James McGowan

Literary Agent

BookEnds Literary Agency

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

In #horror, I'm not afraid to go dark and am open to supernatural of some kind. However, I do prefer things be grounded. Like how Midnight Mass was OUT THERE, but also very realistic? Somehow? I also love the psychological horror that overlaps with #mystery or #suspense. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I'd really like to work on a great novel or two this year. I'm looking for propulsive #suspense, edgy #mysteries, and grounded #horror. I love dark books that keep you guessing, with characters that are well drawn and memorable. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I’m caught up on queries and have 4 submissions from September in my inbox. I’d love to find some adult nonfiction, mysteries, and suspense. #MSWL

Querymanager.com/jmcgowan

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I'm all caught up on queries and on top of submissions. Dying for a great suspense or crime novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, or Tana French and Attica Lock. #MSWL
querymanager.com/query/jmcgowan

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

Mystery/Crime: Think Tana French, Attica Locke, Steph Cha and SA Cosby
Domestic Suspense: Think Ashley Audrain, Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware
#MSWL 2/4

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

Hey Twitter. Some updates to my #MSWL:

My picture book list is quite full, so I am TEMPORARILY closing to PBs. I remain open to illustrators.

I'm very eager to find: ADULT mystery, crime, domestic suspense and horror/speculative fiction.

querymanager.com/query/jmcgowan

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips
James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I am actively digging through my inbox looking for: #MSWL
▪️Humorous PBs
▪️PB/MG NF about science or history topics
▪️Adult mystery/suspense in the vein of Oyinkan Braithwaite, Steph Cha, Alex North, Tana French
▪️Upmarket family stories
▪️Horror: Psychological! Ghosts!

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

James McGowan @jamerrson

It's #MSWL day, and I don't make the rules, so here I go.
(Adult Fiction)

Adult #Mystery, #Thriller, #Suspense-- I love my dark mysteries and thrillers along the lines of Tana French. I will never do a #MSWL without Tana French's name. Ever. I've read a ton of Ruth Ware this year, and loved it all.

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

In Mystery, Tana French is my favorite. I’d love mysteries with writing elevated to her level, but really I’m looking for ANYTHING in mystery. From procedurals to regular old mysteries, psychological thrillers. Suspense like Susan Furlong!(Excluding spy books, please). #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

Also, #Mystery, #Suspense & #Thrillers. Favorites: Tana French, Jane Harper, Kim McCreight, Noah Hawley. The darker the better. Small towns, Homecomings, Unsolved Cases #MSWL