Sci-fi

Ali Herring @HerringAli · 12 Sep 2018

#MSWL I’m drawn to high-concept commercial fiction with a literary flair! I also love a funny MG voice. I want all the YA & MG (contemporary, sci-fi, fantasy, paranormal). Yes to spooky MG and coming age. Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense, (Secular and Inspirational).

Lydia Sharp @lydia_sharp · 12 Sep 2018

still on YA:
I want a queer mermaid book
I want a queer pirate book
both of those in one? yes that too
better yet - make it sci-fi - space pirates and space mermaids and they're all queer
#MSWL

Kelsy @kelsythompson · 12 Sep 2018

My eclectic YA/MG #mswl:
-space opera in the vein of FIREFLY/GoT
-MC who writes sketch comedy/performs improv
-#ownvoices, esp. immigration/refugee experiences
-supernatural/fantasy w/ emphasis on non-western cultures
-#STEM w/ female MC
-sex-positive, feminist YA
-YA activists

Lydia Sharp @lydia_sharp · 12 Sep 2018

Lydia Sharp @lydia_sharp

I have a short break now between the close of a meeting and the start of a new edit so here is a quick thread of my current #MSWL 😊
Happy MSWL Day!
I am an editor for a small romance publisher. We accept submissions from authors and agents. Here is what I want to see more of:

my main interest is YA - all genres - I'm open to nearly *anything* in YA
I'd like to see more:
*diverse lead characters and a range of diversity rep
*more queer characters in sci-fi and fantasy especially
*stories that explore uncommon places and themes
#MSWL

Hali Baumstein @halibaumstein · 12 Sep 2018

Hali Baumstein @halibaumstein

Oh hey, #MSWL day! I don't take unsolicited subs, but agents, here's what I'm looking for these days...

In YA, I would love to find a near-future sci-fi in the vein of Black Mirror or Orphan Black. I also just saw the film Ex Machina, which asks incredibly fascinating questions about AI. #MSWL

Emmanuelle Morgue-en @EmMorgen · 12 Sep 2018

And my usual SF/fantasy for any age, diverse voices, YA & MG. Contemp graphic novel/memoir. #MSWL

Saritza🇵🇷Hernandez @epubagent · 12 Sep 2018

Saritza🇵🇷Hernandez @epubagent

You know what I’d love to see done well? An erotic romance story set in a brothel in space. Basically, The Expanse meets Copper. #MSWL

Still looking for a well-done erotic romance story set in a brothel in space. Would also take SFF space opera without romantic element set in a brothel in space. Give me tons of aliens, a diverse cast & a kick-ass Madam! #MSWL

Connor Goldsmith @dreamoforgonon · 12 Sep 2018

I could spend ages thinking about #MSWL day so I will just be succinct: in fiction still looking mainly for smart SF/F with a fresh hook, especially by/about ppl from marginalized POVs. In nonfic: ppl w/established platforms in pop culture/media, humor, social politics, history.

Stacy Whitman @stacylwhitman · 12 Sep 2018

Also actively seeking Muslim stories, both contemporary and SFF. In particular, science fiction, as I'd love to see stories of POC we don't normally get to see having adventures in the future. Also goes for SF starring indigenous characters. #MSWL

Stacy Whitman @stacylwhitman · 12 Sep 2018

Exception: I am starting to seek MG & YA nonfiction graphic novels with specific appeal to the school and library market #MSWL

I love SFF with strong curricular connections that would appeal to teachers/librarians incorporating them into curriculum/pairing with classics

Weronika Janczuk @WeronikaJanczuk · 12 Sep 2018

Updated #MSWL on m'blog (bit.ly/2p3a5iO), but eager for a few things (beyond anything delightful):

*YA: literary sci-fi; anything science fantasy-esque
*thriller/crime: female-driven literary; intellectual puzzles/characters
*characters w/ intellectual, emotional gifts

Amanda Jain @wensday95 · 12 Sep 2018

Time for some #mswl tweets! Here are just some of the things I'm looking for right now.

In general, I rep adult mystery, romance, women's fiction, some SF/F, and upmarket projects, and love to see historical fiction across all genres. I also rep narrative nonfiction.

Carlisle Spiderwebber 🕸 @carliebeth · 12 Sep 2018

I am only interested in SFF if the audience is YA or MG #MSWL

Kortney Price @kortney_price · 12 Sep 2018

I'm also still looking for my MG sci-fi "Shenanigans on the space station" manuscript... think prankster, trouble maker, or majorly accident prone characters who go on a wild adventure #mswl

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · 12 Sep 2018

And I like a little genre mixing, so send me your upmarket historical mysteries and psychological sci-fi horror and magical realism retelling of Hamlet. #MSWL

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · 12 Sep 2018

I like literary, high concept sci-fi in the vein of Ray Bradbury or Philip K. Dick. Bradbury in particular was great at really character-driven, emotion-driven stories, whether they were sci-fi, horror or contemporary. That's what I'm looking for in sci-fi. #MSWL

Kelly 📚 @LitAgentKelly · 12 Sep 2018

#MSWL As always, I'm so in love with YA. Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Contemporary, Historical, etc.. The things I'm not all that into are actually time travel (in any age range) and alternate dimensions (as of right now...little tired of them...).

Kaitlyn Johnson @kaitylynne13 · 12 Sep 2018

I would love to see dystopia or fantasy/sci fi with abandoned theme parks. Think Doctor Who "Nightmare in Silver" episode or Chernobyl playground feels. Points for setting as haven to homeless kids #MSWL

Susan Velazquez @susannprogress · 12 Sep 2018

Time to share my #MSWL! For SFF: Black Mirror-esque thrillers that imagine the dark and twisted places tech could take us. My fave eps were "Nosedive" and "Men Against Fire." Also want fantasies built on myths and legends, especially from diverse cultures.