Stephanie Stein

Editor

Harper Teen

Harper Kids

Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

๐Ÿ˜ˆ Ruthless schemers with a secret squishy marshmallow heart of gold (Roy Mustang vibes, basically)
๐ŸŒƒ YA contemporary fantasy with vintage Holly Black/Curse Workers vibes
๐Ÿ‘€ Narrators that knock big ol' holes in the fourth wall #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

Some specific things I would love to see in my inbox:

๐Ÿ—ก๏ธ YA fantasy with sharp teeth that takes no prisoners and makes no apologies
๐Ÿ’ƒ Dramatic historical romance/fantasy romance with Phantom of the Opera/Moulin Rouge/Great Comet ambience #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

... a broad range of MG & YA fiction and graphic novels--fantasy (my first & greatest love as a reader), historical, romance, some great humor, and high-concept contemporary (especially with a framing device such as epistolary elements, then-and-now timelines, etc.) #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

In the middle of @CatSWrites's new book and deeply wishing for YA historical romance to become More Of A Thing. Agents, if you've got one coming up, send it my way! #mswl

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

8) Yes, I do graphic novels! In addition to cozy fantasy, looking for MG fantasy/adventure more broadly and for moody, literary-feeling YA coming-of-age stories (the queerer the better).

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

(I would straight-up sell my soul for a YA in the vein of Song of Achilles or Circe. Just sayin'.)

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

4.2) Historical or contemporary fantasy with a sharp, fresh, feminist twist on old folklore. Looking for my Holly Black or YA Alix Harrow ๐Ÿ™

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

4) Who's the next big thing in YA or MG fantasy? I want to help them get there, and I want them in my inbox. โค๏ธ Specifically:

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

3) High-concept YA contemporary or contemporary-with-a-twist, especially if it comes with an irreverent, self-referentially funny voice. Sarcastic or endearingly self-deprecating humor to the front of the line. I love a protagonist who feels like a co-conspirator.

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

2) Whoever brings me a queer YA read-alike to Casey McQuiston's Red, White, & Royal Blue and/or One Last Stop will win my heart forever (and more to the point, a lot of money ๐Ÿ˜‡)

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

Oddly specific Halloween #mswl: in the mood for... a YA ghost romance? ๐Ÿค” Some kind of historical or time-travel shenanigans a plus but not required.

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

Agent friends, I've been hungry for a smart, incisive, fresh retelling--think A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE. If you've got something like that in YA or MG, send it my way! #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent
Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

gayesanders @gayesanders

@stephlystein Is there anything youโ€™ve really yearned for lately in your inbox? #okscbwichat

Always! I'm dying for some deeply emotional MG contemporary, smart MG fantasy/adventure, and a sweeping, EPIC YA romance. More of my recent wishlist items are on the hashtag #MSWL! #okscbwichat

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

I turned 30 (!!!) last weekend, an occasion I'm seizing to share my #MSWL this year:
- sweeping YA romance
- โœจqueer magicโœจ
- savvy, commercial MG fantasy
- joyful queer & POC stories
- & POC authors with something to say
- emotional contemporary MG
- cozy af graphic novels

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent