque. Contemporary or near-future (give me crazy attire, cool world building), YA or Adult. Save the world. Solve a puzzle. But HIGH stakes!!!

🧼 Lauren Spieller 🖐 @laurenspieller · 6 Jul 2018

In YA, I'm craving a high concept contemporary--that means you can pitch in easily b/c it has a HOOK. I love weird jobs, enemies to lovers, unique living situations, and high stakes. #mswl

Naomi Davis, literary agent @NaomisLitPix · 7 Jun 2018

Naomi Davis @NaomisLitPix

#MSWL high stakes, character driven fantasy w/intricately realized worlds, unique fantasy/magical systems&new creatures. Fun, original political systems, visually dynamic settings, characters with emotions that rip me from my life and plunge me into the pages.

So show me a chef, a medicine woman, a food runner, a hairdresser, a shoemaker, an assistant who has the potential to outshine their superior but has yet to discover/reveal it. Let their magic be small but let them find a way to make it ignite in their favor. #mswl

Naomi Davis, literary agent @NaomisLitPix · 7 Jun 2018

#MSWL high stakes, character driven fantasy w/intricately realized worlds, unique fantasy/magical systems&new creatures. Fun, original political systems, visually dynamic settings, characters with emotions that rip me from my life and plunge me into the pages.

beth phelan @beth_phelan · 16 Apr 2018

beth phelan @beth_phelan

Gonna drop a few #MSWL tweets as I’ve been going through my queries this weekend (sorry if you’re still waiting on a response—I’m getting there!) and trying to listen to what my gut is craving. I’m focusing on MG and YA, so let’s get started:

I would really love some character-driven YA fantasy that is both dark AND funny. Especially if there is a big eclectic cast and truly unique magic. Voicey characters but still high stakes and a world with details that awe, from city life to wildlife. #MSWL

Alexandra Weiss @akaweiss · 3 Apr 2018

Super specific #MSWL: I'd love to find a fun, high-stakes contemporary #MG or #YA that takes place before or during a hackathon! Less specific: If you have a #kidlit story with witty & tech-savvy characters, please query me. 🤓

Brit E. B. Hvide @bhvide · 20 Mar 2018

#MSWL More romance in epic, high-stakes, world-ending fantasy! @NiviaEvans and I are on a quest to make this genre a thing again because "love is not dumb, it's dopamine".

fantasy-hive.co.uk/2018/03/romanc…

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · 18 Mar 2018

“I’d love a super feminine adventure story. Think mystery, high stakes, and difficult situations mixed with bright colours, glitter, and gemstones.” @msmariavicente #MSWL mariavicente.com/representation/

Saba Sulaiman @agentsaba · 23 Jan 2018

honestly, i want to read books about unabashedly non-alpha males that rise to the occasion in high stakes situations and it being perfectly feasible, kind of like legally blonde but for soft dads with secret pockets for a machete in their baby carriers. #mswl

Andrea Cascardi @aecbks · 15 Sep 2017

8 Contemporary YAs Set Amid High-Stakes Competition barnesandnoble.com/blog/teen/8-co… #MSWL I'd love to get subs in this vein