Family

Kate Nash #FBPE @katenashagent · 1d

BBC drama #MrsWilson was just brilliant on all levels. If you are writing a novel with family drama anything like this, send it in! #MSWL #amwriting katenashlit.co.uk

Danielle Burby @DanielleBurby · 3d

This is a #MSWL I like to put out there every now and then. I want an upmarket women’s fiction where a family member is on trial for murder and the protagonist(s) don’t know whether he did it or not. I want to see the meat of the emotions in that unthinkable situation.

Melanie Fried @Melanie_Fried · Dec 8

#mswl: historical (1900s), romcom, immigrant stories, diverse voices, high society, light suspense or speculative hook, campus setting, southern, complex female friendships, family dramas, gothic, nostalgia. Upmarket with commercial hook. Agented only.

jennifer grimREAPERaldi @JA_Grimaldi · Dec 3

DYING (ha) for more YA horror in my inbox, especially speculative/family-centric/this-monster-is-a-metaphor in the vein of THE BABADOOK or HAUNTING OF HILL HOUSE #mswl

Natascha Morris @SoCalledYALife · Dec 3

Day 3 of #25DaysofMSWL: THE THIRTEENTH TALE meets THE LIGHT BETWEEN WORLDS. Both books are beautifully written, and I love the idea of uncovering family secrets. #MSWL

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Dec 2

"Plot-driven story of marriage, complicated family drama, or mother/daughter relationships i.e. THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS, EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU, MATING FOR LIFE, THE NEST, SHE REGRETS NOTHING, THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING" @carlywatters #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Nov 26

"Commercial/upmarket fiction that handles family secrets/reconciliation w/tenderness like THE MEMORY GARDEN" @kurestinarmada #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Nov 19

"Family secrets & single events that chance the course of many lives i.e. COMMONWEALTH, ONE DAY, VERSIONS OF US, ATONEMENT" @carlywatters #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

Hannah Allaman @hallaman13 · Nov 14

My number one wish list item right now is heartfelt, voice- and relationship-driven contemporary MG. Recent faves like IVY ABERDEEN, LOVE LIKE SKY, and FRONT DESK gave me families, friendships, and crushes that felt achingly, oh so real. If you have it, I want it! 😊 #MSWL

Kiki Nguyen @kianangu · Oct 23

I am currently reading BIRD BOX (the SCARIEST book ever omfg) and obsessively rewatching The Haunting of Hill House and I would literally murder a grandma to get an Adult or YA horror that exploits family dynamics #mswl

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Oct 18

"Plot-driven story of marriage, complicated family drama, or mother/daughter relationships i.e. THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS, EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU, MATING FOR LIFE, THE NEST, SHE REGRETS NOTHING, THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING" @carlywatters #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Oct 11

"Commercial/upmarket fiction that handles family secrets/reconciliation w/tenderness like TELL THE WOLVES I'M HOME" @kurestinarmada #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

Sarah Guan @Sarah_Guan · Oct 2

Sarah Guan @Sarah_Guan

All this chatter about a vampire (and werewolf) comeback. I have thoughts...

I like my supernatural, human-but-not characters. But I’d love some new takes—not the resurrecting of classics that worked the last time around. Let’s see new perspectives get a bite at that apple.

After a fantastic chat with @hroot, @tayhaggerty, and the Orbit editorial team this afternoon, I’ve realized that one of my evergreen #MSWL items is “sprawling, deeply messed up, magical families who both love and hate each other, and maybe change the world sometimes.”

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Oct 1

"Family secrets & single events that chance the course of many lives i.e. COMMONWEALTH, ONE DAY, VERSIONS OF US, ATONEMENT" @carlywatters #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

Rotem Moscovich @Spanish_Broom · Sep 26

Send me your YA or MG GNs that capture the immigrant family feel of Kim’s Convenience! #mswl

Kristy Hunter @KristySHunter · Sep 25

I'd love to find a multi-generational story that completely pulls you. Something that really highlights the complexity of family relationships—all the love and crazy. #a #wf #ownvoices #MSWL

P.S. Literary Agency @PSLiterary · Sep 21

"Commercial/upmarket fiction that handles family secrets/reconciliation w/tenderness like THE MEMORY GARDEN" @kurestinarmada #MSWL psliterary.com/submissions/

Weronika Janczuk @WeronikaJanczuk · Sep 18

Has everyone seen the trailer for *Mary Poppins Returns*? If not, it's an absolute must: bit.ly/2D7ARjL. I'd absolutely love a #novel that captures something of the vibrant imagination, color, humor, and family life portrayed here! #MSWL

Tahra Seplowin @calixofcoffee · Sep 12

Super voicey, dramatic, fun, sexy (or not!) stories that feature a big, nosy, means-well-but-talks-candid Latinx family. If you grinned at that, you know just what kind of family I'm talking about. #mswl