Brian Geffen

Editor

Henry Holt Books for Young Readers

Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

Agents: We need YA and kidlit and wonderfully distracting creativity more than ever right now! My inbox is wide open. #MSWL contemporary realistic & fantasy MG, YA, and GNs! Let's make some books!

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

12/ #MSWL: Agents, authors, librarians, teachers, and booksellers: I look forward to meeting more of you in 2019! Here’s to making more book magic this year.

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

11/ #MSWL: Finally, I promise I’m not ALL about darker books, as much as I love them. Send me some books with humor too! I’m looking for sarcastic and witty rather than goofy and silly. I promise I’m not uptight, but potty humor just isn’t my thing!

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

10/ #MSWL: No matter the genre, morally-complex characters and antiheroines/antiheroes always intrigue me!

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

9/ #MSWL: Middle-grade and YA graphic novels about identity, particularly coming-of-age stories that explore relationships and friendships with emotional depth. Books like This One Summer, Real Friends, and American Born Chinese.

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

8/ #MSWL: High-stakes MG and YA contemp that feature breakers of tradition and characters who forge their own paths, as well as novels about identity and overcoming adversity. Wonderful books like I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, Dear Martin, and The Stars Beneath Our Feet

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

7/ #MSWL: Deep contemporary YA! The gritty and dark variety as well as quirky and poignant novels. Books that deal with challenging subjects, mental health, and other important questions and ideas that affect teens, but ultimately offer hope. I.e. Jandy Nelson & Nina Lacour.

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

6/ #MSWL: I'm ALWAYS on the hunt for affecting, beautifully-written middle grade contemporary in the vein of Kate DiCamillo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Katherine Applegate. Stories that feel like coming of age experiences (I refuse to let YA monopolize this term!).

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

5/ #MSWL: Fast-paced, high-stakes YA fantasy, specifically with unique magic systems and fresh worldbuilding. I'm particularly attracted to lyrical prose, and recent YA favorites include Leigh Bardugo's King of Scars and Laini Taylor's Muse of Nightmares.

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

4/ #MSWL: I would love to find more MG fantasy that combines commercial, high concept plotting with gorgeous prose. Books packed with action, adventure, heart, & friendship that tow the line between literary and commercial. Wildly original worldbuilding, always!

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

3/ 2019 #MSWL Agents: 1st and always, I want to curate a list of authors (and books) that accurately reflects the world around me--one that is filled with diverse creators and content--and support them in our shared goal of creating more mirrors (and portals) for kids and teens.

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

#MSWL Agents: I'd love to see more YA contemporary submissions in my inbox! It would be especially cool to see submissions that comp well to recent favorites, I AM NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER and DEAR MARTIN.

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

Agents: Forever and always, I'd love to edit a YA or MG with an MC who is a rapper. A man can dream! #MSWL

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL
Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL

I absolutely loved THE STARS BENEATH OUR FEET. Exactly the type of MG realistic fiction I'm looking for. Agents, if you have MG that comps well to this book, please send it my way. #MSWL

Brian Geffen
@Brian_Geffen
Editor
Editor at Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
54 MSWL