Julia McCarthy

Editor

Atheneum

Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL
Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL
Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL
Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Please to the Universe, might I have a Queenโ€™s Gambit YA novel? #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

I cannot believe that I am one day away from watching @LovecraftHBO . So Iโ€˜m gonna channel this energy and The Secret some stuff into the Universe: Please send all supernatural horror YA that centralizes PoC and examines racism and intersectional feminism via monsters thx!! #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Hello, who wants to discuss #DarkNetflix ? And who wants to write its spiritual YA component? #mswl

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL
Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Hello! I am on the hunt for a dark, magical YA that has elements of romance but is more largely focused on Some Grand Mystery/Threat, in the vein of Chime or The Witch of Blackbird Pond. Gimme that spooky, transportive grit, especially if itโ€™s from a BIPOC perspective! #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Hi, I am always in the mood for spooky, feminist witch stories, so thatโ€™s a hard #MSWL right there for ya

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL
Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL
Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

I want to believe that stories can change hearts. Iโ€™m actively seeking stories about immigrants, refugees, and the marginalized, so please send me your graphic novels, your picture books, your YA, your MG! Love and empathy and awareness can be radical. #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Um WOW I am finally reading Circe by @MillerMadeline and I am completely smitten. Give me witchcraft and lore and lush words and write it as YA, please! #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Hi itโ€™s Brooklyn Pride and I just want to publish and celebrate sweet, earnest, cozy queer stories until the cows come homeโ€”picture book, MG, YA, you name it! Open to any and all reading recs, definitely also on my #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Oh, hey! After discovering the majesty of Hersheyparkโ€™s teen employees last week, Iโ€™d love to find me a goofy, funny, earnest YA about a group of kids spending the summer working together at an amusement park. #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Hello hi Iโ€™d really love to find YA horror like THE MONSTRUMOLOGIST but with kickass women of color. Thatโ€™s all, folks! #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Hello hello, I am very much seeking a YA novel like Darius the Great Is Not Okay that centers on queer WoC #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Hi there, Iโ€™d really love a YA novel thatโ€™s the spiritual equivalent of Jitterbug Perfume. #MSWL

Julia McCarthy
@thejumbles
Editor
Associate Editor at Atheneum (S&S) by day, purveyor of dad jokes by night, eternal sea hag. My tweets are my own. she/her ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Avatar by lovely @NicoleGoux
86 MSWL

Iโ€™d be honored to help amplify Native American voices through literature, and am very much seeking Native storiesโ€”picture book, MG, YAโ€”as part of my #MSWL .