Molly Cusick

@molly_cusick

Children’s and YA editor at Sourcebooks. Large cat parent in a publishing family. Known to be salty. Formerly known as Molly Jaffa. Not open to unagented subs.

Brooklyn, NY

Sourcebooks

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · Feb 11

A #MSWL for this rainy Tuesday: I'd really love to see some dark, sexy, boundary-pushing YA right now. Maybe it even has crossover potential!

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · Jan 14

Submissions update: I'm caught up through 12/8! And eager to find some great new projects in 2020, particularly some pacey, hook-y YA, and humorous and/or fantastical MG. (I can only consider agented submissions!) #MSWL

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · Jan 2

Let's start 2020 off with a #MSWL! Over the holiday I read & enjoyed THE STARLESS SEA (possibly 2019 fave?), GIDEON THE NINTH, and THE FAMILY UPSTAIRS. If you have any YA that's similar to one of these (great world building! fresh voice! dark, pacey, & twisty!) send it over, pls!

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · 22 Oct 2019

I only have a few pages of Leigh Bardugo's #NinthHouse left and I have NO idea how I'm going to make it through work today. Boy, would I love a YA with similar vibes ... #MSWL

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · 11 Oct 2019

I don't know if paranormal is going to be the Next Thing in YA, but I DO know that if you've got a fresh take on it, agents, I'd love to take a look. #MSWL

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · 24 Sep 2019

A few more from my YA #MSWL:
- Kiera Cass's THE SELECTION, but queer
- A new ANGUS, THONGS, & FULL-FRONTAL SNOGGING (dated, I know, but nothing's made me laugh that hard since)
- Something different in fantasy (paranormal? a unique format? surprise me!)

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · 24 Sep 2019

#MSWL: #ownvoices #MG or #YA protagonists with chronic illness, pain, and/or a disability in a story not focused on that, and where no one dies--it's just a part of life. This kind of rep is important to me & I rarely see it in subs or published books.

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · 10 Sep 2019

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick

Seeing so much YA where the protag is Not Into Instagram, celeb gossip, etc. in a way that suggests she's too good/smart for it. It's a valid character choice, but it's also valid for young women to be into that stuff!

The idea that teen girls are vapid/shallow/dumb for being into pop culture is harmful (not to mention as old as time -- the Beatles, anyone?). I'd love a YA novel where the protag is happily into it all. #MSWL

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · 13 Aug 2019

I'm caught up on agented submissions through 7/15! I'm hungry for all kinds of PB, MG, and YA. #MSWL of the moment: funny-sad MG, sex-positive YA, something in the vein of ANGUS, THONGS, AND FULL-FRONTAL SNOGGING. (Please note: I can't consider unagented subs.)

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · 16 Jul 2019

Agents! I am caught up on subs through 6/19 and am hungry for more. A few things on my #MSWL today: a twisty YA thriller I can read at the beach, an #ownvoices MG novel with queer representation, a picture book in the vein of ESCARGOT with a protagonist that should be a plushie.

Molly Cusick @molly_cusick · 3 Jun 2019

I can only justify rereading RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE so many times, so can someone please send me a YA novel in that vein (alas, I do not acquire NA)? I never want the feeling to end! #MSWL