Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent

Literary Agent

P.S. Literary Agency

Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

My bookdom for an (expert-driven, in-depth, well researched, paradigm-shifting) exposé on tipping culture #MSWL

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips
Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips
Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips
Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips
Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

If your work falls in one of these categories, I would be honored to hear from you. Please refer to the PSLA website for submission guidelines, including our response policy. While I love connecting with the #WritingCommunity on social media, this is not the place to query me.

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

TV SHOWS are also a great way to find the perfect comp for your WIP. Some of my faves are SUCCESSION, VIDA, YELLOWJACKETS, INSECURE, THE GOOD PLACE, MARE OF EASTTOWN, SHRILL, TED LASSO, THE GOOD FIGHT. If your work is similar to these, please query me!

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

As long as your work does not fall under a category/genre I don’t rep (see above), I would eagerly welcome your query. It’s impossible to list everything I’m looking for and, besides, I enjoy being surprised by reading something I wouldn’t have thought I’d love, but that I do!

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent @ceciliaclyra

I do not require a content note in a query, though it is appreciated and welcome. In terms of personal triggers, the only thing that I can’t handle is animal suffering/cruelty.

I am *not* the right agent for the nonfiction categories of true crime, sports, and music. I am also *not* a good fit for stories with passive protagonists. I do *not* represent children’s books or YA, though, of course, my fabulous colleagues at PSLA do!

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

A confession: I find stories where rich people get in trouble to be deliciously wicked. And I love all things dark. In fact, if you’d classify your story as dark (whether just ‘dark’ or ‘dark-type’ such as ‘dark comedy’), I might be the agent for you!

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

I adore all tropes—there’s no such thing as an overdone trope as there’s always a way to infuse originality/freshness into a story. My favorite tropes include characters caught between two worlds, identity swaps, outsider-looking-in, and anything involving con artists.

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

…BIPOC, LGBTQ2S+, disabled or chronically ill, and neurodivergent authors: I would love to hear from you—especially fellow Latinx writers. Feminist stories will always have a special place in my heart. To offend misogynists is both my mission and pleasure.

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

I am passionate about representing under or misrepresented voices and stories that contribute to a larger cultural conversation whether explicitly (e.g., a nonfiction title on social justice) or subtly (a comedy of manners about a mixed-raced Latinx family)…

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

…The #2 reason in fiction is because the story plateaus (escalating tension is a must!); and in nonfiction because there isn’t enough original ‘meat’ (case studies, research, etc.) to support the claims.

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

For fiction and nonfiction: I fall in love with stellar writing on the level of the line, voice, and rhythm. The number #1 reason why I pass on a query is because the writing is not where it needs to be given the competitive traditional publishing market…

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

I consider memoirs to be a blend of fiction and nonfiction. AFTERSHOCKS by Nadia Owusu, WILD GAME by Adrienne Brodeur, and MY BROKEN LANGUAGE by Quiara Alegría Hudes are my all-time favorites. A good memoir reads like a novel and is packed with conflict, tension, and stakes.

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

Contemporary fiction in the vein of Curtis Sittenfeld, Meg Wolitzer, J. Courtney Sullivan, and Delia Ephron is something I’m always looking for. Liane Moriarty is an all-time favorite author. (And, yes, Delia is my favorite Ephron. Sorry, Nora.)

Cecilia (Cece) Lyra, Agent
@ceciliaclyra
Literary Agent
Storyteller & Storyseller / Associate Literary Agent @PSLiterary ✍🏽 Co-host of @TSNOTYAW podcast 🎧 Feminist. Latinx. Immigrant. Reader.
118 MSWL
57 AskAgent
2 Tips

I’m a sucker for short story collections, particularly those with a hypnotic, slice-of-life feel. THE OFFICE OF HISTORICAL CORRECTIONS by Danielle Evans and TELL ME WHO WE WERE by Kate McQuade are favorites of mine. Bonus points for voice-driven, idiosyncratic writing.