MG

Lisa Yoskowitz @LisaYoskowitz · Jan 7

(agent #mswl continued)
-memoirs or close narrative nonfiction showcasing underrepresented experiences and unique perspectives
-middle grade contemporary with a Judy Blume vibe (fin, for now!)

Lisa Yoskowitz @LisaYoskowitz · Jan 7

Agent friends, my #mswl is overflowing! Please think of me in 2019 for exciting new:
-memoirs that bring to mind a YA Educated—delving deep into an author’s journey through and/or out of an insular community
-illustrated or graphic novel middle grade nonfiction or memoir (1/3)

john w. rudolph @johnwrudolph · Jan 7

Middle Grade: Humor--if you can truly make me laugh, I'll sign you up. Literary: I've never had a Newbery-winning client and I want one. Adventure stories that aren't fantasy, grounded fantasy, sci-fi. #ownvoices for sure. Artists, MG graphic novels! #MSWL

john w. rudolph @johnwrudolph · Jan 7

Happy New Year! For 2019, I thought I'd throw out some #MSWL ideas for writers. Broadly, I'm looking for all kinds of picture books by author/illustrators, MG, YA, Childrens' NF, Adult Narrative NF, and adult Lit Fiction. Details thread follows:

Martha Mihalick @MarthaMihalick · Jan 7

Two #MSWL thoughts from over the weekend: I'd love to see the joy & playfulness & heart & smarts of shows like Jane the Virgin and The Good Place captured in book form for MG and/or YA.

Lauren Spieller @laurenspieller · Jan 7

In anticipation of reopening to queries on *1/15/19*, I've updated my #MSWL, and added a new wishlist item: MG graphic novels!

manuscriptwishlist.com/mswl-post/laur…

Lynnette Novak @Lynnette_Novak · Jan 6

What am I needing right now? Middle grade, middle grade, middle grade fiction!!! Paste query and 1st 5 pages in email and send to: querylynnette (at) theseymouragency (dot) com. #MSWL #MG #MGlit

Ashley Wyrick @ashley_wyrick · Jan 5

On the hunt again with another #mswl tweet. YA or MG with an unreliable MC.

Ann Leslie Tuttle @AnnLeslieTuttle · Jan 5

#MSWL. Also love Middle Grade stories addressing need for kindness, showing characters overcoming physical and mental obstacles and showing inclusion. Love messages against bullying, being courageous and taking risks.
Welcome stories set in school, magic worlds and at home.

Ann Leslie Tuttle @AnnLeslieTuttle · Jan 5

#MSWL. Just finished Louisiana’s Way Home, and it typifies some of what I’m seeking in Middle Grade. I love the voice, Southern setting, eccentric characters, secrets & a fearless girl finding her way.

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

9/ #MSWL: Middle-grade and YA graphic novels about identity, particularly coming-of-age stories that explore relationships and friendships with emotional depth. Books like This One Summer, Real Friends, and American Born Chinese.

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

8/ #MSWL: High-stakes MG and YA contemp that feature breakers of tradition and characters who forge their own paths, as well as novels about identity and overcoming adversity. Wonderful books like I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, Dear Martin, and The Stars Beneath Our Feet

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

6/ #MSWL: I'm ALWAYS on the hunt for affecting, beautifully-written middle grade contemporary in the vein of Kate DiCamillo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Katherine Applegate. Stories that feel like coming of age experiences (I refuse to let YA monopolize this term!).

Brian Geffen @Brian_Geffen · Jan 4

4/ #MSWL: I would love to find more MG fantasy that combines commercial, high concept plotting with gorgeous prose. Books packed with action, adventure, heart, & friendship that tow the line between literary and commercial. Wildly original worldbuilding, always!

Michael Bourret #YesOn10 @MichaelBourret · Jan 3

Time for a 2019 #MSWL. I am very much looking for MG and chapter books. Much as I love YA, I have a lot of it!