James McGowan

@jmcgowanbks

Literary Asst. & Social Media Mgr. @bookendslit . PB writer: GOOD NIGHT, OPPY (@boydsmillskane, 2021). Sitcom junkie. QueryMe.Online/jmcgowan | jmcgowanbooks.com

Staten Island, NY

BookEnds Literary Agency

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · Jun 24

I'm dying (ha) to read a crime novel that I can't put down right now. Something along the lines of Attica Locke, Steph Cha, Oyinkan Braithwaite, and Liz Moore. I'd love to see more marginalized characters/writers in the crime space in general #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · May 6

I'd love a good book in my inbox set around a courtroom drama. Something beautifully written and suspenseful like Miracle Creek, or Take it Back, or Nineteen Minutes, or Defending Jacob. I like courtroom dramas, okay #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · Apr 1

#QueryUpdate-- I'm all caught up on all queries, and reading/enjoying my last three submissions. I've updated my #MSWL on our website, and would love to see your query if you have something that fits. Just go here: querymanager.com/query/jmcgowan

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · Feb 13

I am actively digging through my inbox looking for: #MSWL
▪️Humorous PBs
▪️PB/MG NF about science or history topics
▪️Adult mystery/suspense in the vein of Oyinkan Braithwaite, Steph Cha, Alex North, Tana French
▪️Upmarket family stories
▪️Horror: Psychological! Ghosts!

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · Jan 23

I'm all caught up on queries and working my way through all January submissions. Eager to find my next new project!
Looking for:
PB fiction & non-fiction
MG non-fiction & humorous fiction
Adult Mystery, Thriller, Literary & Upmarket #MSWL #QueryUpdate

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · Jan 10

I finally watched The Post (2017) and holy hot damn that was a hell of a movie. I want a historical novel on my list as tense and informative and relevant as that was. #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · Jan 10

I’m actively seeking submissions in:
Literary/Upmarket fiction
Mystery, Crime, Thriller
Humorous middle grade fiction
Middle grade non-fiction
All picture books (fiction & non-fiction)
#MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · Jan 10

We’re sharing our 2020 Must Haves graphics over at @bookendslit. Here’s mine. I’d love to see a query from you! #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 8 Oct 2019

Ashley Congdon @AshleyCCongdon

@jamerrson What themes, topics, styles, etc. excite you right now for picture books? #askagent

Replying to @AshleyCCongdon

Is it fair to say everything? If I had to choose, non-fiction is most exciting to me right now, and I’m especially looking for some climate/environment related stuff. But I always love funny pbs. #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 24 Sep 2019

Some favorites: Margaret Finnegan's WE COULD BE HEROES, GHOST, ONE AND ONLY IVAN.

Next up on my TBR: THE TRUTH AS TOLD BY Mason Buttle
#MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 24 Sep 2019

On the contemporary fiction, if it feels like Jason Reynolds could have wrote it, I'd love to see it. Realistic stories that don't shy away from hard topics. With characters we all can love.#MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 24 Sep 2019

I'm recently open to middle grade, and I'm primarily looking for funny projects, along the lines of THE BAD GUYS, LIONS & LIARS #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 24 Sep 2019

I'd love to find more PB NF-- things like THE SEA BOOK or SEA BEAR. I like little known history and people, or climate/science geared topics. #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 24 Sep 2019

I gravitate towards humorous, sarcastic, clever books like Jory John. I love punny and clever, and ordinary things turned on their heads and made hilarious. Think THE GREAT INDOORS. #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 24 Sep 2019

James McGowan @jamerrson

It's #MSWL day! (pt. 2) (Children's Fiction)

My door will always be open to picture books, running the gamut.
Fiction, non-fiction, funny, heartwarming, STEM, arts, anything. #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 24 Sep 2019

I also love mysteries and thrillers that gravitate towards dark horror elements, like THE WHISPER MAN. One of my top reads so far this year. #MSWL

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 24 Sep 2019

I've been on a #horror kick and would love some more in my inbox. I tend to gravitate towards psychological horror, or ghost stories. #MSWL

Think Jennifer McMahon, Hill House, Paul Tremblay.
I'm not one for demons and creatures or what have you.

James McGowan @jmcgowanbks · 24 Sep 2019

I also *loved* LONG BRIGHT RIVER, and want to see a m/s/t that centers around addiction the way this one does.

On my TBR- THE HUNTING PARTY & THE SILENT PATIENT.
#MSWL