Megan Ilnitzki

@megilnit

Associate Editor and Word Witch at HarperCollins Children's, opinions are my own. She/her

HarperCollins Children's

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 30

Agent friends, if you haven’t connected with the fabulous Rose Pleuler yet, you totally should! She’s part of the Harper Alley team and is hungry for graphic novels across all age groups! @rosepleuler #MSWL

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

And across all age groups, stories where, despite nay-saying voices (whether they be internal/external or both), a main character comes into their own and recognizes their inherent power, self-worth, and unique place in the world. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

YA rom-coms reminiscent of a Nora Ephron film with clever hooks, witty dialogue, and swoon-worthy characters #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

Spooky, atmospheric MG. Think JUST SOUTH OF HOME and the Serafina series. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

Stories with protagonists ablaze with the same gumption, courage, and determination to protect the planet as Amariyanna Copeny, Greta Thunberg, and Autumn Peltier. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

YA that tackles timely topics with a fresh, unforgettable voice that grabs the reader and never lets go. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

I’m still on the hunt for a MG/ YA Practical Magic/Rules of Magic-esque witch book #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

MG stories that help destigmatize mental illness #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

I devoured THE MOON WITHIN over the holiday break. Would love to see more MG or YA novels in-verse, please. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

MG or YA stories about complicated family dynamics, sibling bonds, and found families. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

Contemporary, heartfelt coming-of-age MG in the vein of THE REMARKABLE JOURNEY OF COYOTE SUNRISE, SONG FOR A WHALE and THE LINE TENDER. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

SWEEP: THE STORY OF A GIRL AND HER MONSTER was one of my favorite non-Harper books of 2019 and I’d love to see more MG/YA historical fantasy that’s just as compelling, poignant, and imaginative. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

Lush, high-stakes MG/ YA fantasy with series potential featuring unlikely heroes you can’t help but root for and writing that knocks your socks off. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

So first and foremost, across all age ranges and genres, I’m always looking for stories from diverse voices and underrepresented creators. #weneeddiversebooks now more than ever, especially ones full of adventure, magic, and love. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · Jan 7

Putting some #MSWL items out into the universe in the hopes they find their way to me in 2020! Agent friends, I’m actively acquiring PB, MG, and YA but I’m really looking to build my MG/YA lists this year. Below are some things I’d love to see right now. 👇🏼👇🏼👇🏼

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · 21 Oct 2019

Also relinking to my full #MSWL page as I'm also looking for the right PB and YA projects. manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/mega…

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · 21 Oct 2019

MG stories that help destigmatize mental illness. #mswl

Megan Ilnitzki @megilnit · 21 Oct 2019

Imaginative MG animal fantasy. Avi's POPPY series is one of my evergreen favorites. #mswl