James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

The Maid by Nita Prose - a light and fun mystery, unforgettable main character, great setting

True Biz by Sara Nović - incredible writing, multi-POV, Deaf characters, unputdownable

More Than You'll Ever Know by Katie Gutierrez - multi-POV/multi-timeline, family secrets #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

In my inbox everyday looking for an exciting novel. I'd love an upmarket mystery with complex characters and a hooky crime, or family drama, or something that just catches me by surprise. Here's what I read in 2022. I did not dislike 1 yet. (titles in next tweet) #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I’m on board for these upbeat mysteries like The Thursday Murder Club & The Maid #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

In #horror, I'm not afraid to go dark and am open to supernatural of some kind. However, I do prefer things be grounded. Like how Midnight Mass was OUT THERE, but also very realistic? Somehow? I also love the psychological horror that overlaps with #mystery or #suspense. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I'd really like to work on a great novel or two this year. I'm looking for propulsive #suspense, edgy #mysteries, and grounded #horror. I love dark books that keep you guessing, with characters that are well drawn and memorable. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I’m caught up on queries and have 4 submissions from September in my inbox. I’d love to find some adult nonfiction, mysteries, and suspense. #MSWL

Querymanager.com/jmcgowan

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

Anything with the vibes of Only Murders in the Building #MSWL — dark but humorous mysteries with cool, fun hooks

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I’ve watched and loved The Undoing, I’m reading and loving The Plot, so now I need to #MSWL Jean Hanff Korelitz. More thrillers / crime with deeply drawn characters, please! #WritingCommunity #thrillers #crimefiction #mystery #amquerying

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

Mystery/Crime: Think Tana French, Attica Locke, Steph Cha and SA Cosby
Domestic Suspense: Think Ashley Audrain, Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware
#MSWL 2/4

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

Hey Twitter. Some updates to my #MSWL:

My picture book list is quite full, so I am TEMPORARILY closing to PBs. I remain open to illustrators.

I'm very eager to find: ADULT mystery, crime, domestic suspense and horror/speculative fiction.

querymanager.com/query/jmcgowan

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips
James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I am actively digging through my inbox looking for: #MSWL
▪️Humorous PBs
▪️PB/MG NF about science or history topics
▪️Adult mystery/suspense in the vein of Oyinkan Braithwaite, Steph Cha, Alex North, Tana French
▪️Upmarket family stories
▪️Horror: Psychological! Ghosts!

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips
James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I'm all caught up on queries and working my way through all January submissions. Eager to find my next new project!
Looking for:
PB fiction & non-fiction
MG non-fiction & humorous fiction
Adult Mystery, Thriller, Literary & Upmarket #MSWL #QueryUpdate

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I’m actively seeking submissions in:
Literary/Upmarket fiction
Mystery, Crime, Thriller
Humorous middle grade fiction
Middle grade non-fiction
All picture books (fiction & non-fiction)
#MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

We’re sharing our 2020 Must Haves graphics over at @bookendslit. Here’s mine. I’d love to see a query from you! #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I also love mysteries and thrillers that gravitate towards dark horror elements, like THE WHISPER MAN. One of my top reads so far this year. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

James McGowan @jamerrson

It's #MSWL day, and I don't make the rules, so here I go.
(Adult Fiction)

Adult #Mystery, #Thriller, #Suspense-- I love my dark mysteries and thrillers along the lines of Tana French. I will never do a #MSWL without Tana French's name. Ever. I've read a ton of Ruth Ware this year, and loved it all.

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

James McGowan @jamerrson

Hey #AmWriting Twitter-- I'm all caught up on submissions and dying for something good right now. Here's an up-to-date #MSWL:

I'm admittedly savoring the Tana French books I still haven't read. I'm currently reading Broken Harbor, and would love some twisty #mystery books with hard to read characters. Can be set anywhere, but I'd love a setting I've not seen before (preferably in the US). #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker... @bookendslit (he/him)
107 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

#MSWL-- A main character obsessed with True Crime + a mystery. Preferably in YA?