Contemporary

Candee Fick @CandeeFick · Sep 12

I'm officially open for queries. #MSWL Christian romance projects only (contemporary, historical, or romantic suspense). Want stellar writing, strong characters, unique plots.

Paste query & 1st 10 pages into body of email to candee.fick (at) anaiahpress (dot) com. @anaiahpress

Kortney Price @kortney_price · Sep 12

And on to YA! I'd love a sweet contemporary romance that's "artsy" or "geeky," MAJOR bonus points if you have #disability rep in your story #mswl

Kaitlyn Johnson @kaitylynne13 · Sep 12

I wanna touch on contemporary romance real quick. I love cute awkwardness. I want gut-wrenching love (think Just One Day by @gayleforman). I need LGBTQ+ that isn't just "coming out" or "issue-driven". If you give me Andy Anderson, I'll love you forever #MSWL

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · Sep 12

I want fiction and nonfiction on hot contemporary topics. Police brutality, immigration, white supremacists/the alt-right, etc. #MSWL

Jessica Felleman @jmfelleman · Sep 12

In the vein of What Will Be Wild (Julia Fine), contemporary, maybe magical, adventure with a young woman discovering her family’s dark past in order to break free of it. #mswl

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · Sep 12

I love both magical realism that's grounded in a contemporary world and immersive magical realism that creates its own world. #MSWL

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · Sep 12

For YA, I typically go for a contemporary story, though I also like historical and mysteries. #MSWL

Dr. Uwe Stender @UweStenderPhD · Sep 12

I'd love to see more contemporary YA and MG that makes me laugh, including, but not exclusively, rom-coms. Additionally, I would love retellings where the story is told with the former antagonist becoming the protagonist. #MSWL

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · Sep 12

I don't do pure fantasy novels, but I am looking for books like THE HAZELWOOD that are set in a contemporary world but have fantastical elements. #MSWL

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · Sep 12

I like literary, high concept sci-fi in the vein of Ray Bradbury or Philip K. Dick. Bradbury in particular was great at really character-driven, emotion-driven stories, whether they were sci-fi, horror or contemporary. That's what I'm looking for in sci-fi. #MSWL

Sami Isman @SamiIsman · Sep 12

#MSWL Day! Send me your haunting, upmarket and nuanced detective novels, like Tana French and Megan Abbott. More female protagonists please! Complex, coming of age, contemporary relationships, think Marlena and The Immortalists. Adult only.

Kelly *Screaming Moonlight* @LitAgentKelly · Sep 12

#MSWL As always, I'm so in love with YA. Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Contemporary, Historical, etc.. The things I'm not all that into are actually time travel (in any age range) and alternate dimensions (as of right now...little tired of them...).

Kaitlyn Johnson @kaitylynne13 · Sep 12

I've got this weird #MSWL for a humorous adult contemporary set in a therapy group for alien abduction frauds. No idea if it can be pulled off, but it's never left my head 😂

Jessica Mileo @JessicaMileo · Sep 12

#MSWL When I open up my queries again, I want the fluffiest most uwu romance / contemporary (adult or children's) fiction with PoC and/or queer protagonists (Not secondary characters fitting the bill and no one is allowed to die!)

Maria Vicente @msmariavicente · Sep 12

Super fun Contemporary YA. You know all your favourite swoon-worthy fanfic stories? I want YA fiction that reads like that. #MSWL

Adria Goetz @adriamgoetz · Sep 12

#MSWL:
- YA Rom Com
- MG/YA #OwnVoices Contemporary
- YA Suspense
- MG/YA Graphic Novels
- MG Mystery
- MG/YA Light Fantasy (grounded in reality)
- PB Author/Illustrators
- Adult Nonfiction (esp. "pop science")

Kaitlyn Johnson @kaitylynne13 · Sep 12

Here are the genres I'm open to: Fantasy (all kinds), Contemporary, Cont. Romance, select Romance, light Sci Fi, Magical Realism, Historical.

Upper MG, YA, and Adult only

I want LGBTQ+ and diverse characters, themes, and worlds. I want mental health and disability rep. #MSWL

Lynnette Novak @Lynnette_Novak · Sep 12

Seeking: Adult: thrillers, psychological suspense, SFF, contemporary romance, rom-com, & mysteries. YA: suspense/thrillers, SFF, horror, mysteries, historical, & contemporary. MG: SFF, action/adventure, contemporary, mysteries horror, & humor. #MSWL #diversity 4/4

Lynnette Novak @Lynnette_Novak · Sep 12

I’d like to see some high concept YA projects. Hook me with a YA contemporary that hasn’t been done before. Show me a unique SFF world with a different kind of journey—something unpredictable! I’d love more #ownvoices & #diversity too. #MSWL 2/4