Ellen

Editor

Dial Books for Young Readers

senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

MG or YA speculative fiction that's as sharp, funny, and layered as #RussianDoll. Something that uses the speculative element to say something, not just as a cool hook #mswl

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

Impeccably researched and incredibly queer historical fiction (MG or YA) in the vein of Gentleman Jack, Wild Nights With Emily, and Greta Gerwig's Little Women (let me live!) #mswl

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

Classic-feeling, oh-so-charming MG family stories (Γ  la The Penderwicks) but about found or otherwise non-traditional families #mswl

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

In 2020, I want to acquire more books! (It is also my job.) So, agent friends, here's a #mswl thread that I'll add to all year long.

TL;DR: Send me PB, MG & YA projects that have a distinct POV and something to say. Bonus points for queerness & a net emotional outcome of joy.

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

-I've said it before but: Emily Dickinson was queer and I wanna read about it (YA)
- Another oldie: impeccably researched historical fiction (YA or MG) about the misogynist persecution of midwives, esp re: accusations of witchcraft
- Queer friendships
#MSWL

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

- TO ALL THE BOYS but may it gay
- picture books about cats and/or bears
- graphic novels in the vein of LAURA DEAN KEEPS BREAKING UP WITH ME or KISS NUMBER 8
- voicey middle grade where the protagonist is really into something niche. like really, weirdly into it
#MSWL

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

Happy #MSWL Day! I acquire picture books and MG - YA novels and graphic novels. Agents, there's always room in my inbox for...

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

Good morning, agent friends! As you may have guessed from my #dvpit RTs, I want to see more queer novels in my inbox (MG or YA). I would especially love to work on a book that centers queer friendships #mswl

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

Hello agent friends! I would really, really, love to see MG & YA novels from the perspective of trans and non-binary teens & tweens. Thank youuuuuu! #mswl

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL
ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

Agent friends, are any of your clients writing middle grade novels about outcast tweens trying to start a hobby-horseing team? Because I would read the hell out of that. #mswl youtube.com/watch?v=PAY-Zs…

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL
ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

I would drop most things to read a poignant-yet-humorous MG about beekeeping #MSWL

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

Literary historical fiction (YA or MG) about the misogynist persecution of midwives, esp re: accusations of witchcraft. #MSWL

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL

Hey agents: I'm looking for a heartfelt & hopeful (but not pollyanna-ish) foster-to-adopt contemporary mg. Bonus points for humor. #MSWL

ellen
@ellencormier
Editor
senior editor at dial byr, cat lady, @smithcollege alum, she/her (tweets are mine & mine alone) 🌈
96 MSWL