Contemporary

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · 12 Sep 2018

I want fiction and nonfiction on hot contemporary topics. Police brutality, immigration, white supremacists/the alt-right, etc. #MSWL

Jessica Felleman @jmfelleman · 12 Sep 2018

In the vein of What Will Be Wild (Julia Fine), contemporary, maybe magical, adventure with a young woman discovering her family’s dark past in order to break free of it. #mswl

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · 12 Sep 2018

I love both magical realism that's grounded in a contemporary world and immersive magical realism that creates its own world. #MSWL

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · 12 Sep 2018

For YA, I typically go for a contemporary story, though I also like historical and mysteries. #MSWL

Dr. Uwe Stender @UweStenderPhD · 12 Sep 2018

I'd love to see more contemporary YA and MG that makes me laugh, including, but not exclusively, rom-coms. Additionally, I would love retellings where the story is told with the former antagonist becoming the protagonist. #MSWL

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · 12 Sep 2018

I don't do pure fantasy novels, but I am looking for books like THE HAZELWOOD that are set in a contemporary world but have fantastical elements. #MSWL

Annie Bomke @ABLiterary · 12 Sep 2018

I like literary, high concept sci-fi in the vein of Ray Bradbury or Philip K. Dick. Bradbury in particular was great at really character-driven, emotion-driven stories, whether they were sci-fi, horror or contemporary. That's what I'm looking for in sci-fi. #MSWL

Sami Isman @SamiIsman · 12 Sep 2018

#MSWL Day! Send me your haunting, upmarket and nuanced detective novels, like Tana French and Megan Abbott. More female protagonists please! Complex, coming of age, contemporary relationships, think Marlena and The Immortalists. Adult only.

Kelly 📚 @LitAgentKelly · 12 Sep 2018

#MSWL As always, I'm so in love with YA. Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Contemporary, Historical, etc.. The things I'm not all that into are actually time travel (in any age range) and alternate dimensions (as of right now...little tired of them...).

Kaitlyn Johnson @kaitylynne13 · 12 Sep 2018

I've got this weird #MSWL for a humorous adult contemporary set in a therapy group for alien abduction frauds. No idea if it can be pulled off, but it's never left my head 😂

Jessica Mileo @JessicaMileo · 12 Sep 2018

#MSWL When I open up my queries again, I want the fluffiest most uwu romance / contemporary (adult or children's) fiction with PoC and/or queer protagonists (Not secondary characters fitting the bill and no one is allowed to die!)

Maria Vicente @msmariavicente · 12 Sep 2018

Super fun Contemporary YA. You know all your favourite swoon-worthy fanfic stories? I want YA fiction that reads like that. #MSWL

Adria Goetz @adriamgoetz · 12 Sep 2018

#MSWL:
- YA Rom Com
- MG/YA #OwnVoices Contemporary
- YA Suspense
- MG/YA Graphic Novels
- MG Mystery
- MG/YA Light Fantasy (grounded in reality)
- PB Author/Illustrators
- Adult Nonfiction (esp. "pop science")

Kaitlyn Johnson @kaitylynne13 · 12 Sep 2018

Here are the genres I'm open to: Fantasy (all kinds), Contemporary, Cont. Romance, select Romance, light Sci Fi, Magical Realism, Historical.

Upper MG, YA, and Adult only

I want LGBTQ+ and diverse characters, themes, and worlds. I want mental health and disability rep. #MSWL

Lynnette Novak @Lynnette_Novak · 12 Sep 2018

Seeking: Adult: thrillers, psychological suspense, SFF, contemporary romance, rom-com, & mysteries. YA: suspense/thrillers, SFF, horror, mysteries, historical, & contemporary. MG: SFF, action/adventure, contemporary, mysteries horror, & humor. #MSWL #diversity 4/4

Lynnette Novak @Lynnette_Novak · 12 Sep 2018

I’d like to see some high concept YA projects. Hook me with a YA contemporary that hasn’t been done before. Show me a unique SFF world with a different kind of journey—something unpredictable! I’d love more #ownvoices & #diversity too. #MSWL 2/4

Lynnette Novak @Lynnette_Novak · 12 Sep 2018

I’m looking for MG projects, especially sci-fi, fantasy, horror, & contemporary. I’d love more #ownvoices & #diversity too. Make me remember the magic of being a kid. I’d love to see characters dealing with their first crush, first period, and realistic everyday drama. #MSWL 1/4

Kat Enright @katenright · 12 Sep 2018

Moving on to romance---please please PLEASE send me your swoony stories. I'm not getting nearly enough of them in my inbox. In romance, I'm open to historical, contemporary, and paranormal. #MSWL

Emily Rodmell @EmilyRodmell · 12 Sep 2018

I'd love to see juicy contemporary inspy romance plotlines. For example, someone in Witness Protection who can never tell anyone including love interests who she really is. Or a character who finds out as an adult he/she was switched at birth or kidnapped. #MSWL

Kat Enright @katenright · 12 Sep 2018

In contemporary, I'd love to see some dark and twisty thrillers. Leave me hanging on the edge of my seat, please! #MSWL