Stephanie Stein

Editor

Harper Teen

Harper Kids

Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

๐ŸŒ Historical fiction from before the year 1900, especially from BIPOC perspectives; and also, specifically, queer historical fiction set in under-examined moments of the 20th century #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ Would especially love a multi-generational queer coming-of-age story, bridging the gap between Gen Z/Gen Alpha LGBTQIA+ kids and the Queer Elders of previous era(s)
๐Ÿ’œ Queer romance, too, especially ones full of โœจyearningโœจ--I'm ready to P I N E this year! #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

๐ŸŒˆ Queer stories written for the teens and young readers of the 2020s, who grew up with the internet in their pockets, and are taking journeys of identity and finding their place in the world of *now*. Exploring 201-level questions beyond the 101-level basics. #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

8) Yes, I do graphic novels! In addition to cozy fantasy, looking for MG fantasy/adventure more broadly and for moody, literary-feeling YA coming-of-age stories (the queerer the better).

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

2) Whoever brings me a queer YA read-alike to Casey McQuiston's Red, White, & Royal Blue and/or One Last Stop will win my heart forever (and more to the point, a lot of money ๐Ÿ˜‡)

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

Officially wrapped on 2020 submissions! Agents, here's my #mswl for this year.

Before I start: I will always be looking to foreground queer and BIPOC voices, and on the hunt for killer hooks I can't even finish pitching without someone mashing the preorder button.

Let's go!

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

I turned 30 (!!!) last weekend, an occasion I'm seizing to share my #MSWL this year:
- sweeping YA romance
- โœจqueer magicโœจ
- savvy, commercial MG fantasy
- joyful queer & POC stories
- & POC authors with something to say
- emotional contemporary MG
- cozy af graphic novels

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

Would also still love some fun, swashbuckly, queer/feminist/all of the above YA historical fiction (with or without magic) #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

You'll have noticed that I've acquired a fair amount of queer YA lately and I am not! done! Always looking for more LGBTQ+ characters for both YA and MG audiences, and no, it does not have to be a rom-com! #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

I talk a lot about wanting LGBTQ YAโ€”but lately I'm really dying for an LGBTQ middle grade! Self-discovery, first crushes, family! #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent
Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent
Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

Really dying for more contemporary MG--friendship drama, multi-gen family stories, LGBTQ tweens... hit me up! #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent
Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent
Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

Also always looking for beautiful queer YA love stories--contemporary, yes, as well as queer MCs in other genres! #MSWL

Stephanie Stein
@stephlystein
Editor
Senior Editor @HarperChildrens & @HarperTeen . 47% caffeine by volume. She/her. ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŒˆ
213 MSWL
34 AskAgent

Seconding a request I saw earlier today: I'd really, really love to see more openly bisexual YA characters. #MSWL