Amy Elizabeth

Literary Agent

Dystel, Goderich & Bourret

NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

#MSWL pt. II

Adult fiction:
-literary fiction by BIPOC authors
-bookclub fiction about friendships, tangled family relationships, grief
-literary suspense
-mysteries with a female protagonist

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

Summer #MSWL refresh:

YA:
-still looking for great contemporary (or historical) YA thrillers & mysteries!
-would love to find a YA historical set in Asia, Africa, or South America
-smart, upmarket contemporary rom-coms by BIPOC authors

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

Basically: teach me something I don't know. Give me a point of view I haven't pondered before. Give me chills. Make me cry. (How's that for uplifting to start the year?) #MSWL

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

For nonfiction:
*cultural criticism a la Jia Tolentino (strong platform a must)
*historical nonfiction like SAY NOTHING or MIDNIGHT IN CHERNOBYL
*pop science/psychology
#MSWL

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

*YA contemp. in the vein of I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN or EMERGENCY CONTACT
*literary suspense
*sister stories, a boarding school novel, anything with folklore/mythology/retellings
#MSWL

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

Time for a 2020 #MSWL refresh!

Would love to see:

*more, generally by Korean authors in both YA & adult
*strong literary/upmarket fiction from a diverse POV (think Celeste Ng, Jean Kwok, Kamila Shamsie, etc.)
*YA thriller in the vein of SADIE

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

Deanna Raybourn @deannaraybourn

Yo, Netflix. twitter.com/MorganAlMoor/s…

Yo, #MSWL! This is what I'm talking about when I say I want historical fiction that focuses on "stories of those that history has largely chosen to not tell."

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips
Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips
Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

Also, please, as ever: any "big think" nonfiction. I'm fascinated by investigative journalism (I loved DREAMLAND by Sam Quinones); tech, pop science, pop psychology, and anything with a feminist lens (currently reading GOOD AND MAD by Rebecca Traister & loving it). #MSWL

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

THE WANGS VS. THE WORLD; smart, female-driven speculative fiction (mobs a plus); gritty YA in the vein of SADIE or THE WALLS AROUND US #MSWL

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

It's January, which means it's cold & gray & I hate leaving the house, so send me your work to keep me company! #MSWL: would love a more literary thriller a la THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY or BARBED WIRE HEART; writing from marginalized writers a la THE LEAVERS or

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

My updated #MSWL is up! Find it here: manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/amy-… Would love more upmarket/literary fiction from women of color and, since we're approaching Halloween, things with a bit of spook to them.

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

Amy Elizabeth @amylizbishop

I would just like this book right now, please #mswl twitter.com/GraceKendallLi…

Actually, I would really just like any books featuring women of any age taking matters into their own hands and hunting down shitty men, so bring 'em on. #mswl

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

So I finished THE POPPY WAR by @kuangrf over the weekend and...holy crap. It's INCREDIBLE. I am #MSWL'ing the heck out of this book and...ready to go add some more stunning adult fantasy like this to my TBR. Suggestions welcome!!

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

Also re: @SetItUpNetflix, I spent the whole movie being mad that Lucy Liu's character wasn't actually real because I've been looking for a badass lady sports journalist/writer for my list (and so has @sharongracepjs). #MSWL

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

#MSWL: crime families with a twist (in the vein of Holly Black’s CURSE WORKERS series).

Amy Elizabeth
@amylizbishop
Literary Agent
NYC. Literary agent @DGandBTweets . Resident millennial, new aunt; overly enthusiastic, she/her. @SUNYGeneseo alum. pro-Garamond. Rise up.
26 MSWL
8 Tips

Friday reminder that if you're curious about what I'm eagerly & actively looking for, to check out my #MSWL page: manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/amy-…