Ashley Herring Blake

Literary Agent

Rees Literary Agency

Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

Hey #AmQuerying writers, Iโ€™m closing to queries on June 1 for the summer, but will be open to #MSWL items (see below) through this link: QueryManager.com/AshleyBlake/MSโ€ฆ

โœจQueer &/or BIPOC romance (rom com & contemp)
โœจContemp/upmarket/WF
โœจMystery w/ WF (think FINLAY DONOVAN)

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

๐Ÿ’ซ In YA or MG, Iโ€™m looking for contemporary only: sapphic rom coms, f/nb roms, or super voicey contemporary from BIPOC creators. #MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

๐Ÿ’ซ Iโ€™d love a messy dysfunctional mother/daughter adult contemporary in the vein of VERY NICE, or a family saga a la THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD, Iโ€™m here for it, particularly if youโ€™re a BIPOC author or have a queer story in this realm! #MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

๐Ÿ’ซ Upmarket adult contemporary a la Emma Straub, Kiley Reid, Celeste Ng, Brit Bennett. Gorgeous writing, conversation starters, messy relationships, sisterhoods, friendships. Beyond the divorcรฉe book club fic. #MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

Iโ€™m so excited to open to queries Friday, March 26th, so here are some of my current top #MSWL items!

๐Ÿ’ซ Diverse romance is at the top of my list. Iโ€™m desperate for queer contemporary, historical or rom coms f/f or nb/f), as well as roms by BIPOC creators! All tropes welcome.

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

Reading THE SWITCH & goddess, Iโ€™d love a queer BIPOC contemporary adult novel (could say womenโ€™s fic, but Iโ€™d love any marginalized gender) that has similar feels. Light romance, quirky characters, humor, & a heartwarming takeaway that makes you want to live your best life.#MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

Adding one more thing to this--I'm definitely looking for contemporary MG from marginalized creators! If it can be comps to Nic Stone, A.J. Sass, Brandy Colbert, Nicole Melleby, Kacen Callender, Jasmine Warga, Kelly Yang, I'd love to see it! #MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

With horror, I'm a sucker for gothic anything. I want lush settings, atmospheric writing, and spook as opposed to gore. Think MEXICAN GOTHIC. Historical or contemporary. #MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

I'm eager for book club fiction--contemporary & upmarket fiction & WF you might comp to Brit Bennett, Kiley Reid, Linda Holmes, Celeste Ng, or Sally Rooney. I'd love some fresh takes here, not only divorce & marital angst. I'm not a great fit for super literary stories. #MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

Now to specifics! I love ALL THE ROMANCE, w/ queer & BIPOC stories prioritized. Give me all your fave tropes starring queer, BIPOC, & QBIPOC characters, including rom coms, historical (more regency f/f PLEASE), contemporary romance, & paranormal w/ witches and/or vampires. #MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

Generally, I'm looking for mostly Adult right now, and specifically from BIPOC and QBIPOC creators. Contemporary romance, paranormal romance, historical romance, contemporary/upmarket fiction, cozy mysteries, thriller (non crime), light horror, & light fantasy. #MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

Book club fic/women's fic/contemporary fic/ gothic horror fic about and by authors of color & queer authors of color. That's it. That's the whole #MSWL tweet.

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

Contemporary adult fiction/womenโ€™s fiction in the vein of SUCH A FUN AGE, THE VANISHING HALF, EVVIE DRAKE, and HAPPY AND YOU KNOW IT.

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

Iโ€™m on the hunt for an MG contemporary, that, well, just makes me want to snuggle the book in a huge hug. I want feels, vulnerability, small towns, queer identities, feminism, first crushes, unique families, & kids of color, girls, and non-binary kids taking on the world.

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL

โ€œYou know the greatest loves of all time are over now...โ€ Iโ€™ll take a womenโ€™s fic, contemporary fic, or romance with the gauzy mood of โ€œthe 1โ€ mkay thanks. #MSWL

Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL
Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL
Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL
Ashley Herring Blake
@ashleyhblake
Literary Agent
Author of books | Agent at Rees Literary | Up next: FOOLS IN LOVE, Running Press 12.7.21; DELILAH GREEN DOESNโ€™T CARE, Berkley 2.22.22 | she/her ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™
115 MSWL