Rachel Stark

Editor

Disney Books

Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

And finally, there's definitely crossover in the subject matter that interests me in graphic novels vs. novels! If you have an MG or YA novel that fits my GN wishlist, have your agent send it! If you have a GN for any age that fits my novel wishlist, same! #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

NOVEL GUIDELINES: I am open only to MG and YA novels. Sadly not open to nonfiction, picture book, chapter book, or adult novel submissions (though, send me all your YA readalikes to One Last Stop, Gideon the Ninth, and A Darker Shade of Magic!) #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Middle grade stories about (non-speaking) animals, human-animal bonds, nature, & high-stakes survival
▫️Think: A Wolf Called Wander, today’s My Side of the Mountain #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Contemporary middle grade stories that take a “light and bright” approach to social change, solidarity, and self-discovery
▫️Think: Front Desk, From the Desk of Zoe Washington, George #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

GRAPHIC NOVEL GUIDELINES: I'm open to GNs for ages 5+ (inc. adult!). Sadly it's hard for me to consider scripts w/o artists attached at this time. Art should be energetic, expressive, inventive, accessible, & commercial—full-color for MG & younger, at least 2-color for YA #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Campy, fun, & funny stories for middle graders & teens that fully commit to the bit while maintaining a strong heart at their core
▫️Think: Lumberjanes, Cucumber Quest
🌟Early reader GNs w/ unforgettable characters, particularly human protagonists, & a strong sales hook #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

🌟Grounded MG fantasy w real-world settings
▫️Think: the Stranger Things of graphic novels (but not necessarily horror!)
🌟Stories with creative, fresh ties to holidays/seasonal moments, esp cultural holidays & those outside of Xmas, V Day, & Halloween
▫️Think: Pumpkinheads #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

(GNs) 🌟Middle grade humor with a big heart—I’d particularly like to explore careers outside of policing that nonetheless lend themselves to multiple adventures over the course of a series
▫️Think: Dog Man, InvestiGators #MSWL

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

New year, new #MSWL! And my big 2022 news is that, in addition to being @DisneyBooks's resident graphic novel expert (send me all your future comics bestsellers!), I am opening to YA and MG novel submissions for the first time in ~5 years.

Here's what I'm looking for (thread)

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

MG
• Roshani Chokshi's Aru Shah series
• Veera Hiranandani's Night Diary
• Jason Reynolds's Ghost
• Kelly Yang's Front Desk
• Celia C. Pérez's First Rule of Punk
• Alex Gino's George
• Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon
• Holly Black's Doll Bones
#MSWL 23/?

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

MG
• Grace Ellis & Noelle Stevenson's Lumberjanes series
• Dav Pilkey's Dog Man series
• Ben Hatke's Zita the Spacegirl
• Cece Bell's El Deafo
• Jerry Craft's New Kid
• Jen Wang's Stargazing
• Mike Curato's Flamer

Chapter Book
• Luke Pearson's Hilda series
#MSWL 19/?

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

• Zany middle grade humor with a big heart, in the vein of Dog Man—I’d particularly like to explore careers outside of policing that nonetheless lend themselves to multiple adventures over the course of a series
#MSWL 10/?

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

I'm primarily focused on MG & YA comics, but I'd love to find some early reader/chapter book-level comics that feel in line with these interests, and I selectively acquire graphic novels for adults, as well, for Disney's new adult imprint, Hyperion Avenue. #MSWL 3/?

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

Bringing it back because I'm not playing: #mswl Inspired by Gothamist & DNAinfo, I want MG about kids of union-busted parents creating their own union.

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

#mswl Inspired by Gothamist & DNAinfo, I want a middle grade book about kids of union-busted parents creating their own union.

Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips
Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips
Rachel Stark
@syntactics
Editor
Editor of graphic novels, novels & IP @DisneyBooks ▫️ House Stark; more of an Arya than a Tony ▫️ Opinions my own; pic @JarrettWilliams 's ▫️ gender’s a lie🤷‍♀️
114 MSWL
6 Tips

#MSWL: An MG series as tightly plotted; full of great chars; & thoughtful about race, gender, & colonialism as Avatar: The Last Airbender