James McGowan

Literary Agent

BookEnds Literary Agency

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

In my inbox everyday looking for an exciting novel. I'd love an upmarket mystery with complex characters and a hooky crime, or family drama, or something that just catches me by surprise. Here's what I read in 2022. I did not dislike 1 yet. (titles in next tweet) #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I am actively digging through my inbox looking for: #MSWL
▪️Humorous PBs
▪️PB/MG NF about science or history topics
▪️Adult mystery/suspense in the vein of Oyinkan Braithwaite, Steph Cha, Alex North, Tana French
▪️Upmarket family stories
▪️Horror: Psychological! Ghosts!

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I'm all caught up on queries and working my way through all January submissions. Eager to find my next new project!
Looking for:
PB fiction & non-fiction
MG non-fiction & humorous fiction
Adult Mystery, Thriller, Literary & Upmarket #MSWL #QueryUpdate

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I’m actively seeking submissions in:
Literary/Upmarket fiction
Mystery, Crime, Thriller
Humorous middle grade fiction
Middle grade non-fiction
All picture books (fiction & non-fiction)
#MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

We’re sharing our 2020 Must Haves graphics over at @bookendslit. Here’s mine. I’d love to see a query from you! #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

I'm also actively on the look out for #upmarket fiction along the lines of Daisy Jones & The Six and/or Where the Crawdads Sing. Something with really great writing and characters that grab you instantly. #MSWL

James McGowan
@jmcgowanbks
Literary Agent
Literary Agent, author, sitcom enthusiast, professional snacker… the usual. @bookendslit (he/him)
101 MSWL
18 AskAgent
7 Tips

In Literary/Upmarket Fiction, I’m looking mainly for books that explore families like Sing, Unburied, Sing (or groups, like Station Eleven) #MSWL