Nadia El-Fassi

Editor

Orbit Books

SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

All of this is in addition to seeing anything that’s fantasy romance and fantasy horror, of course, but I wanted to dedicate a special thread to the above topics since I’m not seeing as much love in my subs list for them right now.

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

I love seeing djinn on the page, Muslim characters as heroes. I love settings that feel like feudal Japan, or that have that Blue Eyed Samurai vibe. And anything that feels like epic fantasy x horror. And DRAGONS, always dragons.

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

I would love to see novels that explore Jewish mysticism - I'm hoping that Swordcatcher and the new Leigh Bardugo will bring about more Jewish epic fantasy!

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

I have a major soft spot (and this goes for both fantasy and sf) for nuns, monks, convents, religious orders, clerics and leviathan gods. I’m also a sucker for anything Arthurian, Middle Eastern & North African, anti-colonial…

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

I love all the classic quest tropes, intricate magic systems, assassins, courtesans, courtly intrigue (special mention to my all time fave The Goblin Emperor for mastering bureaucratic fantasy)…

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

I’m a HUGE Robin Hobb fan, so anything reminiscent of the Realm of the Elderlings, count me in. I love classics like Lies of Locke Lamora, Trudi Canavan, Kushiel’s Dart (yes this is erotic epic fantasy), Red Sister…

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

Something I’m keen to see more of in my submissions inbox this year is epic fantasy and sci-fi, MSWL thread, 1/?

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

I thought I might try a #MSWL thread with a slightly different spin. Agents, these are a selection of my favourite books of all time, in no particular order, so you can get to know the kind of SFF I love.

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

#MSWL Fantasy romances with the energy of β€˜I would still love you even if you were a worm’

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

I want romantasy that reminds me of the line in the Gary Oldman Dracula where he says β€˜I’ve crossed oceans of time to find you’ #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

Agents of Twitter, please send me your spiciest fantasy romances. I truly cannot emphasise enough that I love romance of ALL kinds, so if you have something and you're thinking 'is this too spicy to send to an SFF editor?' It is not. Please send it to me #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

I'm also interested in SFF that shows characters with a strong sense of spirituality. Though caveat, I'm not the right editor for overtly Christian narratives.

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

Faith doesn't necessarily feel like a popular theme in SFF these days, but I am always interested in novels that deal with it. Whether it's religious horror, positive representations of Islam in high fantasy, or nuns in space, send it my way #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

Oh no I have one more for now: Pre-Raphaelite inspired fantasy, sf or horror

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

Bureaucratic fantasy in the vein of The Goblin Emperor and The Traitor Baru Cormorant

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

Agents, I'm back from holidays and ready to read! Send me your comfort sff, sprawling worlds, delicious romance and creepy horror! #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL
Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

✨EXCITING NEWS!✨I'm so delighted that I'm now a Commissioning Editor at @orbitbooks! Please keep sending me your SFF and horror!!

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

Spent my weekend reading everything by Tessa Bailey I could get my hands on, and now I'm desperate for a fantasy romance (sans fae) with that perfect ratio of steam to plot #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
72 MSWL

Someone please give me a Pre-Raphaelite inspired fantasy. The yearning, the drama, unparalleled. #MSWL