Catherine Hedrick Armstrong

Literary Agent

The Purcell Agency

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

#WritingCommunity
New on my #MSWL when I reopen is a paranormal mystery in the vein of @Ll20Victoria 's GHOST HUNTER series (Dang, I miss that series!) or @JulietBlackwell 's WITCHCRAFT MYSTERIES...but with a super-strong romantic will-they-or-won't-they sub plot.

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

#WritingCommunity
I'm OPENING TO QUERIES on June 3rd & will turn over a new leaf by responding to all queries w/in 30 days. With that in mind, please take your time sending your query. If I don't get slammed in the first 24-48 hours, I'll stay open indefinitely! Hello, Anxiety!

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

greg cantwell @gregmcantwell

I recently finished a novel set in the world of sports. Any tips for finding agents who’d be interested in sports fiction?

Oh gosh, aside from doing a search for #MSWL , I’m not sure. I’m actively searching for (preferably) a high-level gymnast or diver who is forced to give up their sport due to extenuating circumstances and how they cope. But I’d be open to other sports.

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

#WritingCommunity I'm still closed to queries but will reopen in early May. Until then, feel free to take a look at my #MSWL and edit-edit-edit those manuscripts! The majority of my passes are NOT due to a bad concept but writing that still needs work.
manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/cathie-hedrick-armstrong/

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips
Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

#MSWL
I would love a sports romance in the vein of Jason and Kylie Kelce’s origin story. Make him a teddy bear like Jason and give him a playboy brother like Travis for a possible book 2. Bonus points if she’s a pro athlete, too.

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

Since I’m opened to queries, I’ll throw out something I’m interested in getting that’s not on my #MSWL : “accessible” fantasy like THE FOURTH WING!

Give me dragons or gryphons or other mythical creatures in a GROUNDED world that DOES NOT need a lot of world building.

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips
Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

#WritingCommunity

Though I'm not open to queries YET, I plan to open again soon and have updated my #MSWL.

So polish off your manuscripts and add me to your list of agents to query. While I don't have an exact date, I'm thinking Aug/Sep.

manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/cath…

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

I’m currently listening to @ReadPippa’s STUD IN THE STACKS and I’m dying to rep something with this level of humor. I mean *Laugh-out-Loud* HILARIOUS! If you can WITHOUT EXAGGERATING, comp your ms to this or one of her other LOL titles, comment below—I want it NOW!! #MSWL

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

To authors paying attention to #MSWL, here's my shoutout to MAKE SURE YOU VISIT THE AGENT'S WEBSITE & FOLLOW THEIR SUB REQUESTS TO THE LETTER!

For myself, I NEVER accept queries via email, so if you email me w/a query, it will always get deleted without reading or responding.

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

Though I'm still closed to queries & will open BRIEFLY in April for Hist Fic & YA Myst/Thrillers, here's my full #MSWL. I'll open again after my brief April opening & will want everything on this list and more! So work on your queries and edit those pages!
manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/cath…

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

I'm still closed until about April. BUT...I'll reopen for about 1 week only & will give advance notice here. I'll be looking for ONLY HISTORICAL ROMANCE (Regency, preferred) & YA Mystery/Thriller. Strong desire for BIPOC & LGBTQ authors/stories. So get those queries ready!
#MSWL

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips
Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

#MSWL #YA with an Elite (or very close) level gymnast making the very difficult decision to leave the sport, either due to injury or burnout.

If you have this while I’m closed to queries, DM me for a link.

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips
Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

#MSWL I’m a MAJOR Garth Brooks fan. If you have a manuscript inspired by a Garth Brooks song or that uses a GB song list, I WANT IT! I’m closed for queries but DM me for a link. #WritingCommunity #GarthBrooks

Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips
Catherine Hedrick Armstrong
@C_H_Armstrong
Literary Agent
Lit agent at @TPurcellAgency (thepurcellagency.com). Leader of #TeamCathie . Header courtesy of @kwrites4 .
48 MSWL
17 AskAgent
3 Tips

Tessa Woodward @TessaofAvonlea

Has someone written a novelization of this yet? If not, please write it for me! #mswl washingtonpost.com/history/2019/0…

Oh wow! I would read this in either fiction or narrative nonfiction. An epistolary format in fiction should be FABULOUS!!! #MSWL.

Note: I'm closed to queries, but if you have this EXACT thing, I would read it.