Hillary Sames

Assistant Editor

Orbit Books

⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

It goes without saying, but send me big, big epic fantasy! Multiple POVs, innovative magic systems, tense politics, huge stakes – the whole nine yards. Recent faves include THE RUIN OF KINGS, THE UNSPOKEN NAME, THE CITY OF BRASS, THE BLACK PRISM, the list goes on 😉 #MSWL

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

Some very specific and unrelated themes that I will ALWAYS jump on: wizard schools, magical libraries, dark academia, tiefling vibes, sentient spaceships, unique magic systems, Mass Effect comps, elves, did I mention wizards?, training montages, and more! #MSWL

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

Look, someone send me that big Elven fantasy epic that modernizes what people loved about LOTR. I want the big elven kingdoms of WORLD OF WARCRAFT or THE DRAGON PRINCE, but book-form. Please please please. #MSWL

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

I would love a romantic fantasy to sweep me off my feet – with lots of tension, political maneuvering, and lush worldbuilding to round it out. In the vein of THE JASMINE THRONE, KUSHIEL’S DART, and UPROOTED. #MSWL

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

I love SF AI stories – all of the AI stories. Give me your insidious world-ending AI, your romantic AI with *feelings*, your best bud bot Bender AI, and more. I want my definition of AI to change with every new book I read (AUTONOMOUS, EX MACHINA, A CLOSED AND COMMON ORBIT) #MSWL

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

Listen, I’ve got a soft spot for fey/fae/fairy stories. Magical forests, ethereal otherworldly creatures, dangerous bargains with a high price, enchanting romance – give it all to me. #MSWL

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

Found families in space! I want SF adventure stories with an excellent spaceship crew dynamic in the vein of MASS EFFECT, FORTUNA, and A LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET. Paired with a quick pace and a dynamic voice, I never tire of these stories. Bonus points for aliens. #MSWL

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

Give me a fantasy adventure like KINGS OF THE WYLD that feels like a D&D game. I want a new twist on classic fantasy races and monsters! Big quest energy! Lots of party banter! A wisecracking, charismatic rogue with a heart of gold (not required, but always appreciated)! #MSWL

Hillary Sames
@hillarysames
Assistant Editor
⚔️ Assistant Editor (acquiring!) @orbitbooks 🚀 Former indie bookseller. Lover of books, videogames, and D&D. Opinions are my own! TX➡️NYC (she/her)
9 MSWL

It’s about time for my first #MSWL thread! I’m actively acquiring new voices for my list at Orbit, and I’d love to lose myself in captivating stories and immersive worlds this summer. LET’S GO!! 👏📚