Norma

Assistant Editor

Kensington Books

assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

PS. I also want to see some atmospheric horror by marginalized writers. Show me what you got! #MSWL

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

And agents, if you have a project that you feel meets the above criteria but have questions, shoot me an email so we can have a meeting and talk books. Or if you did send it to me and I haven’t followed up with you, please shoot me a reminder. 😅 Thanks so much for reading! 💚

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

My white whale (I have been asking for years!) is an atmospheric traditional contemporary mystery in the vein of Louise Penny and Suzanne Chazin. Bonus points if the author and characters are both marginalized! #MSWL

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

Because romance is such a competitive and crowded and shrinking marketplace in print, those submissions must have strong, complex, and relatable characters. The hooks must be compelling, the narrative voice must be entertaining, and the pacing has *got* to be just right. #MSWL

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

For non-fiction, I am looking for prescriptive self-help and health titles that are targeted toward millennial and adult Gen Z readers, as well as marginalized audiences of all ages. #MSWL

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

Norma @normajeanesays

Hello, literary agents! It’s been awhile since I’ve done this, so here’s a thread of #MSWL requests, aka the submissions I want to see in my inbox:

First off, work by BIPOC, LGBTQ+, and/or disabled authors are always welcome in the genres I edit, which includes romance yes, but also mystery and thrillers, upmarket fiction, fiction with fantasy/sci-fi/ speculative elements that are mainstream crossovers, and nonfiction.

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

YO AGENTS, WHERE IS MY LATINX HORROR SUBMISSIONS? #mswl

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

okay i can't stop thinking about it, which means i have to #mswl it:

agents, if you can send me an adventure romance that evokes the fun, the fear, and love story that's in THE MUMMY (1999), you may just find yourself a book deal

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

sarah maclean @sarahmaclean

@normajeanesays Norma. Only one of us is an editor. FIND ME SOME ALPHAS.

So, this dovetails pretty nicely into my other Book Twitter convo today.

Agents, please help me. For Romancelandia, and Sarah 💕 #MSWL

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent
Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent
Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent
Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent
Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

Happy #MSWL day! If I don’t get a romance/women’s fiction submission about a 30-year-old Latinx woman who’s throwing her quinceañera part 2 (aka the one she never had) and finally gets the boy who got away, I will flip. Think Never Been Kissed meets The Wedding Singer con azucar.

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent
Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent

Hey Black romance and women's fiction writers: I'd love to see your take on a Hot Girl Summer book. #MSWL

Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent
Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent
Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent
Norma
@normajeanesays
Assistant Editor
assistant editor | writer | sometimes actor | founding member of @LatinxinPub and @PocPub | BTS! BTS! | Swiftie in training | messaging and data rates may apply
57 MSWL
25 AskAgent