Danielle Burby

@DanielleBurby

Agent at Nelson Literary Agency. Gryffindor. INFJ. Cat lady. Intersectional feminist. Fan of Virginia Woolf, bad reality TV, and the Oxford comma. (She/her)

New York, NY

Nelson Literary Agency

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · Apr 8

Itching for some really great, upmarket/book club-y women's fiction to add to my list! Give me complex romantic relationships, complicated families, nuanced emotions, sisters, seaside locations, lovely writing #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · Mar 29

Really in the mood for some beautiful middle grade #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · Mar 27

Jamming out to Hayley Kiyoko while I work this morning and the entire Expectations album is my #MSWL tbh

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · Feb 14

Super in the mood for a great sister story. Just putting that out into the universe #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 12 Dec 2018

This is a #MSWL I like to put out there every now and then. I want an upmarket women’s fiction where a family member is on trial for murder and the protagonist(s) don’t know whether he did it or not. I want to see the meat of the emotions in that unthinkable situation.

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 9 Jul 2018

As a true crime fan, I always wonder about the family of a patriarch convicted of murder—especially in a case where the truth of what happened is unclear and the family stands behind him despite their secret doubts. I want the upmarket women’s fiction version of this story #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 3 Jul 2018

Renewing my call for diverse and own voices fiction in all genres. I always want to magnify underrepresented voices #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 3 Jul 2018

And, always, I am looking for imaginative MG adventure! #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 3 Jul 2018

My friends, I am looking for some light and fun YA rom coms with a killer voice. Send them my way! #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 5 Jun 2018

YA Pride @YA_Pride

QRT with the LGBTQIAP+ book of your dreams 📚💖

(This can be published, unpublished, a WIP, or just an idea that you wish someone would write!)

Also! Also! A happy queer YA love story with lots of sizzle. Any genre. I want a couple I can ship and then I want that ship to sail. And let them both live happily ever after--I don't want a Clexa situation here, my friends #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 5 Jun 2018

YA Pride @YA_Pride

QRT with the LGBTQIAP+ book of your dreams 📚💖

(This can be published, unpublished, a WIP, or just an idea that you wish someone would write!)

I'm still looking for a f/f unrequited love YA in the tradition of Eponine and Angelica Schuyler. Also, on an entirely different note, lady pirates. I always love a lady pirate. #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 30 May 2018

Things I'm looking for right now: Creepy atmospheric forests, queer love stories, YA and MG fantasy, sister stories, boarding schools, complicated family and friendship dynamics, seaside novels, literary writing with commercial plot, interesting magic, feminism #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 27 Apr 2018

I really want a YA with suspense elements set in a Gossip Girl type of world and/or a boarding school #MSWL

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 24 Apr 2018

I'd love to see an unrequited love YA in the tradition of Eponine or Angelica Schuyler from the POV of a queer girl #MSWL