James McGowan

Literary Agent

BookEnds Literary Agency

Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I am super interested and passionate about #scicomm and would love to find more experts interested in writing on their fields — for adults and children! #nonfiction #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I’m caught up on queries and have 4 submissions from September in my inbox. I’d love to find some adult nonfiction, mysteries, and suspense. #MSWL

Querymanager.com/jmcgowan

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

Working on projects that communicate cutting edge science in exciting ways. He’d love to see projects on psychology, astronomy, biology, ecology, and climate. Think: Adam Grant, The End of Everything or Finding the Mother Tree. #mwl (4/4)

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks

James is newly seeking adult nonfiction projects that explore history, social sciences, and popular science. He enjoys reads that center in on and expand little known aspects of history, like The Address Book or works by Patrick Radden Keefe. He particularly enjoys books… #mswl

that tie history into current events like How the Word is Passed. He’d love to work on projects that discuss food, food insecurity, the education system, mental health, or race. Additionally, as a self-proclaimed science nerd, James is excited about the possibility of… #mswl

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I’ve had a blast working in kidlit nonfiction lately that I’ve decided to keep expanding my NF list. Today I opened to adult #nonfiction and it’s website official. (Image text in threads)

I’d love to connect! #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I am actively digging through my inbox looking for: #MSWL
▪️Humorous PBs
▪️PB/MG NF about science or history topics
▪️Adult mystery/suspense in the vein of Oyinkan Braithwaite, Steph Cha, Alex North, Tana French
▪️Upmarket family stories
▪️Horror: Psychological! Ghosts!

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips
James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I'm all caught up on queries and working my way through all January submissions. Eager to find my next new project!
Looking for:
PB fiction & non-fiction
MG non-fiction & humorous fiction
Adult Mystery, Thriller, Literary & Upmarket #MSWL #QueryUpdate

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I’m actively seeking submissions in:
Literary/Upmarket fiction
Mystery, Crime, Thriller
Humorous middle grade fiction
Middle grade non-fiction
All picture books (fiction & non-fiction)
#MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

We’re sharing our 2020 Must Haves graphics over at @bookendslit. Here’s mine. I’d love to see a query from you! #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

Ashley Congdon @AshleyCCongdon

@jamerrson What themes, topics, styles, etc. excite you right now for picture books? #askagent
Replying to @AshleyCCongdon

Is it fair to say everything? If I had to choose, non-fiction is most exciting to me right now, and I’m especially looking for some climate/environment related stuff. But I always love funny pbs. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

I'd love to find more PB NF-- things like THE SEA BOOK or SEA BEAR. I like little known history and people, or climate/science geared topics. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Associate Agent & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit Debut: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY w/ Graham Carter (@boydsmillskane, 9/14/21). Pre-Order links below! Sitcom Junkie.
83 MSWL
18 AskAgent
5 Tips

James McGowan @jamerrson

It's #MSWL day! (pt. 2) (Children's Fiction)

My door will always be open to picture books, running the gamut.
Fiction, non-fiction, funny, heartwarming, STEM, arts, anything. #MSWL