Nadia El-Fassi

Editor

Orbit Books

SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

I thought I might try a #MSWL thread with a slightly different spin. Agents, these are a selection of my favourite books of all time, in no particular order, so you can get to know the kind of SFF I love.

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

would love to read a horror submission about the β€˜third man effect’ it’s wonderfully creepy and could be really heartfelt too #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

not a week goes by that I don’t think about this painting. the human feet. the shawl. the smoke rising from the chimney. the crevice in the tree. the way the grass looks like waves I can almost hear it. whatever this kind of horror is, I want it #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

#MSWL Fantasy romances with the energy of β€˜I would still love you even if you were a worm’

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL
Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Agents, I'm keen to see more horror from POC and queer authors! Especially keen on any folk, possession or deep-sea horror from a non-Western perspective. #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

I want romantasy that reminds me of the line in the Gary Oldman Dracula where he says β€˜I’ve crossed oceans of time to find you’ #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Agents of Twitter, please send me your spiciest fantasy romances. I truly cannot emphasise enough that I love romance of ALL kinds, so if you have something and you're thinking 'is this too spicy to send to an SFF editor?' It is not. Please send it to me #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Extremely niche #MSWL: a supernatural deep sea horror about the 'Julia' sound, iykyk

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Two types of horror that I'm especially keen to see in my submissions inbox: nautical and deep sea in the vein of INTO THE DROWNING DEEP and academic horror that reminds me of THE HISTORIAN. #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

I'm also interested in SFF that shows characters with a strong sense of spirituality. Though caveat, I'm not the right editor for overtly Christian narratives.

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Faith doesn't necessarily feel like a popular theme in SFF these days, but I am always interested in novels that deal with it. Whether it's religious horror, positive representations of Islam in high fantasy, or nuns in space, send it my way #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

I would love to see a horror submission that takes inspiration from the Great God Pan - give me unearthly awakenings, sinister horned gods and eerie woodlands #MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Oh no I have one more for now: Pre-Raphaelite inspired fantasy, sf or horror

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Last but not least, fucked up deer. Or really any forest animal that looks normal at first but on second glance there is something not quite right. Why are its eyes so large? What is that hanging from the end of its antlers?

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Sentient houses. Haunted, hallowed ground. The feeling that something is watching you from the pages of the book and you simply cannot turn off your light.

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Bureaucratic fantasy in the vein of The Goblin Emperor and The Traitor Baru Cormorant

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Paladins, warrior nuns, battle monks exploring their faith and call to duty

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Pen pal romance. If you have two people falling in love through letters, I am here for it

Nadia El-Fassi
@chronicles_of_n
Editor
SFF Commissioning Editor @orbitbooks . Fantasy and rom-com author. Powerlifter. MA in Poetry. Muslim. Bi πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ. She/they. Views my own. πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦/ πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
69 MSWL

Nadia El-Fassi Ω†Ψ§Ψ―ΩŠΩ‡ @chronicles_of_n

Publishing is open again so here’s a list of very specific things I always love to find in submissions #MSWL thread

A scene in a library, bookshop or better yet, a magical bookshop. I love characters that are archivists, librarians, collectors of ancient manuscripts with dead languages only they can read