Trisha De Guzman (she/her)

Editor

Farrar, Straus & Giroux for Young Readers

MacKids Books

πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL
Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

Anyone else a fan of BATTLE ROYALE? πŸ”ͺ🩸πŸ”₯ Takako Chigusa was inspiration for the iconic Gogo Yubari in KILL BILL and she lives in my head rent free...

basically, agents pls send me a bloodthirsty YA about a girl who gets revenge after being wronged #YA #MSWL

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

Sarah Andersen @SarahCAndersen

pic.twitter.com/Dxn6ZWo6b9

hey agent friends, a lighthearted contemporary realistic or contemp fantasy #YA version of this is definitely on my #MSWL πŸ₯Ί

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

#MSWL #PB hi friends! i'm dying for more picture books! i would love...

--projects about incredible historical figures we overlooked bc ~colonialism~

--funny offbeat projects with unique art in the vein of DRAGONS LOVE TACOS, PETRA, THE BAD SEED, etc.

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

My kingdom for a TIME TRAVELER'S WIFE YA novel WITH A HAPPY ENDING, ie their timelines converge and they live happily ever after #mswl

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

Two weeks since I finished #NeflixKingdom, and I STILL can't stop thinking about it. I'm so in the mood for a YA fantasy with sociopolitical commentary, a lush non-Western historical setting, well-rounded characters, and ZOMBIES. Lots and lots of zombies.

#MSWL #YA

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

✨✨Hi, hello! I’m pleased to share my new and improved website, which features my current books, deals I’ve made, & current wishlist. Agents, please reach out if you think we share similar tastes! I’d love to work with you! πŸ“šπŸ–‹ trishadeguzman.com

#kidlit #mswl

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

MIDDLE GRADE

- gentle contemporary romances about queer young people falling in love for the first time
- historical fiction highlighting overlooked events or individuals from marginalized groups
- contemporary novels about POC immigrants/second generation Americans

#MSWL

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL
Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

YOUNG ADULT

- contemporary stories that take a tongue-in-cheek approach to deconstructing toxic gender norms
- ripped-from-the headlines contemporary novels with literary writing and whipsmart sociopolitical commentary

#MSWL

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

CAN'T STOP WON'T STOP on my #mswl a #contemporary #fantasy #mg that gives me legit creeps. Monsters, ghosts, etc WELCOME

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

oh ALSO ALSO a take on metoo with a cheeky twist, preferably starting qpoc that examines the intersection of identifying with more than one marginalized group #ya #contemporary #mswl

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

ok here's another one: #mswl a sweet #contemporary #ya rom-com about a qpoc with an adorable meet-cute. I know this is super general but that's because I want so much of this!!

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

another #mswl: a home invasion story with a twist. but the "victim" is an action girl who ends up hunting THEM down because she is way better at surviving than they are #ya #contemporary this is basically the plot of the movie YOU'RE NEXT

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

#mswl #ya #ownvoices gimme all your monster books. Especially monsters based on non-western legends and folklore. The wendigo! Chupacabra! La llorona! I want to feel uncomfortable and scared and uncomfortably excited to be scared

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

CAAM @CAAM

Sony’s Stage 6 Films Plots Sequel To Sundance Sleeper β€˜Searching’ starring a @CAAM favorite, John Cho. bit.ly/2Z15mO9

In light of this amazing news, I'd love a gritty, contemporary YA thriller that, like the excellent film SEARCHING, utilizes the unique quirks and challenges that technology/social media have introduced into our lives #mswl

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

An end of day #MSWL: I would love middle grade or young adult novel that takes a no-holds-barred look at colorism in marginalized communities and the damage it does to the people in them. #YA #MG #Children

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL

And I'm still anxiously awaiting a YA inspired by Onna-Bugeisha, the women samurai of feudal Japan βš”οΈβ˜ οΈπŸ‡―πŸ‡΅ #MSWL #YA #Historical

ow.ly/DnJD50rx6Hl

Trisha de Guzman (she/her)
@trishadeg
Editor
πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ Filipino immigrant and Editor at Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers @mackidsbooks @fiercereads #WNDB #POCinPub
30 MSWL